We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Wedding!”
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thornton Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Wedding!”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

With 18 months of planning our wedding...Thornton Manor has got to be THE most perfect wedding venue.

Exclusive use of the manor in beautiful grounds makes the day so special. Everything was extremely well organised on the day....a huge thankyou to Joe and Steve... You were Fantastic!! I did not have to worry about any timings or organising you took great care of it all and made the day run so smoothly....It did not go un-noticed how thoughtful you guys were...every last detail from fluffing up my dress to finding me a hairdryer in the evening!

All rooms are stunning and look even more beautiful with the wedding flowers. Our ceremony was lovely with the added bonus of nice weather allowing us to walk back through our guests on red carpet outside in the beautiful surroundings for photos.

The main room for wedding breakfast... just looked out of this world!! would recommend purple/pink uplighters around the room and use of the candelabras, such a stunning effect and looks great on the photos. We had harpist playing which suits the venue perfectly.

Anne Wilson's catering was delicious and served in a very timely manner... Lots of positive comments from guests....Thankyou

The manor is very spacious for guests to spread out and relax in other areas... French Room was lovely at the end of the evening. Also nice to have candy cart and photo booth in other rooms to make full use of the manor.

Nothing was a problem, we were made to feel so welcome by all of the staff throughout the planning stages and on the big day.

I would recommend staying in cottages the night before as myself, bridesmaids and mother of the bride did...Nice to start the celebrations the night before and all get ready together on site... even tho they are quite expensive they are spacious and homely.

The only comment I could make would be that the bride and grooms breakfast was included with no added charge!

I would highly recommend Thornton Manor for your wedding.... its every girls dream!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemsx14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    36
    19
    18
    27
See reviews for
115
78
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

perfect place to escape the city buzz.
Beautiful decor the main building is a stunning manor with beautiful surrounding gardens, amazing spa great cocktails and friendly staff that are always willing to help. we enjoyed losing ourselves in the countryside and found a lovely local pub to have the odd drink in also, as well as eating and drinking at the manor itself.
only wish we had stayed longer. seems to be a popular place for wedding receptions

Room Tip: visit there web site its very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heswall
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We booked the Waterside Pavillion for our daughters wedding on 6th September 2013.
From our first visit we were treated like VIP's. we were received each visit and offered tea or coffee by a cosy fire in the French room of the main house while we discussed options. The owner took time to show us all the marquees and the main house. He patiently showed us the various cottages and apartments available to rent for visiting guests.Around 30 of the grooms family spent the days around the wedding in various cottages.
We opted for the smallest marquee located in a picturesque dell with views to open fields.
In the months running up to the wedding our frequent phone calls or questions were greeted with courtesy and helpfulness by all the office staff. We felt we were known as individuals and not just " another wedding" .
On the day we were in the capable hands of the events manager and his staff who ensured that despite the rain everything ran without a hitch. Our chosen caterer from the recommended list was magnificent and nothing was too much trouble.
We had a truly wonderful day in an idyllic location.

Room Tip: The housekeepers cottage was superb for a large group wanting to self cater. The thatched Pavillion...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Kelly and I got married at the Lakeside marquee Thornton Manor on Saturday 7th September . It was such an amazing experience that we thought we had to write immediately. It was such a fantastic venue and with the superb professional help given by everyone involved it could not have been a better day. From the moment Kelly arrived Friday evening Joe could not have done enough to make Kelly and her bridal party feel special. On the big day Julie took over from where Joe left off and continued the exceptional service. Barretts provided the food and catering for the day and Michelle and her team were faultless throughout providing exceptional food (we would recommend them to anyone) DJ - David Bladen , singer - Stevie King , singing waiters - from Big Entertainment , photographer - Herve photography , video - Andy from Video Classic all come highly recommended by us and all our guests.....All in all everyone above made it the best day of our lives (can we do it again? :-) many many thanks to everyone from Gary & Kelly Cunningham

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellogs32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The hotel is very nice, and the architecture is excellent. The general maintenance is very good and it's an interesting look into the past. I think the place needs a good deal of investment. Looks good on the surface but there are troubles just below the surface. The electrics were not in good order, the plumbing dripped. Bottled water, no where to be found. We asked for coffee and got instant.The mattresses appeared to be original with the manor (in desperate need of replacement). Wireless access, "oh sorry, broken" (and according to one staff member had been for some time).

On a positive note, the staff was very attentive, and tried to cater to our needs. It appears that the place needs some investment to bring it up to the level that it easily could be, but currently it's clear that they are struggling along.

For a special day, I'd say it's a go. For an extended stay, or a business conference, I'd look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom_n_Brenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Beautiful wedding venue and the rooms and service were fantastic. The food was of a very high standard and good portions. Would highly recommend this as a wedding venue, and the photographs are amazing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liverpool0879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

My husband and I got married at the Manor last month and we were blown away from the beginning of our special day to the end. The Manor itself speaks for itself and is stunning. All of our guests commented on how beautiful it was. All staff who worked at the Manor are wonderful. They all work so hard to make your day that extra special. Jayne and Steve were magnificent and helped everything flow exceptionally well on the day. Dougie was also a true gent and went down a storm at our wedding. Everyone was raving at how wonderful and kind he was - a true gent!:) We choose Amber outside cateres for our big day and right from the start we knew we had made the right decison. Faris and his absolutely amazing team of staff were exceptional. A huge thankyou to Faris and Eryn for your amazing service and hard work. Not only did we feel we had chosen the correct cateres but we felt we had made new friends! Faris truly helped run the day and constantly made sure my husband and I were ok and had the canapes/drinks we required. Not only was Ambers service wonderful but the quality of the food was second to none. We are still recieveing comments about how wonderful the food was and from the best mans own mouth he said he would travel all the way from Cardiff to Ambers Bistro just to have the lemon meringue again! A HUGE Thankyou to all of Thornton Manors and Amber outside Caterers staff for assisting in making our wedding day a day we will seriously never forget!xx

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMillington33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,206 reviews
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
764 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
775 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
188 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing