We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wedding reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thornton Manor
wirral
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“wedding reception”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

went to my nephews wedding reception here we all had a great day service was good, food was really nice , and the staff were pleasant, some guests stayed the night they enjoyed it to, disco was good, all in all it was a day to remember, only quibble was dependingon how many guests you have the small bar area wasnt really big enough to hold alot of guests, however there were other rooms to move into if things got crammed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lennon505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    33
    19
    18
    22
See reviews for
109
76
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I had our reception at Thornton Manor which is a truly magical venue. I had the wedding I had always dreamed of as a little girl. As you enter the grounds they are breathtaking and the music room where we had our reception is so grand it made me feel like a princess!! The day however I feel would not have been as perfect as it was without our caterers chapman Holmes! They are the best for a reason and have the added bonus of sue who was my fairy godmother for the day. She goes well beyond the call of duty for her brides and leaves you feeling relaxed as you know everything is taken care of! All of my guests commented on the service we received.
As the grounds are so big we could afford to have a lot of extras. We had ice creams for daytime and evening guests curtesy of the ice dream experience. They arrived in traditional dress which was a lovely touch to our day.
After the wedding breakfast we cut the cakes and the evening guests started to arrive. It must have looked stunning as they walked in with all the fire burners outside that the manor has. To give you an idea of how large the manor is I had booked a photo booth, fruit palm tree, chocolate fountain candy buffet and cheese table as well as the ice creams, I only thank god that sue was there to sort it all out and she made it look amazing. Chapman Holmes transformed the reception room ready for the party in the evening with such ease, no problems ( well if there were any we didn't know about it).
Later on in the evening when we had the fire works and in the setting of Thornton manor it was like a fairy tale!! The pictures that we had taken by keyhole studios are amazing couldn't ask for better.
The staff at Thornton manor are extremely professional, kind and courteous with a willingness to help from the minute we booked the venue to the minute we checked out. In the morning the staff were there making cups of tea for everyone who had managed to drag themselves out of bed.
Its hard to some up into a review like this everything i wish to say. People ask me is there anything that I would change on my wedding day and the answer is no I had the perfect wedding day!! If you are looking for a venue that truly wows your guests and makes you feel like a princess then this is the venue for you!! The minute you see it you fall in love with it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I got married at Thornton Manor in July 2010 and had the best day of our lives (see earlier review). With the manor not being a hotel, we did not anticipate the opportunity to revisit without being invited to another event there (unfortunately not happened yet!). However, we spotted an offer to stay in one of the outside annex rooms on wowcher and jumped at the chance to go back. Before arrival we got in touch and asked if it might be possible to go around the manor and grounds and reminisce about our special day. No problem, we were told. We approached with mixed feelings of excitement and nervousness. Our memories of Thornton Manor were phenomenal - surely visiting the place in more normal circumstances, as ordinary guests, would only lead to disappointment?

We were greeted by Diane, who welcomed us like old friends and informed us that we had been upgraded to the bridal mews (WOW!), complete with jacuzzi bath, superking bed and substantial living room. The friendly reception by all staff we encountered put us at ease straight away. We had the most amazing time ambling around this amazing building, exploring the grounds and relaxing in the jacuzzi bath! There were several couples touring the manor while we were there, and we had to stop ourselves from persuading them to book! The next morning, on checkout we chatted to Philip - a lovely man. We left bubbling with a feeling not dissimilar to how we felt three years ago and once again have found ourselves brimming with happiness since leaving.

So, what is so special about Thornton Manor? Undoubtedly the building speaks for itself. It is amazing. The Dining Room, the Music Room, the mass of space that is all yours for the day - all of this makes for a wonderful wedding. But for us, what makes Thornton Manor really special is the people. Diane and Philip are lovely, lovely people, who care about your experience in their manor. You get such great service with this place it is untrue. We knew that the manor had expanded somewhat since our wedding day, but were so pleased to see that Philip and Diane have created a team that perpetuate their ethos.

We are so happy that we chose Thornton Manor as our wedding venue and are still buzzing about our experience more than three years on. Go and see for yourself - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LGriffiths1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

If you can imagine a wedding taking place in a beautiful stately home where each guest is made to feel like royalty than this venue makes dreams a reality. Each room is more stunning than the last. The grounds are vast and every corner affords a photo opportunity. It is no wonder that many celebrities have used this wonderful stately home as the setting for their wedding.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kleefeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We celebrated our daughter and son in laws wedding here 14 September. What an amazing experience. Friends and family booked cottages the night before, which were full of character, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Exclusive use of the beautiful manor and grounds. We were made to feel very much like it was our home for the whole of our stay. I personally enjoyed looking around all of the cottages and most of the rooms in the manor. Everyone from the manor was very helpful, polite, and friendly and if we needed anything at all it was not a problem for them. Barrets did the catering and not only delivered fabulous food, but a fabulous experience. All guests expressed their approval and gratitude. Thank you so much to all concerned for the most amazing wedding experience, which will be forever remembered and spoken about. I can't thank you or praise you enough, for helping to make Rachel and Gary's day so special.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

My husband & I got married here on 14th September and I cannot recommend it enough. The venue itself is amazing, There is so much character and lovely grounds. The staff are all great too, Very helpful and nothing is to much for them. All our guests commented on how lovely it was and the selection of cottages as well as the rooms in the manor meant that there was space for all our guests. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

With 18 months of planning our wedding...Thornton Manor has got to be THE most perfect wedding venue.

Exclusive use of the manor in beautiful grounds makes the day so special. Everything was extremely well organised on the day....a huge thankyou to Joe and Steve... You were Fantastic!! I did not have to worry about any timings or organising you took great care of it all and made the day run so smoothly....It did not go un-noticed how thoughtful you guys were...every last detail from fluffing up my dress to finding me a hairdryer in the evening!

All rooms are stunning and look even more beautiful with the wedding flowers. Our ceremony was lovely with the added bonus of nice weather allowing us to walk back through our guests on red carpet outside in the beautiful surroundings for photos.

The main room for wedding breakfast... just looked out of this world!! would recommend purple/pink uplighters around the room and use of the candelabras, such a stunning effect and looks great on the photos. We had harpist playing which suits the venue perfectly.

Anne Wilson's catering was delicious and served in a very timely manner... Lots of positive comments from guests....Thankyou

The manor is very spacious for guests to spread out and relax in other areas... French Room was lovely at the end of the evening. Also nice to have candy cart and photo booth in other rooms to make full use of the manor.

Nothing was a problem, we were made to feel so welcome by all of the staff throughout the planning stages and on the big day.

I would recommend staying in cottages the night before as myself, bridesmaids and mother of the bride did...Nice to start the celebrations the night before and all get ready together on site... even tho they are quite expensive they are spacious and homely.

The only comment I could make would be that the bride and grooms breakfast was included with no added charge!

I would highly recommend Thornton Manor for your wedding.... its every girls dream!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemsx14x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Property: Thornton Manor
Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing