We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“House Keepers annexe [left]”
Review of Thornton Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thornton Manor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had the privilege to be invited to our friends wedding a week or so ago at the lakeside marquee thornton manor, and what a fantastic day everybody had, the lakeside marquee is situated in a beautiful setting, the staff were so friendly and helpful,and a great day was had by all.
We had decided to stay overnight and booked into the house keepers annexe [left] at a cost of £140 for the night, my wife and i were both a bit disappointed with our accommodation, the room had just a rail on the wall to hang our clothes up and situated above on a ledge was a small fridge,which ended up getting switched of at about 1.30 am due to the noise from its motor. We have eaten continental breakfasts in a number of hotels over the years and we both agree that the breakfast left for us in our room was some what dismal, to the point that when we left the next morning we went and sought out a breakfast at one of the local hotels. Other than our room what a lovely wedding venue.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yozzer145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for Thornton Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is a beautiful building in a lovely setting. We recently stayed for a wedding reception.

We were upgraded because of the noise by some of the guests and were very happy with the new room. Others however, were given rooms without even a sink facility!

Not what I would expect from a hotel of this calibre. The dining room was sumptuous and the tables heavily laden with crockery, glassware and lit candelabres for the sit down meal, after the civil ceremony .

Unfortunately a guest leant on one of the tables, set for 8 people, and the whole table came crashing down complete with lit candles! In a room full of wood panelling, this could have been quite serious.

We were told that the gentleman must have kicked the leg of the table and leant on it at the same time! Not very likely. It made the rest of us a little nervous for a while.The food and service were good, but the piped music was very loud and a lady with a mike, acting as Master of Ceremonies, also spoke very loudly!

Carriages were at 1.30 which was pleasingly late for the younger revellers. Our room was near the music, but it was unobtrusive . The most disappointing aspect, was the breakfast.

This was set at 9.30. The cereals etc were self service. A paltry selection of cereal, dried up croissant and very ordinary looking fruit. I would have expected fresh fruit salad and dried fruit to put on the cereal, a selection of juices and Danish pastries.

We were then served cooked breakfast, no choice as to what we had, and baskets of cold toast, which were already on the table as we arrived. I asked for warm toast, and was brought another basket, of cold toast...

A lovely venue, but the above issues need to be addressed forthwith!

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a sink in it!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mozburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We had our wedding reception here in December at the waterside pavilion, It was an excellent venue and Thornton were happy for us to completely decorate the marquee. All the staff were really good and helped us set everything up the day before and nothing seemed too much trouble.

We chose Amber as our caterer and they were brilliant and great value for money. Faris helped us all the way from when we first booked, helping us with timings for the day, menu etc. Faris (and all his staff) made the day run smoothly and we have had loads of comments from our guests about the quality of the food and service - both of which were fantastic. We will be visiting the bistro in Liverpool regularly!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gallagher21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A New Years eve wedding is an unusual event and my whole family was fortunate enough to be invited to one at this lovely venue. Upon entering the front door we were welcomed by a roaring open fire and friendly staff offering canapés and champagne. What a lovely start to a wonderful wedding reception in this beautiful old manor house.

The main reception room for the wedding breakfast is spectacular with a most magnificent ceiling mural. It was really was a beautiful room. The food was very good and the staff attentive and polite.
All in all it is a very special venue for events of this nature.

Room Tip: My family stayed in the "Gatekeepers Lodge" which is a three bedroomed annex at the entran...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChesterClaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

went to my nephews wedding reception here we all had a great day service was good, food was really nice , and the staff were pleasant, some guests stayed the night they enjoyed it to, disco was good, all in all it was a day to remember, only quibble was dependingon how many guests you have the small bar area wasnt really big enough to hold alot of guests, however there were other rooms to move into if things got crammed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lennon505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I had our reception at Thornton Manor which is a truly magical venue. I had the wedding I had always dreamed of as a little girl. As you enter the grounds they are breathtaking and the music room where we had our reception is so grand it made me feel like a princess!! The day however I feel would not have been as perfect as it was without our caterers chapman Holmes! They are the best for a reason and have the added bonus of sue who was my fairy godmother for the day. She goes well beyond the call of duty for her brides and leaves you feeling relaxed as you know everything is taken care of! All of my guests commented on the service we received.
As the grounds are so big we could afford to have a lot of extras. We had ice creams for daytime and evening guests curtesy of the ice dream experience. They arrived in traditional dress which was a lovely touch to our day.
After the wedding breakfast we cut the cakes and the evening guests started to arrive. It must have looked stunning as they walked in with all the fire burners outside that the manor has. To give you an idea of how large the manor is I had booked a photo booth, fruit palm tree, chocolate fountain candy buffet and cheese table as well as the ice creams, I only thank god that sue was there to sort it all out and she made it look amazing. Chapman Holmes transformed the reception room ready for the party in the evening with such ease, no problems ( well if there were any we didn't know about it).
Later on in the evening when we had the fire works and in the setting of Thornton manor it was like a fairy tale!! The pictures that we had taken by keyhole studios are amazing couldn't ask for better.
The staff at Thornton manor are extremely professional, kind and courteous with a willingness to help from the minute we booked the venue to the minute we checked out. In the morning the staff were there making cups of tea for everyone who had managed to drag themselves out of bed.
Its hard to some up into a review like this everything i wish to say. People ask me is there anything that I would change on my wedding day and the answer is no I had the perfect wedding day!! If you are looking for a venue that truly wows your guests and makes you feel like a princess then this is the venue for you!! The minute you see it you fall in love with it!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My husband and I got married at Thornton Manor in July 2010 and had the best day of our lives (see earlier review). With the manor not being a hotel, we did not anticipate the opportunity to revisit without being invited to another event there (unfortunately not happened yet!). However, we spotted an offer to stay in one of the outside annex rooms on wowcher and jumped at the chance to go back. Before arrival we got in touch and asked if it might be possible to go around the manor and grounds and reminisce about our special day. No problem, we were told. We approached with mixed feelings of excitement and nervousness. Our memories of Thornton Manor were phenomenal - surely visiting the place in more normal circumstances, as ordinary guests, would only lead to disappointment?

We were greeted by Diane, who welcomed us like old friends and informed us that we had been upgraded to the bridal mews (WOW!), complete with jacuzzi bath, superking bed and substantial living room. The friendly reception by all staff we encountered put us at ease straight away. We had the most amazing time ambling around this amazing building, exploring the grounds and relaxing in the jacuzzi bath! There were several couples touring the manor while we were there, and we had to stop ourselves from persuading them to book! The next morning, on checkout we chatted to Philip - a lovely man. We left bubbling with a feeling not dissimilar to how we felt three years ago and once again have found ourselves brimming with happiness since leaving.

So, what is so special about Thornton Manor? Undoubtedly the building speaks for itself. It is amazing. The Dining Room, the Music Room, the mass of space that is all yours for the day - all of this makes for a wonderful wedding. But for us, what makes Thornton Manor really special is the people. Diane and Philip are lovely, lovely people, who care about your experience in their manor. You get such great service with this place it is untrue. We knew that the manor had expanded somewhat since our wedding day, but were so pleased to see that Philip and Diane have created a team that perpetuate their ethos.

We are so happy that we chose Thornton Manor as our wedding venue and are still buzzing about our experience more than three years on. Go and see for yourself - you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGriffiths1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
0.9 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,295 reviews
5.3 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Inglewood Manor
Inglewood Manor
#2 of 3 in Ledsham
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,684 reviews
3.0 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Manor

Address: Thornton Manor Manor Road, Thornton Hough CH63 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thornton Hough
Price Range: £80 - £676 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning Cheshire venue for weddings and celebrations both large and intimate, whilst also the perfect choice for meetings, conferences and corporate events. Exclusive use Manor House- 200 dining Lakeside Marquee- 500 guests Manor House- 22 double bedrooms, 12 Cottage & Mews apartments. Whether planning your wedding, looking for the perfect venue, a place to stay whilst in on business, or a country cottage getaway - Thornton Manor is the perfect venue to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Thornton Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Manor Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Manor Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing