We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spa facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great spa facilities”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked this deal as a January offer for dinner, B&B and a treatment.
It is located in gorgeous grounds perfect for a little wander around.
The room was quite basic although we were offered an upgrade at an extra cost at check in which we declined as we were only staying for the night.
We made great use of the gym and spa facilities after check in, the gym is huge and has any kind of equipment you could ask for, the pool is also big and the steam and sauna rooms were lovely. I believe there is an outdoor hot tub but it's was a bit too cold for me to test out!
The restaurant was in a stunning room, high ceilings and chandeliers, the 3 rosette menu looked incredible however my husband and I are vegetarian and there wasn't much choice. The chef very kindly made us a delicious beetroot risotto as there was nothing on the menu we could eat!
We had our treatment the following day, a back neck and shoulder massage which was one of the best I have had. We were then led up to a relaxation room where I could have quite easily fallen asleep!
All in all a fabulous stay, a tiny bit disappointed with the standard of the room compared to other spa hotels and will ring in advance next time to arrange veggie meals!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We hope very much to welcome you again to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    284
    135
    72
    41
See reviews for
231
523
27
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a family room for 4 as we were travelling with our two children, and were allocated a room about as far as it is possible to be from the main rooms in the hotel. We got a normal-size double bed but the kids were given a sofa bed and a campbed at the foot of ours - so it was a horrible squeeze - all for an outrageous price.
Although there were 4 people occupying the room they only provided 2 water glasses.
The mattress on our bed was soft and lumpy and the pillows and bedlinen were cheap and nasty, so we did not sleep well.
Decor was bog-standard motel style, nothing 4* about it.
However, the buffet breakfast was good, which adds another point to my overall rating.
But this was NOT 4* quality accommodation and was overpriced - even though we paid a discounted wedding rate - and would not return here, and would not recommend it to others.
We did not have an opportunity to try the spa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We always explain to our guests when reserving accommodation for children how their bedroom will be set out. We always strive to meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and son in law held their marriage service and reception here 25/1 /14. The attention to detail throughout the 18 months before and during the day itself was staggering. It would take too long to say everything I would like to, but suffice to say that there is not a single negative comment I could make. The staff on the day were unobtrusive but efficient, led by Jordan. How they changed the Torrintone suite into three different 'rooms' without fuss, questions or us even being aware was incredible. All guests commented on the food. Every single detail ,even to the clearing of the room and leaving everything for us to collect - packed, organised and ready to go was faultless. Well done and thank you to all concerned. know that you made a lot of people very happy that day.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beryl121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 Star review and for sharing your experience. I have forwarded your kind comments to all concerned.

We hope to welcome you again very soon to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We're just returning from a Spa day at Thornton Hall for my partners 30th birthday. What a fantastic and relaxing day!

From check in to check out everything and everyone was brilliant. All staff were very welcoming and nothing was to much trouble.

The facilities are great. We booked the rasul experience which I would definately recommend. The whole experience was fun and relaxing at the same time. We also booked a couples back massage which was also very relaxing.

Robes, slippers and lunch were provided for the day. The lunch was very tasty.

All in all a perfect birthday treat. I would definately recommend Thorton Hall and we will definately be returning although I don't think I can wait for his next birthday to do so!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephWhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and for giving Thornton Hall an amazing 5 star review.

We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Hi All, Me and my now wife had our wedding here on Jan 25th 14, firstly Id like to say the wedding team at this venue are 1st class!! Kind, friendly, approachable and will sort anything you ask for you. We mainly dealt with Sam, and Bianca who helped organise everything leading up to our big day, they are 2 of the nicest people your likely to meet. On the day we had a chap called Jordon coordinating the day and he did everything asked and more, the team really are superb. Our food for our wedding breakfast was cooked as we requested and our guests all said it was lovely. Our day went without a hitch and we cannot thank the staff at Thornton Hall enough for all their effort and hard-work. We stayed the night after our wedding and stayed in Room Two, which is a lovely spacious room and a really good size bathroom. We are both thrilled with the way everyone at the hotel from the front desk to the kitchen staff conducted themselves friendly but professional. We would highly recommend this hotel for any occasion. Again thank you to all the staff at Thornton Hall

Dan & Ruth Rawson

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRawson87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Thank you very much for your 5 Star review. I am delighted to hear that your wedding was such a special day. I have passed on your kind comments to Sam, Bianca and Jordan who are totally committed in their work.

We hope very much to welcome you again to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for just one night with our family for a birthday celebration. Ages ranged from 10 to 85 years. On arrival reception staff were very helpful and efficient -in fact every staff member we encountered was polite and professional (couldn't fault). Bedrooms fairly standard for such a hotel - clean enough, well laid out etc. and big enough fir everyone's' needs. We visited the Spa - pool area and outdoor Jacuzzi nice, clean etc staff again pleasant. Restaurant is situated in the older part of the hotel - very impressive esp if you are looking for a wedding venue - the ting that let it down was, to be honest, the food. Pretentious to say the least. Nicely presented but absolutely minute portions - very expensive for what it was - and yes, we are used to eating in similar places where 'nouvelle cuisine' is the thing - and we are not food snobs - but i am afraid this aspect lets the hotel down. That said what we had was tasty - even the veggie menu - but overall somehow we felt sold short. They would be better having a simpler menu and loose the 'deconstructed food' type of approach (in our opinion). That said breakfast was nice enough - usual hotel fayre - hot buffet etc.
Word of caution: if having a dinner, bed & breakfast package double check your bill before paying - an attempt was made to charge us for food that was included in the package - £70 difference!! We heard others having the same difficult conversations. There must be a more straight forward way of the hotel doing it!

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room in the older part of the hotel. There are rooms very near the car park that w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katfish_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff D, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighed to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us. We offer various menus suitable for varied tastes throughout the hotel. The Times Brasserie also offers simpler menu again offering a wide choice for both day and evening.
I hope to welcome you again to Thornton Hall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here Lastnight with our friends as I got a great deal for overnight stay and use of the spa. Rooms are a nice size, modern and spectacularly clean.Staff were absolutely lovley, a credit to the company. The spa facilities were the highlight though, the outdoor hot tub was beautiful in the evening looking up at the stars (and you are able to drink whilst in it). Wether you are looking to book as a romantic getaway or as a group I'd highly recommend it!We also drove to a nearby pub for tea called The Seven Stars and that was also unfaultable!!Reasonably priced meals and the food was delicious. All in all a beautifully relaxing place with outstanding customer service. We are looking for another visit already.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissNatWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geoff D, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am delighed to hear that you have had an amazing time with us.
I hope to see you both again very soon.
Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
788 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
14.2 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
3.4 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing