We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Just spent a relaxing few days at this Hotel,Was very impressed by the room, the friendliness of the staff and the Spa facilities.I recommend the outside Jacuzzi.It was a nice location between Liverpool, where we went in on the Train and Chester ( 20 minutes away by car ).

The Dining room was fully booked so we ate at the Wheatsheaf pub in Raby a few miles away.Excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonFrancis1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew and for awarding us a fabulous 5 stars!

We hope to welcome you again to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

We were attending a 50th birthday here. It seemed logical to stay where the event was. I read many of the "mixed reviews" this place gets and was not expecting too much! However! a virtually faultless stay was had. Upon arrival we were attended too as quickly as possible. There was a queue at reception but a member of staff caught or eye and made a few apologetic facial expressions. We were then shown to out newly refurbished room. It was very contemporary and immaculate. Although the shower bath was a little short for me it wasn't going to spoil the stay. We went down to the bar for pre-dinner drinks. All was well with the world. Very and I mean very nice friendly staff. the meet and greet was very professional and nothing was too much trouble. An unusual amuse bouche was served at the bar that looked like a garden scene with plant pot and lawn. You had to see it to understand it! Wow. This was followed by an excellent dinner in a wonderful dining room with fabulous sparkly, (like swarovski) chandeliers. The room had a leather ceiling, a first for me! Excellent food and a very unusual menu. When the cheese arrived we were introduced to it on a cheese by cheese basis. A bit unusual we thought but a nice touch. We returned to the bar where the staff remembered what we drank. A thoroughly pleasant evening then went on to unfold, 2 am, ooh! We slept very well and our room had a balcony overlooking open countryside. Breakfast was excellent buffet style and served in the same magnificent room we had dinner in the night before. An superb selection was on offer with all tastes taken care of. We headed out for the day. Upon returning we found the bistro next to the leisure area, pool gym etc. for a late lunch before our party that evening. Nice snaky type things were on offer and a better wine list than the main dining room, I found that a bit odd. The prices were better too! We then did the gym thing, pool with 2 outdoor jacuzzi's as well as one inside. I had an excellent and well priced massage and then up to the room to get ready for the party. We entered the same bar as the night before. The staff again remembered what we drank and remembered our first names. All very spot on! Nice and informal but professional. We went in to the party not expecting the buffet food to be that great. How wrong we were, an excellent choice plenty of it and all piping hot. We met up with old friends and had a wonderful evening. Another good nights sleep and another wonderful breakfast followed but we had breakfast in the bar/lounge area. A bit more casual but equally nice in every respect. We then reluctantly packed the car and headed for home. and in the immortal words of Arnold Schwarzenegger, "I'll be back"

Room Tip: A refurbishment program is on going, try and get one of the "new" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fussyrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and also for awarding us a fabulous 5 Star rating!
I am delighed that you both enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope very much to welcome you both again very soon.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed for a long weekend and had a great time, with a couple of niggles.

The package we booked had a best room available, and i went with expectations of standard room, however when we arrived i found that we had been upgraded to suite, and this was like a home from home with good decor, clean and tidy and all modcons including a smart TV so could watch netflix, also really pleased that the free wi-fi was of a good standard.
For the evening we went to the Motown eveing and this was a good entertaining evening with decent enough food but was a set menu so my wife didnt like the pudding and i didnt like the starter but a good way to spend the evening.
On the second day we had a fantastic breakfast and the bacon and sausage was really good quality, and maybe ate a little too much. We went to the spa after and it really is worth going to if you are staying, Pool was a good depth throughout and in a nice setting. We tried to book dinner during but could not as fully booked. we then tried to book a joint spa treatment but was fully booked for that day so had to get an appointment for the following day, so would recomend booking everything in advance. I would like to thank Beth and Sarah on reception for managing to get a resturant booking in the lawns restaurant for my wifes birthday, and the sunday roast was amazing, the beef melted in the mouth. We spent the sunday morning relaxing in the spa, and then went for some retail therapy at Cheshire Oaks retail park.

In summary I would recomend this hotel and spa to everyone the staff were very attentive, and tried their best to resolve any problems. But make sure that you book spa treatments and dinners in advance.
Almost a 5 star review, but would definatly recomend and retuen

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew. I am delighed that you boty enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to have had you both as our guests.
We do recommend making an advance reservation for The Lawns Restaurant especially at weekends. The Spa too is extremely busy so an advance bookings are strongly recommended.

We hope to welcome you both again to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed two nights for a wedding. Staff were really good and helpful. The rooms were nice with some space compared to most places. Gym looked (I didn't go in) really good and wasn't too busy. Food including breakfast was good. The bar however was possibly the most expensive I have been in, including London. £5.30 for a pint of lager is over the top.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blok103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Our bar prices are in line with the majority of bars and hotels in this area. I am sorry that you felt slightly put off by this.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Staying in room 331 as I write this, listening to the sound of running water from the roof space above us that management claim to know nothing about, can't explain, fix, or move us to a different room

Sleepless night here we come

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dconroy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The issue with the running water was dealt with immediately by our maintenance manager. I am sorry that we were unable to offer you an alternative bedroom but the hotel was completely full.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were married here earlier this year and we could not be happier with the hotel. My family all stayed for two nights along with me and for both nights the staff were great. We stayed in the Penthouse Room (I could have slept in the bathroom with its heated floors!) which had beautiful views of Thornton Hough and my guests said the other rooms in both the main house and the extension were lovely too. The wedding day itself went so smoothly which was all thanks to Dave and his amazing team. The organisation from Sam and Bianca was second to none and we could not thank them all enough. The feedback from the wedding guests thank you's regarding the food (both wedding and breakfast) and staff has been nothing but complimentary. Used some of the Spa, the only fault I had with this was some of the spa staff did not know what had already been paid for and what was due to be paid but this was a teeny tiny fault in an otherwise fabulous weekend. Beautifully located hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggiecat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding us an amazing 5 Stars!

It was an absolute pleasure to have met you all and I have passed on your kind comments to all concerned.

We all very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We decided on Thornton Hall for our wedding and had a daytime wedding breakfast and night time buffet. Overall we have very little to fault and therefore give them a five star rating.

The staff were all exceptional including the Master Of Ceremonies David.
The food and presentation was excellent.
We used a local company Chairstyle for our seat covers and wedding accessories and this one stop shop works with Thornton Hall well.
The setting and layout was great.
Our wedding planner Sam was great and helped sort out and simplify the complicated process of all the things you need. They produce check lists and things.

Negatives.
Very little
We did not get our complimentary champagne. On mentioning this it was provided with apology.
Our bridal suite (otherwise excellent) was dusty and dirty and we mentioned this and they say this will not happen again going forward.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your wedding with us. Your comments have been passed on to all concerned.

We all very much look forward to welcoming you again to Thornton Hall.

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
3.6 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,776 reviews
7.5 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
839 reviews
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Craxton Wood Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
291 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
282 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range: £70 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing