We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant Night!”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This was my first trip to Thornton Hall - although I had heard great things from family who had attended a wedding last year. The first thing that hit me was how incredible the room in which the party was being held looked, the team had clearly pulled out all the stops and it really made all of the difference.
The food was great, my sister commented that the vegetarian option was much better than other places she had been.
The staff were friendly and helpful, and the evening went very smoothly, couldn't ask for more really!

The only downside was that as I didn't stay over, I didn't have the chance to try out the spa or restaurant before going back home, if I'm ever invited to another function here I'll make sure to book a room and make a weekend of it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBe87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighed to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your first experience at Thornton Hall. Out events team work extremely hard to ensure that our function rooms look absolutley amazing.
I hope to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    652
    249
    131
    68
    40
See reviews for
203
462
26
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Recently attended a wedding at the hotel, cannot fault one thing. The day was simply amazing. The staff and the service was brilliant with all banqueting staff being attentive and friendly with nothing too much to ask for. Daytime and evening was well organised which took a lot of weight off many peoples shoulders. Overall a well and truly 5* rating and definitely will be visiting the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juls119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for giving us an amazing 5 stars!!

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I attended a wedding in the torintone suite a few weeks ago it was a brilliant Day the food was great the staff were polite and helpful.
The room was lovely and the grounds beautiful.
The prices were a little bit high but what can you expect from a 4 star Hotel.
Overall it was a brilliant Day and I would to back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalen24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighed to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us. I very much look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Jenny - I would just like to thank you and your staff - The venue was prefect for our Team Building event and we all had an amazing time. The hospitality was first class please let the staff know that looked after us that they were brilliant - The bedrooms were very modern, spacious and most importantly very clean. The meals Dinner, B&B and Lunch were fantastic with lots of choice and cooked to perfection. All of my staff from GDF Suez Deeside Power Station commented on the successful event and I could not have done this without you and the professional staff you have. Keep up the good work. The 24hr day delegate rate was within the budget. I will be booking our Christmas function here without any hesitation - see you soon Thornton Hall

Room Tip: all rooms were modern and updated and spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole196448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and also for awarding Thornton Hall an amazing 5 stars!!

Jenny and our Events team are absolutely delighted to receive your lovely comments. Great to hear that your Team Building exercise was a huge success! We all look forward to welcoming you again for your Christmas Party!

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mamhead
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is my second time at the hotel - despite vowing previously not to return. The room was much better than before and had clearly been refurbished; we had a Garden room on the second floor of the wing in a separate building to the main hotel (linked by a walkway). The bed was comfortable, the room was bright and everything was in order. For those interested the TV was enabled for use on the free WiFi/web network (SMART TV).

This is not a particularly inexpensive hotel but does offer a really good breakfast at excellent value (£10 for a very large menu and table service), a swimming pool and easy parking. The staff always seem a bit defensive/not as cheerful as you might like but again not a major issue.

Room Tip: Try and ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms - especially over-looking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanzey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review.

I am delighed that you had decided to return to Thornton Hall. Good to hear you both ejoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Just had a fantastic stay at Thornton Hall. Staff was friendly and attentive. My room was very clean and spacious. I was in a Dinner Bed and Breakfast Rate and I dined in Lawns Restaurant which food was amazing and taste good. Spa facilites were good. Liked idea of snow cave ( do recommend to use) Reception staff had good knowledge of the area and helped us to adventure through the Wirral Peninsula. Again Thank you very much for our lovely stay 10 out 10 hotel.

Room Tip: New Executive Boutique Rooms are outstanding !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and for awarding Thornton Hall a wonderful 5 Stars!!

I am delighed to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us. I hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We recently held our graduation ball here, and after graduating from a long hard 3 year degree, we were all extremely excited about our ball. Planning started in February 2013, and different venues were researched. However after careful consideration we decided that Thornton hall would be the best. There were many things which have upset and angered us.
1. From the start the event organiser we dealt with was rude and unhelpful. It appeared that because we were "students" we were not worthy of the same treatment as other guests. We were TOLD that we were not allowed to have three different menu options, we would only be offered two. One of these was mushroom soup. However we requested right from the beginning, tomato soup instead. This was agreed, and three weeks ago we confirmed with the hotel that we would be allowed tomato soup. On the night of our ball, mushroom soup was served. We were told that there had been a 'typing error' with the soup, and that only mushroom soup was available. If we did not like this, we were offered a herb salad. If you did not want a herb salad, we were told that there was nothing else available. ( I had the herb salad, it was tasteless! It looked like they had just nipped out into the garden and rustled up a few leaves).
2. We were offered free bottles of wine, to make up for the mushroom soup. However only red wine was brought out. When we asked for white, we were told that there was no white wine available.
3. There was also a large wedding reception being held at the same time as our ball, it felt as though the wedding guests were prioritised over us. I wonder they were allowed 3 different menu choices? Or if white wine was available for them but not for us?
4. The room situation was diabolical. A few of our party turned up to find that rooms had been double booked, and as a result our rooms were not all together but on different floors. A few of my friends turned up ready to check in at 2pm, however there rooms were not ready, or there were members of the wedding party in them! When one of my friends eventually got to a room (her first room had been double booked) there was skid marks in the toilet, the room smelt and was musty, and there was no toilet brush cleaner in the room. When she approached the reception staff they were unhelpful. However one of them did offer to "check the CCTV". What he meant by this, we do not know, do Thornton hall have CCTV in their rooms?
5. We all paid just under £130 for our rooms, how you can justify this amount for what is actually available is shocking!
Overall, I felt as though our graduation ball was pushed to one side to accommodate the large wedding party. Given though that we had planned this over a year in advance, the hotel should have been prepared for both parties, ensuring equal quality for both.
The night itself was a success, but only because of the fantastic DJ and the company of our friends and the determination from all of us to have a good night. It was not down to Thornton hall. In retrospect, we should have chosen another venue! It was such a shame to our organiser, who put a lot of time and effort into planning this event. She also arranged our finances to ensure that deadlines set by Thornton hall were always met. I will definitely not be recommending this venue to other people for big events, as I do believe that Thornton hall were not prepared or organised for our event.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrischeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M, Guest Relations Manager at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I would like to reassure you that we always strive to meet and ensure that our guests expectations are fulfulled. Our sales team are extremely experienced in dealing with all types of events. I have been advised that you were offered options regarding the soup arrangement and the majority of your guests were happy to accept this. As a gesture of goodwill we had offered wine with the option of rose also available.
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies regarding the bedroom issues. We did however offer compensation to both of your friends.
Once again thank you for your comments.

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornton Hough
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa

Property: Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Address: Neston Road | Wirral, Thornton Hough CH63 1JF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Thornton Hough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Thornton Hough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Spa Resort - 20 minutes from Liverpool and Chester. Free high speed Wifi throughout the hotel, including all bedrooms, Smart TV's now in every bedroom offering a huge selection of channels and interactive services including Sky Sports 1,2 & 3, free car parking. Nestled in the Wirral Countryside and conveniently located for Manchester, Merseyside & North Wales. Our luxurious four star hotel offers state of the art conference facilities for up to 650 delegates & event management along with one of the finest Spas in the North West, offering an amazing array of spa treatments and spa packages to suit everyone, both Holistic and Clinical treatments. 20 metre pool, outdoor Hydro Spa Pools, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Tranquility Suite and New Rasul Room, makeup styling Suite and additional dual treatment room. Plus Golf Breaks playing at Heswall Golf Club one of the finest courses in the region. Delighted to be Headquarter hotel to the R&A Open Golf Championship 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornton Hall Hotel Thornton Hough
Thornton Hall Hotel And Spa
Hotel Thornton Hall
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa Thornton Hough, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing