We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Neet
Liverpool, United Kingdom

Couples relaxing night away

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
From the moment we arrived we found the staff lovely friendly and very helpful. The hotel is wonderful, we stayed in room 10 top floor of the main building and our room was luxurious it even had a TV in the bathroom with a huge stand alone bath 🥰. The views were lovely. We used the spa facilities, sitting outside in the jacuzzi with views of the fields was so relaxing. We loved our stay, from the lovely staff, wonderful views and comfortable nights sleep, we will definitely be back 😘 hopefully get room 10 again.
Thank you
Anita and Mike
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
1.7 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Gate House
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.8 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
0.0 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £110
  • Hotels.com
2.1 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £105
  • eDreams
2.5 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £54
  • Hotels.com
3.4 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Restaurant
£68
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.6 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Travelodge
3.6 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £40
  • Travelodge
3.8 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £86
  • Hotels.com
3.9 miles from Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Thornton Hough
Reviews (2,878)
Filter reviews
2,878 results
Traveller rating
1,824
526
248
139
141
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,824
526
248
139
141
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lawns restaurant snow cave outdoor jacuzzi snow room afternoon tea cream tea steam room tapas evening meal from start to finish lovely hotel birthday treat relaxing stay my mum coffee machine car park scones
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 2,878 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Generally left feeling underwhelmed, found everything over priced for the standard of accommodation and food. We chose to eat else where as the evening menu was not appealing and very expensive.
The Brasserie was basic and again overpriced , and our order was wrong when it came.
Breakfast was ok, good selection and food tasted better than it looked. The tea pot cups and cutlery were not clean.
The spa and swimming pool was great and lots of things to do.
Reception staff were terrible at directions although polite.
Room was big and had 2 double beds however could do with a deep clean.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cathbaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is most welcome.

From all the team at Thornton Hall we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Annie Myler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night when visiting family, know the area well. Perfect location for us. The main hotel was a high standard and welcoming. Breakfast was excellent. Cream tea was delicious however stains on napkins on table. Spa was enjoyable and not too busy (went between 1700 and 18:30) however, despite notices saying max 15 mins in outdoor hot tub there was a group in there for the duration of time we were there, getting served drinks in the tub so these are not accessible.

Room was a good size and comfortable with a good drinks machine. The main area lacking is cleanliness. Tea/coffee stains on the bedside table in bedroom, stains on the floor. Poor main lighting with lots of free standing lamps which all have to be turned on / off manually. Bedside lamps only on outer side of bed. Lamp in centre shared between two beds. Broken bits on bathroom shower. On deal for £109 for king b&b plus spa access and cream tea, good, but would expect higher standard if paying anymore.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank KatTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

ear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback is most welcome.

From all the team at Thornton Hall we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Annie Myler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a fantastic stay at the place where we got married. It brought back lovely memories, the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We were greeted by a lovely lady on reception and Carl provided excellent service in The Lawns Restaurant. He is an asset to the hotel and has excellent knowledge of the food. He reassured me my meal was fully gluten free and cooked separately in the kitchen and he told me about their separate gluten free toaster for my toast. He also showed me ingredients of the bread and the scone recipe for the cream tea to put my mind at rest. I get anxious eating out so this really helped me. I enjoyed my breakfast and cream tea so much. Our room was lovely and clean and the gardens are beautifully kept. We enjoyed sitting in the lounge for drinks too and the staff were great in there too.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Todor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, your kind comments have been shared with the team.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recent stay.

From all the team at Thornton Hall we thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Annie Myler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really good hotel. Everything you wanted or needed was on hand. The food is top notch and the spa was wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Isladawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our recent stay.

From all the team at Thornton Hall we thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards

Annie Myler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2024 via mobile

We were married at Thornton Hall on 11 May 24. From the initial first meeting with the amazing Wedding Planner Jess to the day itself everything was so professional, organised and a joy to be part of. We had a fantastic day, everything went like clockwork, down to the fantastic Events Manager Beth, all the staff who made our wedding reception and evening go off without a hitch. The in house DJ, Steve Carrol who did a fantastic job, kept us all entertained till 2am. The Food was amazing , the wedding breakfast and evening buffet was hot and served by excellent waiting on staff. We stayed in the Bridal Suite which is gorgeous, some of our guests stayed over as well at the hotel, all commented their rooms were lovely. Breakfast was hot and a good choice from cereal to pastries to a cooked breakfast.
We had a excellent experience with Thornton Hall, would recommend them to anyone. Wish we could do it all again. Janette and Bernie Robinson.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank berniecarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Annie Myler, Guest Services / Front Office at Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Dear Janette and Bernie,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I am so pleased to hear that had such an amazing time celebrating your wedding with us.

From all the team at Thornton Hall we thank you for your review and we would like to wish you both every happiness for the future.
We hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards

Annie Myler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews