We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to not mind cats - if you don't, you'll love it.”
Review of Mas Theotime

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serviers-et-Labaume
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mas Theotime
Reviewed 23 July 2012

We needed to find somewhere to stay near Uzes to watch the arab endurance horses training. We found out from our hosts that the endurance course actually goes right outside their house, so if you happen to go on the right day you can watch from your window:

NEGATIVES first...
I'm not a massive cat fan and there are cats EVERYWHERE you look, although they are kept out of the bedrooms and are not overly friendly.
Our bathroom was really not clean. There were stains on the loo seat and floor. When I stripped the bed before we left there were stains on the mattress protector and there were quite a few dead insects and bugs around.
It had been a very hot day and the room was sweltering all night. Stupidly, we didn't notice the arty fan in the corner so we didn't have a brilliant nights sleep, but not really the fault of the B&B and the bed was very comfortable.
Bathroom accessories are limited to one (new) bar of soap - no shampoos, conditioners, body wash.
And finally, there was no hairdryer in the room. However, on asking for one, the lovely Monique did find one for me.

POSITIVES...
We were utterly charmed by Mme Gourbeyre and her husband. He had a wicked sense of humour and such a kind face. He was watering all the plants on arrival at 9pm as we tried to turn our rather large 4x4 around in their very small turning area. It was a bit like a 'sliding puzzle' game, manouvering around the other guests' cars.
M. Gourbeyre showed us up to our room (Yourcenar) - through a very contemporary, arty sitting room, up a little steep, winding staircase into our large spacious and beautifully decorated room. Red is definitely their colour of choice, but it's not too much and really works well. We loved all of their art. Art you'd never dream of seeing in a B&B. Expenses haven't been spared either: a Bang & Olufsen TV (with a large collection of DVDs), a cool floor lamp, a CD player by the bed (which didn't actually seem to work), leather reclining chair, funky bookcase, great shower (but a VERY noisy electric loo). The view from our window was on to harvested fields. It was very quiet and peaceful. I watched a number of her many cats hunting in the grasses as I wrote letters from a chequered table set infront of it...
Their very good local restaurant (which is a 3 minute walk down their track) was unfortunately closed because the proprietor has been unwell but M. G recommended a place in Uzes - Le Terroirs, which was brilliant and a short drive away.
Mme. G gets up very early so you can breakfast whenever you want. It was delicious! Homemade jams, fresh croissant, lovely breads and a board of cheeses. I relaxed by their lovely little pool on a sun lounger until almost lunch time despite it being our last day. Mme. G very kindly said I could stay and relax all day if I wanted...and brought regular glasses of fresh, chilled pressed apple juice, made by a friend of theirs. She is very interesting and very interested (without being nosy). We both instantly warmed to her and will definitely be back for further endurance events despite the room being quite expensive at 120EUR/night.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stayed in studio Stephenson for 5 nights in June. We really enjoyed our time here.

The studio is spacious and nicely furnished. The bed and setting area are on a raised area which is why they feel a little bit separate. On the lower area is a large wardrobe and dining table. Up some other stairs are the kitchen and bathroom. In front of the studio is a small terrace.

The studio is around the corner from the main house and pool. It does feel private because of this and you will have to walk only for a minute to get to the breakfast and pool.

The garden is small but very nice with a small pool which was nice to cool off in. There were several sitting areas in the garden (table and chairs and some deckchairs). The breakfast was served on a long table in the garden and was very nice. Croissants, rolls, several home made jams, coffee and juice. We really really liked the breakfast but would have liked something different after a few days (maybe eggs or cheese every few days or for people who stay for a longer period?).

The wifi did not work in the studio but it did work in the garden and at the breakfast table.

The hosts are very warm and friendly and will give you information about sightseeing. They gave us directions to a waterfall with a lovely place to swim.

The village is really very small and there is only one restaurant there so you will have to drive to the next village for the the Intermache (about 2,5 kilometers) or Uzes to do shopping or going for meals. Uzes is a lovely little town for this.

Room Tip: Studio Stephenson is very private and has a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dutchfemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

We wanted to visit Provence so we trawled the internet for charming farmhouse bed and breakfasts and although there are many to choose from we decided on Mas Theotime - we are glad we did!

Monique, our hostess, along with Jean Claude, could not have been more helpful in making our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

We chose the stevenson studio because it had its own kitchen which gave us the opportunity to eat in if we so desired. Apart from the low beams (ouch!) and a bed which did not quite suit my back, we were very pleased with it. Always clean with fresh towels every day and not these silly little things that hotels sometimes give you!

Breakfast on the patio outside were a delight with plenty of home made jams to choose from, bread, croissants and an endless pot of fresh coffee.

The day we left Monique even gave us a momento of our stay - a lovely book of the region.

Thank you again, monique....

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite Carroll, petite maison sur deux niveaux reliés par un escalier extérieur, est sans doute la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jean-Baptiste91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Chauvinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Toutes les chambres sont très agréables
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank t0che67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mas Theotime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas Theotime

Address: Chemin de la Fabrique, 30700 Serviers-et-Labaume, Uzes, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Gard > Uzes > Serviers-et-Labaume
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Serviers-et-Labaume
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing