We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel”
Review of Avalon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avalon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Zakynthos Town
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

What can I say? We have had the best weeks holiday of our lives.
A little out of the way, but the hotel itself is fantastic. Beautifully renovated, modern, extremely clean. Rooms are spacious and spotless. Cleaner comes in daily, however we only had one change of bed the whole week, meaning a bed full of sand after daily beach visits!!

Staff are friendly, work extremely hard and long hours, they will do anything for you. Reception staff especially helpful, calling taxis, booking trips and giving info.

My advice (after a bad experience) is not to book the my tours boat trip from reception, the boat is tiny and you can't even sit on the top deck as it only allows 15 people which gets full instantly. We spent four hours trapped inside this boat and due to bad weather didn't even get to see the shipwreck! (Not their fault) plenty of places to book trips at the different resorts.

Tsivili beach, after reading mixed reviews before our stay, is beautiful. Sandy not gravel and crystal clear sea. Free transport daily from the hotel to here and town has been very handy.

The food is excellent, salads each night alongside four or five main hot dishes to choose from. Traditional Greek dishes, aswell as a mixture of something else (Chinese or Italian etc) but always one or two traditional well cooked Greek dishes.

The view is out of this world, calming and relaxing. If you stay here, walk or get a taxi to the top of bochali (15min walk) to the top of the hill with the lit up church. Lovely tavernas and a breath taking view.

We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back one day

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsisla2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    128
    45
    21
    4
See reviews for
42
318
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely hotel with loads of potential and great staff. Very friendly and very helpful. Hotel very clean and immaculate but just needs the finishing touches to finish it off. Free towels for sunbeds, lovely pool, more beds arrived while we were there. Shuttle to beach and town and although out of town for 6 or 8 Euros you can go to the centre of Tsilivi which is a good beach and has a fantastic restaurant called Trenta Nove near the beach - fantastic food.

Hotel quiet after 11.00 so great if you want a relaxing time.

Tennis court and crazy golf need finishing off

Well recommended for a peaceful week

Room Tip: Get the sea view - amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank allan31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay in the Aquis Avalon hotel in Zakynthos, even though we had to cancel our stay after one night (not due to anything being wrong with the hotel, we had to leave for personal reasons). The hotel staff was very helpful and accommodating given our situation. Amazing view of the sea and good food, and professional staff! Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RistoTukkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Greeted on arrival by very helpful and attentive staff. Drinks and a guided tour of the hotel.
Reviewers have stated that the food was of minimal choice and variety, I'm afraid I have to agree, but what was on offer was very good. We certainly did not go hungry.
Kosta,and the two young guys, Adrienne and Giannits,(I hope I have spelt your name correctly), were very, very good. Could not do enough for you. And not forgetting Vivienne, she was a delight. These guys work bloody hard, I was impressed!! Then there was Giannis
Week 2 I contracted an ear infection which rendered me completely deaf - the Manager insisted he took me to the local hospital, he even stayed with me during the whole ordeal, guiding and translating and I swear he jumped the queue. Absolutely fantastic. This is a truly wonderful Hotel with a few little niggles to iron out - but hey! This is Greece. Stop your whining and enjoy this gem.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GazNutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived at this hotel at 1.00 pm and were told that our room was not yet ready. After several hours of waiting we were put on the top floor - room 406, with amazing views when you stood up over a very small totally bricked in balcony. The room was large and will be lovely - but the renovations were totally unfinished: tile grouting dust all over the floors; water leaking from the air conditioning unit; no shower curtain; no dispensers in bathroom; pipes on show; bare wires everywhere, even in the bathroom; no tv and no pictures on the walls etc etc All in all we figured out that the hotel had over-booked and very quickly tried to finish the rooms off for three lots of waiting guests. Obviously we did not accept this situation, but were told there were no other rooms available that night, and we were moved the next day along with two other couples. We must point out at this stage that the staff were extremely accommodating and very helpful.

Room 316 was a very different story - FINISHED with amazing unblocked views over the infinity pool and Zante town and harbour - FANTASTIC. All in all we had an amazing holiday and did not let this initial experience dampen our spirits.

It is a work in progress hotel and should be EXCELLENT when finished. The staff are all very friendly and helpful (special mention for Vivienne). The food was adequate but with very little choice (especially for a vegetarian). They actually ran out of food on a number of occasions causing people to wait around for a fresh supply. Food was not labelled and salads often had meat in them. Much of the food was left uncovered and flies were a problem in the dining area. Desserts were very repetitive and extremely limited. Saying all that we did not go hungry - but were disappointed with the quality and quantity.

Wi-fi was a problem all week and only worked for the last two days. (Router problems ?) However, Manager did try to help numerous guests on several occasions.

OVERALL WE REALLY ENJOYED OUR HOLIDAY AND WOULD RECOMMEND THE HOTEL FOR IT'S FIRST CLASS STAFF AND AMAZING VIEWS.

We only hope that the Aquis Hotel chain read these reviews and act upon them.

Room Tip: Pool, harbour view - Floor 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel in July. On arrival we were told we had to wait a couple of hours for our room to be ready but we were allowed to have lunch and drinks as we were on AI. The hotel is situated in a quiet and beautiful village. The views are stunning and out of this world you could spend hours and hours just looking at the sea.
GOOD POINTS
The location and the views make this hotel really special and very very relaxing. You just can't get enough of the view
The staff couldn't be more helpful especially Costas the barman who made amazing cocktails. His attention to detail is spotless and he's always up for a chat even at 10am;) Costas the waiter is the most polite and well-mannered young man ever. He made an effort to remember people's drinks and names and I even saw him asking one of the guests how to say things in Italian. The two of them have definitely made our stay and they were both very funny and friendly.
The pool is amazing you have to go there at night.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly we miss being there!!
The room was clean but more care to the cleaning could be done
Good choice of AI drinks (cocktails, spirits, everything you want)

BAD POINTS
The food for all inclusive was a joke. They only had 5 hotplates for lunch amd dinner so you can imagine the lack of choice. Definitely no food for vegetarians. Sometimes the food was delicious (spanakopita) but on many occasions it was bland and undercooked. We were very disappointed. Sometimes they served dry rice with nothing to go with it. The food was not labelled.
The hotel is still in the process of being completed and you will find a lot of random wires sticking out here and there.
They have those night lamps on the floor at the eating area that stick out and we can't tell you how many people tripped up or almost tripped up so be careful
They have this poor dog sitting outside ALL DAY without fresh water or food. It barks at everybody who walks past. Please treat that dog better!!!

Overall we very much enjoyed our stay there. It was so relaxing and the views were stunning. It was also very quiet but got a bit busier as we were leaving. AS a result there was not enough sunbeds for everyone and some people were even putting their towels down THE NIGHT BEFORE. We are glad that we chose that hotel and would go back in the future once they gain a bit of experience.

We recommend you go on a day trip to visit the Keri Caves. It only costs 40euros for 2 people and the reception will organise everything for you. Make sure you get a room with a sea view it's worth every penny.

Cat and Dave

Room Tip: Choose room 221
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrAndMrsGreyRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Hotel is very nice, over looking the town ! Beautiful views I have to say.
The staff where excellent I couldn't fault them ! The food is ok but not a great selection to choose from !! They need to sort the fly problem in the eating area out though ! I was all inclusive yet spent most of the evenings eating out for that reason !

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zakynthos Town
11.5 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
3.8 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palatino
Hotel Palatino
#2 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Strada Marina
Hotel Strada Marina
#3 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
Bitzaro Palace Hotel
#2 of 30 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
2.5 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Hotel

Property: Avalon Hotel
Address: Stavros - Bochali, Zakynthos Town 291 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Zakynthos Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Zakynthos Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avalon Hotel is an Adults Only hotel and welcomes guests up to 18 years old. The hotel located in one of the most charming settings, everything is perfectly set to create your memorable holiday experience. Avalon Hotel, is ideally located in one of the most picturesque hillside of Bochali, offering unique views over the Ionian Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Avalon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Hotel Zakynthos/Zakynthos Town, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing