We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome! Doesn't get much better than this” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Precipice Trail

Precipice Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Half-mile long trail for experienced hikers at Acadia.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awesome! Doesn't get much better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

I was able to do Precipice trail twice in summer 2011, for some reason the falcons did not nest that year and the trail was open. It was AMAZING. I've wanted to do the trail for such a long time, but it is always closed. You really have to be in decent shape (I strongly suggest that you're able to lift your body weight with arms/legs if you want to do this trail). Also if you do not like heights, I wouldn't suggest it. If this trail is open when you are in Acadia, do it!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonjr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    13
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
347 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Name decribes it well”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Acadia National Park is a gem, and this is a challenging trail worth the time and effort for views and thrills. Take your time and take care, and you'll be fine. A hiking pole helps. Not recommended for kids or animals.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank twoinmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor, Me
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Spectacular trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is one of the great trails of Acadia. It's very steep, so don't attempt it if you aren't prepared. You can't climb it until later in the summer because the peregrine falcons are nesting.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Boblgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surry, Maine
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Precipice Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

That's why we moved here. We have the choice of so many beautiful places to go to--- and never having to drive long hours. just 30 minutes and we are in all this beautiful places.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trudi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

If you aren't afraid of heights this the best hike in the park. Over boulder fields, up metal rung ladders and narrow ledges are what you will find, just to name a few. Took this hike this summer with my husband and 17 year old son. My fourteen year old wanted to go but since we hadn't hiked it before decided to leave her behind. In hind sight she would have been fine and if we go back would definitely take her along. Many summers the trail is closed due to the peregrine falcons nesting. If you are unsure about this trail, do the Beehive first. Another great hike and a good precursor to the Precipice. You should be in good physical condition and wear shoes with good traction!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank kklammers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Precipice Trail also viewed

Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island
 

Been to Precipice Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing