We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Acadia National Park's Hulls Cove Visitors Center
Open today: 08:30 - 16:30
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful views

Wonderful national park on the island of Bar Harbor Maine, steep admission fee but if you love... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
tammyBaltimore_Md
,
Baltimore, Maryland
via mobile
lots of park info

Very nice visitor center with plenty of info about the park and one of the few restroom facilities... read more

Reviewed 28 September 2018
jmmaccord
,
Suffolk, Virginia
Read all 693 reviews
  
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
646 results
Traveller rating
415
149
57
20
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
149
57
20
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews visitor center short film bar harbor cadillac mountain helpful rangers park pass beautiful park great information day pass starting point thunder hole the loop hulls cove gift shop hiking trails sand beach the east coast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 646 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful national park on the island of Bar Harbor Maine, steep admission fee but if you love nature this is the place for you.

Thank tammyBaltimore_Md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Went in Oct and it was packed. Can’t imagine June or July. People from all over the world. Buses to different areas. Parking lot held 200-300 cars and half full

Thank Hummer1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018

Very nice visitor center with plenty of info about the park and one of the few restroom facilities in the park. Be advised there is no flat land in this part of Maine and it's a bit of a climb up many stairs to get there from the parking lot!

Thank jmmaccord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We found the staff friendly and very helpful. The facilities are clean and well laid out. Beware however if you can't do more than a few steps as there are 50 plus to get up to hill. I quickly got my passport stamped and purchased a sticker to go with it. We'll worth the stop.

Thank Peggy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

We were surprised at how many steps there are to get up from the parking lot to the center. But we enjoyed the 15 minute movie about the park and getting some of our questions answered about trails we were interested in. They had some informative books available too.

Thank Marijayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018

We started our visit to Acadia at the Hull's Cove Visitor Center to orient ourselves and plan how to get the most of our one day visit. We saw an informational short film that gave us the basics and purchased an in the car guided tour. This included a CD that we popped into the car player and listened along on all the main stops along the Park Loop Road. We found that it helped fill in the story behind the park's most interesting sights, but it was at times very difficult to determine if we were in the right place when we played it. A few stops were completely missed unfortunately too. We have used this method successfully at many other parks, like Gettysburg and never had such an issue, so it wasn't as if we were clueless about what we were doing. First, the park stops are not well marked, so you must use clues and other maps to mark how far between one stop to the next. The other problem is the park is beautiful, BUT it is so dang crowded that you fell "pushed" from behind by traffic and when you over shoot a stop, it is a long way around to make a correction. We had a great day, but could have seen a whole lot more.

Thank DarthDad07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

The park rangers staffing this visitors center were very helpful in mapping out a sightseeing plan. The center is clean and comfortable. Restrooms are well maintained.

Be aware there are a lot of steps to climb from the parking lot to the center. And what goes up must climb down!

Thank Alanhimmelstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Not a lot to see and do here at the VC, mostly get your entry pass, use the restroom, browse the gift shop and ask the rangers any questions before you head out. Parking is at a bit of a premium as so many check in here before heading off onto park loop road.

Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

This is a great place to go for information or to catch park buses. But, if you're going for admission tickets, I'd suggest buying them on-line in advance. It's 52 steps up to the visitor's center and then I was in a long ticket line.

Thank AmyBGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Stunning scenery but a lot of traffic on the coast road, couldn't get to Newport Cove Beach first parking place 3/4 mile further on. As we went further into the Park congestion got less and Cadillac Mountain was great with fantastic views all round.
We enjoyed Southwest Harbour, just as pretty as Bar Harbour but not as big and a lot quieter, easy to park to.

Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews