We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blackwoods Campground
Nearby Hotels
Asticou Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimball Terrace Inn(Northeast Harbor)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindenwood Inn(Southwest Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$261
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wonder View Inn(Bar Harbor)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
High Seas Motel(Bar Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Ridge(Southwest Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Primrose Place(Bar Harbor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
115
95
23
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
95
23
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscadillac mountainbar harborcoin operated showersquiet hourssand beachflush toiletsbathrooms were cleanon siteno hot waterbring your ownshort pathtree coverdown the roadfire pitgreat campsitevisitor centertent camping
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Beautiful campground, not too far from the ocean, encased by tall birch trees. The "black woods" do offer thorough shade to all campsites.

WARNING: As we entered the campground, we had to pay an extra $20 "vehicle fee," which surprised us (probably because it was mentioned in the fine print that we ignored when making our campsite reservation) - so the campsite cost twice as much as we anticipated. Why doesn't the NPS just allow you to pay the vehicle fee online when you're paying for your campsite? We may never know.

My husband and I stayed at Blackwoods the Thursday *before* Labor Day, and the campground was PACKED. Not a single site was unoccupied! We were surrounded by RVing family reunion groups, single moms tenting with a few little ones, and hipsters toting bikes and kayaks on their 2013 Subarus.

The over-crowdedness was managable, though. All campers were respectful of their neighbors, and kept their respective noise levels to a minimum (especially after nightfall). The only problem with the lack of privacy was that we couldn't just use the "facili-tree" (if you know what I mean), and we had to use the public restroom. The campground was equipped with plenty of freshwater spigots, and with a dump sink for dishwater, which was a nice touch.

We awoke in our little tent to the sound of a crow cawing back & forth with two children, who mimicked him. We found their little "conversation" hilarious!

All-in-all, a great stay at Acadia. Be sure to book your site in advance!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kathryn_mcilvaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

An absolute must to do to really experience camping in Maine! From the exceptional welcome from the Rangers at check in, which included a biscuit of our two dogs, to the free daily armload of firewood and the great buses that cost NOTHING but would take you almost anywhere, there was very little downside to staying at Blackwoods. Although the assigned site for our first visit was not as level as we would have liked, we found out that the earlier you showed up the day of your reservation the better your chance for a better site selection. With our second reservation we went armed with a list of campsites we'd liked over our previous site however all were already occupied. But the new site we were assigned was perfect, flat, large and pretty private although it was next door to part of the trail to the sea. Now you must realize there is NO cell service in the park, no wireless that we could get to work (we had 3 different cell services and 2 wireless) and we couldn't get a single TV channel due to the trees. It's best to walk to the Rangers at the gate to get the daily forecast so you'll know how to dress for your adventures. Lots of nice walks, hikes and beautiful scenery. The other campers are interactive which is great, everyone will share with you what they did that day, biking, hiking, eating or just chilling! The bathrooms were plentiful and clean but remember, no hot water or showers. There are commercial showers on the main road that you can walk up to but you may want to time it so you can catch the bus back to the campground. There is no electricity or water at the sites but generators are allowed to be run within a very generous window of time daily. Everyone obeyed quiet time at night but there was one RV that just had to have the generator on a little early so they could get their coffee made! Can't wait to be able to schedule our next long vacation and go back here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We camped here for three days, and loved it. The sites are on the smaller side, but still fit our 8 man tent, a screen house, 4 chairs and a truck. Quite hours were adhered to which was great as we have a young child and go to bed early and getup early. Camp sites were nice and shaded and we notices most sites were very close to the restrooms, which are well maintained. The shuttle bus come to the campground and you can go just about anywhere in ANP or Bar Harbor with a few transfers. We found this feature extremely helpful. There are ranger led programs at night, though we never seemed to get back in time to participate. The rangers are very helpful and the station sells detailed trail maps. There are no showers, but there is a shower house right up the road and they have hot showers for $2 for 4 minutes. We look forward to coming here again. Although it was a full campground all three nights, you never got that impression as it was quiet, and no heavy traffic. There is a board up outside of the front ranger station that gives you the weather, tides, and other information each day. That was helpful in planning our sunrise and sunset hikes, as well as the best time for my son to title pool. Great place and 20 bucks to camp each night. Family and budget friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The bad: The rangers pick your campsite, there are no showers, there is only cold water in the sinks in the bathroom and you have to press the little button over and over to wash your hands or face, they have rules about quiet hours but nobody enforced them and our first night we were kept awake by our noisy neighbors. You know what else? We had the bad luck to have some sarcastic park rangers on duty. I could never tell if they were really answering my questions or making fun of me for asking what they considered stupid questions. Not nice.
The good: Our campsite wasn't too close to anybody else (except for the noisy people, obviously!) the campground is in a terrific location - close to park loop road, the stables, bar harbor,etc., the bathrooms were pretty clean, there is a pay-to-shower place nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank edanddebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

There are lots of campsites here but we still felt like we had a lot of privacy. The bathrooms are fine. There aren't any showers inside the campground, but just outside the entrance to the campground is a place where you can pay to shower (very nice and clean). There are strict rules about quiet hours and what is and isn't allowed in the campground (bikes are OK, but scooters are not). We appreciate the quiet hours rules since we had younger children with us. We didn't attend any ranger-led campfire programs, but evidently they do run them. The shuttle that runs through Acadia has a stop right in the campground which is pretty convenient and it takes about 15-20 minutes to drive to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews