We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blackwoods Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acadia National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blackwoods Campground
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The good:
ACCESS by car - This campground is a reasonable drive from Bar Harbor and other towns on Mount Desert Island. You can cut over from Otter Creek Road after the coastal portion of the Park Loop Road and save yourself quite a bit of time!

ACCESS by bus - You can take the Island Explorer Route 3 (Blackwoods/Sand Beach) into town and into the coastal portions of the park. You can also catch Route 4 (Loop Road) from the A Loop. Just head toward the Ocean Path.

PRICE - Who can beat $20/night?

QUIET - There were very few RVs/generators.

The Minor Annoyances - You were definitely aware of your neighbors; sound carries. You have to drive or take the bus to the showers; however, the showers are clean and economical ($2 for 4 min).

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Be_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    87
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
78
79
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

With stayed with our RV at Blackwoods for 3 nights. Good things: inexpensive and inside the beautiful Acadia NP. However, it is located in a rather cheerless forest with no views. Sites are not great and relatively close to one another. That is why there is some noise disturbance of generators from other RV's (there are no hook-ups). Restrooms are OK, but not great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Our family spent four days here.
If you are expecting true wilderness camping like we were, then this campground will be a disappointment. Most of the sites are very close to one another, and although it is well landscaped with trees between the sites, you are still very much aware of your neighbors' presence. In order to allow additional tree re growth, the campground has strict rules about where you can walk and pitch your tent. There is a large circular area with stones at each site and that's where tents must be. Luckily we brought padding to sleep on, but if we hadn't it would have been a very uncomfortable 4 nights! Our kids prefer to sleep in camping hammocks instead of tents, but we could not find a way to hang these and still remain within the area designated by the stones.
Even though it is car camping, we were impressed by our fellow campers' respect for the campground and for the park. There were no campers with generators, loud music, or drunken outbursts. Everyone seemed to go to sleep fairly early and tried to be quiet and respectful of their neighbors in the morning. A few crying babies, but parents did their best to quiet them so no one else woke up.
Bathrooms were extremely clean. No showers on site, but coin-operated showers at the campground entrance were clean with plenty of warm water, and a fun experience for the kids. $2 in quarters for 4 mins.
Campsite is in a great location. Paved road around campsite was fun for kids to bike around by themselves. There is a path to the beach which takes you to an amazing spot overlooking the ocean- one of the nicest places in Acadia! Easy access to loop road for biking and a shuttle spot right at the campground which takes you directly to many if the popular attractions (bar harbor town, sand beach, thunder hole, beehive trail, etc).
Would highly recommend this to anyone looking to camp ON the beaten path.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank VermontMama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Sites were nice size and not real close there were plenty trees in between the sites for privacy. Bathrooms were clean and up to date. There are no showers in the park but there are coin operated showers and laundry mat near the entrance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxation151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montréal
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights. Excellent location. Tent sites are ckean, large. Surprisingly noisy. Sites are close together abd lots of families or large groups. 10pm noise curfew is respected. But just be advised there are NO showers abd No hot water in this camping. Coin Showers are located on route 3. If you don't mind this and the noisy neighbors, you will have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Llegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Spend a week in Loop-A campground site-90. Great place, close to water and clean toilets. Sites are not too close which gives you lot of open space. 24 hrs hot showers just at the entrance of campground. Easy access to major Acadia attractions (Bar Harbor, Cadillac Mountain, Sandy Beach, Loop Road etc.). 25 minutes to near by fresh water swimming at Echo Lake and Long Pond.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjeevJatain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mass
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This was out 6th camping trip with out 10 year old daughter. Acadia is amazing and worth the long drive from Massachusetts. This campground is very near to Bar Harbor and Sand Beach so we were able to do hikes and lunch and shopping.
Very clean campground with flush toilets and sinks with running water. No showers. It is a dense and large campground. You will see your neighbors but the good thing was everyone was pretty quiet and once dark comes cannot hear much. I don't like that you cannot pick your site, it is assigned to you. Loop b is better with sites spaced farther apart and more trees for privacy
You can walk to see the ocean which is a huge plus

We drove around Seawall Campground near Bernard and plan to try that one next year. You can choose your site there which I guess is fairly new, used to be first come ,first served

This is not remote camping but you still get all the fun. There are ranger programs in amphitheater but we were too pooped to check it out.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank dianeargie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acadia National Park
5.7 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
6.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.9 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blackwoods Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackwoods Campground

Property: Blackwoods Campground
Address: Route 3, five miles south of Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Acadia National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Acadia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Year-round campgrounds at Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blackwoods Campground Hotel Acadia National Park
Blackwoods Campground Acadia National Park, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing