We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great camping location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seawall Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Acadia National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seawall Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Barrington, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great camping location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Price was right, clean campground, hiking nearby, great for kids, lots of good advice from employees on hikes, 5 minute walk to ocean, clean bathrooms, close to grocery store. No showers was the only downside.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank sparker21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    43
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
32
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

While you can't see the ocean, it can be heard and is wonderful for sleeping. the sites are clean, lined with trees and the entire camp was very not filled with people noise. A great place to stay and see the island. Having showers would be the only thing that could make it better.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank csweihe .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This campground is really nice although the sites are really close together. The maps aren't really representative of what the sites actually look like but it wasn't really that big of a deal. The fire pits are tall and have grates on top. There are hot showers nearby that are reasonably priced and it's on the quieter side of the island. We had a site somewhat close to parking, which was nice and made loading/unloading a non-issue. There are wheelbarrows available to take your stuff to the further campgrounds.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mentallini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My grown son and I booked late, so we had to choose the walk-in sites. I was a bit worried, but it turned out great. The site we got was wonderful with enough room to set up camp, had a fire pit, and a bench. A short walk takes you to the ocean where you can picnic and walk across the rocks. Bathrooms are REALLY clean, rangers are helpful, and you have enough privacy to not bother others. A few driving minutes away is a store with a shower (1 dollar gives you 2 wonderful minutes).

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights over a weekend and loved it. It was our first time visiting Acadia and we are glad we stayed on the "quiet" side of the island. Our site was large (123 loop c) with our pop up camper. The bathrooms looked brand new and were by our site. It is very quiet at night and people were very respectful and friendly. You can walk a short 5 minute walk to the seawall and have a picnic or even a fire if you are lucky enough to grab the spot right on the rocks (which we did). It is very family friendly, lots of kids riding bikes and walking around. We had friends that stayed in the tent section and their site was large and very nice. Everything about Acadia is exceptional from the scenary to the warm and welcoming residents on MDI and in Southwest Harbor! We are already planning a second trip back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Justin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We camped in Acadia for three nights in early June. We decided to stay in the Seawall Campground the first two nights and then stayed at the Blackwoods Campground on the third night for comparison. We're glad that we came before things became busy. We treated our clothes, tent and chairs with insect repellant and it worked well. I think we liked Seawall better. It was quieter and you had more space between you and your neighbors. We showered at the coin operated showers at the convenience store nearby - which was a welcome sight. Make sure to bring your quarters!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank canesgirl2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in early June and had rain all three nights. The tent sights are nicely sized, giving you options for where to pitch your tent. There are clean bathrooms but no showers. A simple grocery/gas station that offers showers for $1 close to the campground. It was really nice lying in the sleeping bag at night, hearing the wind through the trees and the ocean in the background. We will definitely come back to this spot again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DebChip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acadia National Park
2.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 41 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
3.0 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
2.8 mi away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
5.1 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seawall Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seawall Campground

Property: Seawall Campground
Address: Off of route 102A, four miles south of Southwest Harbor, Mount Desert Island, Acadia National Park, Mount Desert Island, ME
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Acadia National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Acadia National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground at Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seawall Campground Hotel Acadia National Park
Seawall Campground Acadia National Park, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing