We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“awesome stay in the badlands”
Review of Cedar Pass Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar Pass Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“awesome stay in the badlands”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

this is the best place to stay if exploring the badlands. located right in the park!
cabins are fairly new and very clean, spacious for a family of four.
our back porch looked right out into the badlands
you can park right outside your cabin so easy to haul all of your suitcases and other bags to and from.

had the taco fry bread in the lodge for dinner.. so good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    154
    49
    17
    11
See reviews for
206
277
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northbridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in cabin 107...the first 2 nights of a 14 day Out West vacation and we loved every minute of it. The cabins are new, clean, and beautifully built. Comfy beds, clean bathrooms. We had a back porch that overlooked The Badlands. The cabins are in walking distance to the Visitors Center and amphitheater. All employees were friendly and helpful. This family of 4 highly recommends!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lsr1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We started planning our summer trip far in advance. The website was tricky and not very clear on when reservations for the 2014 would be available. Based on the reservation dates provided I tried multiple times to try and reserve a cabin online for one night while visiting the badlands. I called one morning and was not impressed with the service at all! The woman I talked to was 'too busy' to give reservation information and was busy doing paperwork/till from the day before. Unfortunately, The customer service and difficult reservation process made us choose a different location. Travelers typically plan far in advance in order to plan a fun and successful road trip experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fitnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCook_GMBadlands, General Manager at Cedar Pass Lodge, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Sorry you had such a difficult time making a reservation at Cedar Pass Lodge. I'm not exactly sure how you made your reservation, but we are open seasonally (April 15 - October 15). During certain times of the year, especially July - August, our 26 units are extremely popular. That could be the reason for your frustration in making a reservation if we didn't have a particular date available in our new cabins.

I understand the relevance of making reservations in advance and actually we have many satisfied guests who've stayed with us. Hopefully, this one experience with one individual won't taint your entire perspective of our operation. Yes, we have folks working for us that have multiple "hats" they wear. We are a small operation in that respect. Unfortunately, sometimes those individuals don't give our potential guests all the information they need.

I hope you will allow us another opportunity to stay with us in the Badlands of South Dakota and if you'd like, I'd be glad to personally help you with your reservations. You can reach me at 605-433-5460 SD Office or at dcook@foreverresorts.com

Thank you again for your comments and feedback.
Best,

Darla Cook
General Manager - Cedar Pass Lodge
Badlands National Park, SD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Staying at the Cedar Pass Lodge is the best way to experience Badlands National Park. The cabins are new and updated and very comfortable. The beds are luxurious--especially after a long day of hiking or exploring. The front and back porch made relaxing easy. The fridge and microwave make it easy to have your own snacks because the restaurant attached to the lodge is the only thing preventing me from giving Cedar Pass Lodge 5 stars. The food is good--especially the Sioux Indian tacos--but the decor needs some major updating. Plus, it's the ONLY dining option. Pack drinks and snacks BEFORE you get to South Dakota because grocery stores are few and far between and the one you'll find will be expensive. Check in, also, wasn't the greatest. We had to wait 30 minutes after the check-in time before our cabin was ready. Plus, we didn't realize that we entered mountain time, so we had to wait an hour before that. Bottom line---staying at the CPL felt a little like camp. We had fun all day, then came back to the cabin, walked to the dining hall and had dinner, then went to watch the sunset from our cabin's porch or one of the many overlooks. Stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The cabins here are lovely. Log cabins with great amenities. Bamboo towels, great product in the bathroom. Very comfy beds, great linens. Microwave & flat screen TV. And the view is fabulous. Great for hiking, biking (which we did), short walk to the visitor center that is very good, when not over run with tourist buses. And the restaurant that is available is just perfect for the setting. They serve awesome Bison Chili. And not a bad salad bar. The servers were very friendly. We stayed 3 nights which was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghdbabyski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights as part of our American road trip. The location of the lodge is perfect with an amazing back drop of the Badlands. The cabins are absolutely perfect, spacious and private.

Check in was a little bit of a hassle but that turned out to be my fault. We turned up at 4:20pm only to be told the cabin wasn't ready. However, it turned out I forgotten to correct my watch by an hour and it was only 3:20pm.

The receptionist saw the funny side and we had a coffee while he sorted it out and sure enough 10 minutes later he came to us and said all was ready.

The Badlands rangers really make the place special however. Their visitor centre is right next door and they give evening presentations and on some nights star gazing talks with the aid of telescopes. Their enthusiasm is amazing and really made our stay special.

Then of course you have the amazing Badlands which is just such a special place.

Having read reviews of the restaurant at Cedar Pass Lodge we brought much of our food with is. The rooms have a good fridge and microwave and we enjoyed breakfast on the cabin patio.

We did eat once in the restaurant and it wasn't good. My bowl of chilli and French fries was luke warm at best and my wife's chicken wrap was bland. Service wasn't great either.

I would really love to stay at Cedar Pass Lodge again but would definitely bring my own supplies.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had a long drive from Denver to Interior. This Cedar Pass Lodge was a good choice. Beautiful spacious new lodge. Tastefully decorated, very good beds. Our lodge had two terraces and we had a beautiful overlook at the Badlands. When we checked out they give us a free bag of ice with it. Next day we did some hiking in the Badlands and the scenic drive.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KrmiNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badlands National Park
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
21.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
2.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Pass Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Pass Lodge

Property: Cedar Pass Lodge
Address: 20681 Sd Highway 240, Badlands National Park, SD 57750-7035
Region: United States > South Dakota > Badlands National Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Badlands National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Pass Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cedar Pass Lodge offers unique accommodations in Badlands National Park. Newly built cabins in 2012 and 2013 affords visitors the chance to relax in comfort offering Queen or King hand crafted lodge pole pine beds & furnishings. All cabins are outfitted with small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, AC/Heat, ceiling fan, on demand hot water heater, upscale sheets/linens, bamboo towels, Lakota made lamp, flat screen TV and Adirondack chairs on the front porch. All cabins were locally made and were built to Gold level LEEDs specifications including re-purposed resources of naturally fallen beetle kill pine from the Black Hills of South Dakota paneling the walls & ceilings of these quaint cabins of the Badlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Pass Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Pass Lodge Cabins Hotel Badlands National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing