We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground”
Review of North Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bryce Canyon National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great campground”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Loved staying here - the facilities were good & it was a short distance to trails. Such a beautiful location - would happily go back again for another holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank disabled_jetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    38
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We stayed here towards the end of August, and even though the campground was full, it was quiet and dark at night. The campground is within walking distance to great trails (including Canyon Rim) and best of all, the shuttle stop is close by. You can leave your camper behind and just hop on/hop off at your own convenience. Truly an enjoyable place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank danaroberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, Ca
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We visited Bryce and stayed at this campground in the second week of June. We were expecting the campgrounds to be full, but there was actually decent turnover. Still, as we expected to arrive late in the day and did not really want to fumble around with establishing camp (if we get one) then (not with two young ones), we booked our first night stay at the Lodge. This is how we got to the campground by 7:30 am to select our campsite. It was fairly quiet at 7:30 am.

All that said, the campground has four loops. Loop A and B allow generators and is meant for vehicles more than 20 ft. (i.e trailers/RVs and no tents). Loop C and D do not allow generators and are for vehicles less than 20 ft. (i.e Tents only).

We ended up staying at Loop A site 5 even though we were camping only (and drives just a Prius). It happened that the occupants of that site camped only too and that they were leaving and told us that the hosts allowed it. We checked with the hosts who said it was ok. Apparently, the site is great for tents (big, big level pad for tent, and a separate area for picnic table) - and less good for RV (extra 20, 30 feet up the hill from parking).
It was a nice site - a short walk from the bathroom and water (but not too close). We also were just down from the Rim Trail. So we could scramble up and watch the sunset easily. I guess I might have liked the site less if we had noisy RV neighbors. But it was quiet. Site is not shaded till two p.m. or so, when the sun is over the rim.

Some smaller sites in Look D are shaded. We would probably go for those in the height of summer.

The facilities in this campground were kept immaculate. The bathroom looked and smelled clean. There is also a sink for washing dishes only.

All in all, we loved this campground and can't wait to return. Driving to Sunset Campground (just to see), we thought it is better to be closer to the Rim Trail, even if there seem to be more shaded sites at Sunset.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank jaczxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

The campsite and campground were A typical National Park Campground. No complaints and was as expected. The campground store was very well stocked, they even had pizza. I do wish that National parks would have a separate area for people comming in after 1am and wanting to setting up camp then, nuff said.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heamars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Nice campsite for family with young children. Stayed 2 nights. Close to flush tiolets, potable water, beautiful scenary, and lots of room to run and explore. Sites are on a first-come, first-serve basis so come between 9:30am-11:30am to get most desirable sites. We chose a site on the outer circle (Lot B; for tents only) with lots of tall trees and flat areas. Otherwise, lots in the inner circle were small and campsites were located too close together with little shade. Be careful of squirrels and chipmunks. They will forage through your open containers and trash bags. Rim Trail is located right off the North campground. Other easy trails are easily accessible from Rim Trail as well. General store and showers short walk from campsite. We chose North campground because bathrooms were under renovation at Sunset campground, but glad that we did!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amnami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longueuil, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2010

Lots of good spots available, close to the main canyon views!! Privacy depends on which spot you get!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank philbbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We reserved our space ahead of time and were not disappointed. They are a little close but very shady. We explored the hill behind us and ended up overlooking a beautiful area. It's chilly at night but we could have a camp fire. Showers, free wifi, and store were close by. Great little place and very affordable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ackHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bryce Canyon National Park
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
Best Western Plus Ruby's Inn
#1 of 1 in Bryce Canyon City
4,925 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Bryce Canyon Grand Hotel
3.5 mi away
Stone Canyon Inn
Stone Canyon Inn
#1 of 5 in Tropic
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Red Ledges Inn
Red Ledges Inn
#3 of 5 in Tropic
679 reviews
14.2 mi away
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
Quality Inn Bryce Canyon
#3 of 14 in Panguitch
504 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Staircase Inn
Grand Staircase Inn
#1 of 1 in Cannonville
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Campground

Property: North Campground
Address: Bryce Canyon Visitor Center, Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Region: United States > Utah > Bryce Canyon National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Bryce Canyon National Park
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular campground offering 125 campsites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Campground Hotel Bryce Canyon National Park
North Campground Bryce Canyon National Park, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing