We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away”

Foster's Family Steak House
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vilvoorde, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Stay away”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Pleasantly surprised by the interior, as the motel rooms outside looked more than rundown. But it pretty much went downhill from there.

I had a choice between salad and soup: as some of the salad ingredients didn't really look fresh, I chose the french onion soup which was reasonably good (but probably not or only partially home made).
The "chuck wagon" I ordered: dry, overcooked and absolutely tasteless minced beef, I barely managed to eat half. Mashed potatoes drowned in some sort of bechamel sauce (a white sauce that we recognised from several other restaurants, clearly mass produced/bought). The vegetables, just like the gravy, looked very familiar from other not so good restaurants. But at least they were baked (instead of the usual steamed vegetables), so it had some flavor. But what do the accompaniments matter when the main ingredient has been massacred...

Boyfriend's hamburger was OK.

We shared some pecan pie afterwards (as a consolation for my main dish) which was OK.

I wouldn't recommend this place, not much cooking going on in their kitchen. And the cutlery wasn't particularly clean.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nathalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    289
    159
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“pass it by”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This place served below average food in a diner atmosphere. My soup was OK. I ordered salmon and it came out uncooked- really , it was barely warm inside and the skin was on. I'm not even sure how it was prepared. It wasn't grilled, broiled, baked, poached. I'm really not sure. I sent it back and didn't get my food until after everyone else was finished. The mashed potatoes were lumpy and covered in some white gravy. I thought it was bearnaise sauce, but it tasted like flour. And the bathroom was dirty!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We had dinner there one night of our visit to Bryce.Seated soon after arriving. Friendly staff. I had a club sandwich with potato salad. the potato salad was very good. Sandwich very filling, great taste. My husband had the Featured hamburger/fries. Burger well done but not overly. Food here was good over all and price was fair. Only negative, no Coke or DP products..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“OK given limited options”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a Bryce burger and nachos, which were fine but had nothing to distinguish them from the ordinary. It's good they have a small size steak on the kids' menu. The kids' fries were overcooked. The salad bar looked woeful. We were too full to try the fruit pies baked on the premises, but they looked good. Service was slow, although we were the only customers left by 7pm. Prices were reasonable. Located not far from Ruby's, on the highway near the airport.

The next day we visited the associated store and bakery, thinking we would try some fruit pie. They were sparsely stocked, and the staff didn't make us feel welcome. We ended up buying some donuts and an expensive baguette, which didn't taste freshly baked.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mifinkeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Low price and delicious”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is approx 5 min. drive from Tropica. When you enter you face a sparsely furnished eatery. However, the waitress was committed and the food was astonishingly good. I had a prime rib that was perfectly cooked soft, juicy and tender. Even more surprising was the price of $22 for 16 oz. especially if one considers that there are only few option nearby to get dinner. Foster's is a clear recommendation

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foster's Family Steak House also viewed

Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
Bryce Canyon National Park, UT
 

Been to Foster's Family Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing