We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, shady campground with fruit and pie-supply nearby”
Review of Fruita Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Capitol Reef National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fruita Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We are not normally campers but we both liked this campground so much that we stayed two nights in August and here's why: it's in the historic Fruita district in Capitol Reef park where you can pick fresh fruit (apples, pears, peaches) daily, you can take refreshing baths in the nearby Fermont river, hike around Capitol Reef and get coffee, tea and fresh scones and pies at the Gifford House, just 2 mins away. There's always mule deer walking around and it's along the scenic drive, so access to the park is great. The grass is soft which adds to the sleeping quality, a spot costs 10 $, there's a water fountain, the bathrooms are nice (including with nice soft big paper towels) - and it cools down at night but doesn't get too cold (not as cold as Grand Canyon definitely). There are no showers and no wifi but you can find both in nearby Torrey (which also has a general store and a laundromat). I'd come back here anytime, really enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Pick a spot in loop A on the right, near the fence - it will offer quiet and great view of the rocks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
4  Thank Ange516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights in May - had a lovely time helped by early morning guided tour 'bird-spotting' and very tasty fruit pies/coffee etc from the Gifford historic farmhouse (but don't leave until too late as they sell out on busy days!). Stock up with supplies en route as nearest shops some distance away (by sad old Brit standards anyway).

Room Tip: Arrive early-ish to get best spots (or even any spot in busy times - before 1100?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bluemarvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Not overcrowded, we really enjoyed our 2 night stay here. Plenty of room to spread out, and decent restrooms. Cute little store with homemade honey and ice cream. Lovely visitor center and points of interest. Beautiful rock formations without the craziness of Zion. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
9  Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Fruita Campground is just one more thing that makes Capitol Reef one of our favorite national parks. The mostly shaded sites are well positioned below dramatic cliffs, amongst orchards and the remains of a historic homestead. The modest size of the campground makes getting there before noon critical for claiming a decent site (no reservations allowed). In our opinion "C" loop is best for tents and small trailers--just make sure you use the second entrance off of "Scenic Drive." We enjoyed a terrific evening ranger program on mountain lions at the amphitheater and later stargazing with some volunteers who set up telescopes in the nearby meadow. A note on hiking at Capitol Reef: there are some very cool, but strenuous, canyon hiking experiences that are not readily publicized by the rangers. These are Sheets Gulch, and Burro Wash and Cottonwood Wash--cool narrow canyons and slots without the Zion hordes (we hiked for five hours and never saw another person).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Hadrian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Grass for tents, water for drinking, bathrooms, trees, wondrous setting. Hard to find a much better campground. Only bummer is no showers available, so gross people with little dignity or consideration for others do gross things in the sinks like: shave their legs, wash their feet, wash their hair, etc. Really gross, people. Get some warm water and do that not in the sink everyone else has to use. Use some common courtesy, please.

Another wondrous benefit of the campground: they provide firewood from tree trimmings to discourage wood gathering. Genius! At only $10 a night, a great rate, too.

Room Tip: Try to not camp on travel holidays if at all possible. A few of the low-lying areas get flooded wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeremyHakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed not as a destination but as a 'passerby' and as such it fit the bill. It was quite busy for the time of year. The surrounding scenery is stunning, there are a myriad of wonderful hikes. The amenities in the campground are limited as are most national parks, to a site of some kind, a fire ring, and some kind of toilet. There were toilets that flushed, and cold running water, but we chose to camp nearer the pit toilet as there was more privacy (ie away from other campers). I would recommend this park as a place to stay as a base for day hikes, not as a place to stay for the 'camping experience'.

Stayed: March 2013
5  Thank Dianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed a couple of nights for a mountain bike trip and was impressed with the campground. Nice green grass, plenty of room, and friendly staff. Would love to go back one day. The trails nearby are world-class mountain biking epic.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trailblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Capitol Reef National Park
7.8 mi away
Capitol Reef Resort
9.5 mi away
Austin's Chuckwagon Lodge and General Store
8.3 mi away
Broken Spur Inn
Broken Spur Inn
#2 of 6 in Torrey
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
Rodeway Inn Capitol Reef
#1 of 1 in Caineville
171 reviews
7.9 mi away
Noor Hotel
Noor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Torrey
30 reviews
8.5 mi away
Days Inn Torrey Capital Reef
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fruita Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fruita Campground

Address: Scenic Drive, Capitol Reef National Park, UT 84775
Region: United States > Utah > Capitol Reef National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Capitol Reef National Park
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Fruita Campground Hotel Capitol Reef National Park
Fruita Campground Utah/Capitol Reef National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing