We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rim Drive

Rim Drive
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic 33-mile drive which must be taken in a clockwise direction since areas of it are one-way.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great drive”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is a must-do while at Crater Lake - great views along the rim, with lots of pull-offs to stop at

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gomez22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    68
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
357 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A must do....”
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Today we enjoyed riding the Crater Lake Rim Drive on our Harley. The views are beyond belief. This is a National Park not to miss. Be ready to stop around every corner for another great picture. I recommend bringing a picnic lunch and choosing a spot to relax and enjoy the view.... Travel Safe...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Gorgeous Drive”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

If you want beautiful views and varying points of view of the lake, take this drive. There are more than a few pull-outs to take in the sights, so grab your camera and enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valrico, Florida
Level Contributor
309 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“A good way to see Crater Lake”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

If you are not into hiking or boating then taking the Rim Drive will provide you with excellent views of the lake and surrounding country side. You will want to take water and snacks as the lodges that provide meals/supplies are located on the south side of the park. The drive is not hard even with minor road construction occurring in areas. There is plenty of parking at most overlooks. The only caveat is keep an eye out for bicycles as there were a bunch of them on the Rim Road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank edge8400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Our first Rim drive ;)”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I wouldn't be writing this review, IF my GPS had taken my in the right direction! We decided to to the 'trolley rim drive' and 'mapped' our way to the Rim Lodge from the park entrance to purchase tickets. Instead of taking us the short route to the left, it took us all the way around the entire lake in the opposite direction! We kept commenting that we weren't going to need to take the trolley since we've pretty much seen it all anyway lol. So, tip to be carefully when using GPS from your phone.

Either way, the drive is spectacular. Snow covered the tops of the highest peaks which made the children want to hop out and play. You can see parts of Crater Lake from the car, but not fully unless you stop and look from outside your vehicle. Also, the driver wont get the same spectacular view as a passenger as eyes cant be taken from the road, its quite treacherous at times and a bit nerve wracking for a back-seat driver. Plan to spend a few hours driving and stopping to see the amazing sights! We also did take the trolley, which was awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank urban_girlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rim Drive also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Rim Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing