We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wizard Island

Wizard Island
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Island in Crater Lake.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you can get tickets it is such an amazing experience. It's not for everyone. The island is a gigantic mound of volcanic rocks piled up so the two hikes could be dangerous if you are not used to hiking. We had an amazing time hiking to Fumarole Bay with our three kids, ages 5, 8 and 11. We are seasoned hikers so it wasn't too bad. I wish we could have gotten the 6 hour tour so we could have also hiked to the summit. We swam in the bay, but it was very cold! Bring food, and water. There were no mosquitoes that others complained about. We are still talking about the amazing day we had on the island. The hike down to Cleetwood cove was maybe 25 minutes and not bad. The hike up was much easier than we expected with all the warnings. We made it up in 30 minutes with maybe two short stops. We are hikers so its wasn't hard for us as seasoned hikers.
Overall, totally worth the money! I would do it again in a heartbeat! Amazing! Wish we could have gotten the 6 hour you tickets!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank shadowjt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    20
    6
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really bad customer service experience Xanterra”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a bad customer service experience with the manager of the boat tours this morning. The contractor is Xanterra. We booked the wizard island tour, and were on the boat to go, when it was cancelled due to weather. The crew then decided to just take us on the standard two hour tour, which was wrong, because that would mean no rescue boat at the dock when the 10:30 boat left. The manager correctly cancelled the tour. That is not the issue. The issue is that the manager got on our boat turned to the back right in front of us and said he had to cancel the boat. We said "can we get on the other boat?" (Just behind us about to leave) He said "it's full." We got off our boat and got in line to reschedule, and we saw him letting others behind us get on the boat that was not cancelled. On the positive side, he did reschedule us twice, quickly without issue. He also offered to check the weather for us in rescheduling.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavernier, Florida
Level Contributor
461 reviews
198 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“eerie beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

The whole lake is just astounding. Wizard Island in the lake is eerie and the history of formation is very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
134 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really looks like the cone (top) of a volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

Wizard Island looks like the top of the volcano that blew many years ago. The island looks like it was deposited "nicely" back down to earth. The waters are crystal clear!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NWGAL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Wizard Island - book in advance, don't be afraid of the hike!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

We took the boat tour at the very end of August. First, call to book it well in advance. I called a couple months before the trip, and it was for a Monday, and they already did not have any availability for the afternoon tour with the Island time. I booked the morning tour. End of August, it was chilly in the morning, in the low 40s (but when we returned it was already 68), and you are near water (some of it will splash on the passengers, especially first rows on the right - they warn you before taking off). The boat trip to the island takes about 45 minutes, then you spend time there, and then you go around the lake on the way back which takes much longer, and that's the part where you see the most of the lake.
The Cleatwood trail: we are in mid-40 I guess in decent shape, but don't even exercise on a regular basis, plus two boys 9 and 13, made it down in about 15 minutes (maybe 20?), and we did not run. It wasn't hard going up, but a little boring :). It was also a little boring going up the volcano, but the views are so worth it! We stopped at a few overlooks after the boat tour, it's nothing compared to the views from the island (still beautiful). 3 hours on the Island is perfect, 6 would be way too much for just the hike and a picnic.
Even if you don't want to take the boat tour, go down the trail, touch the water. Then you'll be able to say you've visited Crater Lake!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank NPBeginner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wizard Island also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Wizard Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing