We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ride The Trolley!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crater Lake Trolley

Crater Lake Trolley
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a wonderful an new attraction at the lake. LNG powered trolleys built to resemble the old SF trolleys.
Colorado
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Ride The Trolley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

For a reasonable $25 a person, this trolley drives the lake rim for 35 miles, stopping @ various points that are not only spectacular to see but educationally important to the area. We saw the entire lake from totally different vantage points which put it in proper perspective to it's surroundings. Our trip had a volunteer geologist on board explaining the very recent history & geologic activity in the formation of Crater Lake. Amazing blue from 750' above.

Leaves from the community house, a short walk from the Crater Lake Lodge, every two hours during the day, but check the schedule to be sure. Discounts for seniors & children. Accessible to persons with disabilities. Everyone can enjoy this magnificent treasure.

If you only do one thing @ Crater Lake, consider the trolley first!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CoLoRaDoSkY1876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    18
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's worth it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

I loved the idea of the trolley. Driving the rim is scary esp for the driver- so the trolley is a great way to see the crater. When we got to the far side of the lake- we watched a storm come in. It was sunny when we left at 10:30am but we knew a storm was coming. It was amazing to see the clouds come in, whirling and watched the rain down in sheets in front of us. Amazing! The ranger guide was good at introducing the naming the lake history He did explain some scientific info about the blue color, the eruption and rock formations. I felt there must have been lots more to the story of the crater and I was disappointed that the guide felt he was done 1/2 way around the crater. But it still was worth the cost.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank travlin-momma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Trolley is totally your best option”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

The trolley tour is really nice on a hot day. When I was there with my father we arrived early in the morning and went down to the lake. We spent an hour at the lake before the 2 hour tour. The Crater Lake Trolley tour is very interesting. You start in a trolley and the park ranger asks you all where you are from, then she tells you about the lake. She takes you around some hot and dry landscape. Then we stop at the lake and she tells us about it. When I was there I learned a lot of interesting information including Native legends. No reason not to take the trolley tour.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank natguy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fun, educational & easy way to circuit this gorgeous Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Rim drive is over 20 miles of narrow, 2-lane road. On the Trolley, I got to look out the window and enjoy all the views without worrying about other vehicles or driving too close to the edge. We made about 7 stops in 2 hours at awesome viewpoints where we got out and gazed at this deep blue, crystal clear lake. National Park Ranger Dennis informed us of park history and geology, threw in some stories and jokes, and answered questions. The Trolley driver was also pleasant and friendly-and a great driver.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oaks, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Take the Trolley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

When we entered the park the ranger gave us the usual map of the park and a postcard describing the Rim Drive Trolley. What a great idea! Later we learned from our driver that the trolleys were purchased from the city of Detroit. They had been used to shuttle people at the Super Bowl. Tickets are purchased at the community building at Rim Village. Our driver was friendly and offered pads for the hard wooden seats. Our guide, Tim, was a geologist and a National Park volunteer. He provided great narratives at each of the 6 stops, gave us a history of the park, the formation of Crater Lake and had photos to share of the park's wildlife and samples of volcanic rock, pumice and obsidian. This was a perfect way to do the Rim Drive. Tim and our driver tried to avoid the crowds at the most popular stops and we didn't miss anything. We had plenty of time at each stop for photos. The trolley we took drove clockwise around the caldera. For the best photos with the sun behind you most of the time, go in the early afternoon. If you drive the rim, take the West rim entrance in the morning and the East rim entrance in the afternoon.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crater Lake Trolley also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Crater Lake National Park, OR
Crater Lake National Park, OR
 

Been to Crater Lake Trolley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing