We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View, Good Food”

Crater Lake Lodge Dining Room
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Romantic, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great View, Good Food”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My son and I have eaten at many national park lodge dining rooms, and this is pretty typical. The view is to die for. The food is good, but not a standout, and ridiculously overpriced. $35 for 2 lambchops and a scoop of mashed potatoes and $13 for ONE crabcake! You are definitely paying for the experience. The service was very good. One of my lambchops had a bit too much fat on it and I brought it to the waiter's attention. He agreed with me and apologized and brought me out another lambchop. A tip for people who want a table with a view: make your reservation at least one month in advance for the time when the restaurant first opens (you have to like to eat early.) Get there a few minutes early. We have done this at many national park lodge dining rooms, and we have never failed to get a seat with a view.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mom_of_Alex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    135
    81
    42
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
202 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely for lunch with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed lunch at a table by the window.....lovely.....view and the food. Since lunch reservations are not accepted, we arrive a bit before the dining room opened, and were seated promptly. The service was good and the menu provided a nice selection. The glass of Oregon wine....Pinot Gris by Eola Cellars....was perfect with the Brie, Apple and walnut sandwich I had. The dinner menu looked a bit expensive and reservations somewhat hard to get, but lunch was affordable, especially considering the amazing view and charming decor. I understand they serve dessert on the patio, so that would be a delicious alternative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 8OOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Average food, high prices, slow service”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The good - beautiful setting, interior was lovely, hostess (manager?) was great.

The not so good - Our family enjoying eating at nice restaurants regularly and we were definitely disappointed by both the food and service. But the service was much faster from the waiters serving the tables on either side of us, so I think we were just unlucky. The elk was extremely gamey even though our server specifically assured us that it was not gamey at all and very tender. We only managed to eat one of the 3 chops at $42. The New York steak was barely edible. The mussels, dessert and wine were ok.

Being in the park, there is really no other choice for dinner. Keep your expectations low and you should be fine.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank enjoyingtime5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderfully Restored”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Traveling from Bend, OR to Ashland, OR, we decided to drive through Crater Lake National Park. While the scenery is beautiful, we had never eaten at the Lodge. Typically eateries in the National Parks are overpriced and lacking in good food. Not here! The salad with Huckleberry dressing and chicken was excellant and reasonably priced. Serving staff was friendly and attentive. And of course there is the view from the patio.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hrgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and perfect atmosphere”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I read on Yelp that the food was overpriced and low quality, but I found the opposite to be true. The entrees ranged from $26 (chicken or vegetarian) on up to $40 for the steak. I had the duck ($32), and though I was told I couldn't get it cooked to order (medium rare), it was well cooked and plenty of food. The service was very good, better than most similarly priced restaurants. Corkage is $15, so I recommend bringing your own bottle of wine since they have a very limited wine list (mostly common supermarket wines). As a whole, the lodge and the restaurant are certainly spendy (lodging was $220 a night), but well maintained with obviously stunning views and excellent service. You are there for the location, but the hotel and restaurant are well managed and worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dar Sigfusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crater Lake Lodge Dining Room also viewed

Crater Lake National Park, OR
 
Prospect, OR

Been to Crater Lake Lodge Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing