We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome relaxed place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome relaxed place”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights. Perfect place to explore Death Valley from. Room was basic but clean. It had all you required. Saloon had excellent beer and food. Staff was very friendly and helpful. 2 thumbs up from me!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    755
    425
    146
    52
See reviews for
428
861
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Urmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of our South-West USA tour.
The hotel looks like a western village. Friendly check-inn.
Room was small, but clean. Bathroom a bit older, not completely spotless. Rooms are a bit noisy, we could here our neighbours talking.

There is a bar, restaurant, swimming pool (open till 12 pm), store, gasstation and wifi is available.
Diner in restaurant was nice, service is a bit simple. For example; they forget to bring your drinks, can of water is taken from our table and put on someone else's. But it's not a 5 starr restaurant.. :-)

Ambiance of the hotel / motel is very nice!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The room is somewhat basic, but it had a flatscreen tv, microwave, coffeemaker and was kept spotless clean. The AC was a little bit noisy, but after a long day of hiking and photography I was so tired that it really didn't bother me at all. I really liked the separate faucet for drinking water. One has to get used to the fact that even the cold water came out hot out the faucet! Once all the daytourists are gone, you will have the hotel and Death Valley for yourself. The most impressive thing was the nightsky. I have never seen so many stars! Overall, a really great place to stay in Death Valley!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holgerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We spent one night in a standard room -- 2 double beds, a desk and chair. First thing we noticed was the lip print on one of the water glasses. Then we noticed that neither of them had been cleaned. Nor had the two coffee cups. They were filthy. So was the bath mat. And there was this pink stain on the toilet we didn't want to think about. At least the sheets were clean and the beds firm.

Unfortunately we didn't sleep a wink due to the 1950's vintage AC*. It kept cycling on and off all night long. (Tip: if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs.) In the morning there was no hot water. When checking out, we were told, well, the pipes are 50 years old. Ok. But maybe let us know when checking in that coaxing hot water out of the faucets might be challenging.

Stovepipe Wells is managed by the Death Valley Lodging Company and initially, we thought they just don't care about their guests. Upon checking out, we mentioned the cleanliness issues and lack of hot water and were told the manager would contact us when they got in that morning at 9am. Guess what. No one contacted us. At least not right away.

We later learned we were some of the last guests to stay at Stovepipe before they closed due to the government shutdown. So it took a few days for the manager to contact us but when she did, she was genuinely horrified at the condition of our room. She refunded our stay and resolved to take up the cleanliness issues with the cleaning staff. She would also let the engineers know about the lack of hot water. Her professional, courteous response prompted me to update my rating from one star to two.

*One additional comment about the AC. There was a large ceiling fan in our room and in late-fall, winter months, the AC is probably not needed and the fan can be used for air flow.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Squamish,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. We appreciate your feedback and since we last spoke as you noted, I have refunded your stay and can assure you that we have resolved all issues regarding your room. Since then, I have worked directly with our Housekeeping Manager and Engineering Director to thoroughly inspect your room. We have also taken the time during our closure due to the government shutdown to inspect all rooms, and make property upgrades. I apologize for your experience, and hope that we can only continue to improve upon our guest service and experience in the future. We encourage all upcoming guests, to contact us immediately so we can assist and resolve any issues prior to check out. We hope that you will consider once again staying with us in one of nature’s most extreme and unique environments. If I can be of further assistance to you please contact me.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Death Valley National Park hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We chose a deluxe room which added a refridgerator and flat-screen T.V. Deluxe is not a word you can use here - the room was functional although the A/C was intrusive, the springs in the matresses could be felt and the plumbing in the shower and the sink leaked. Overall, the place needs attention and the 'rustic experience' is no excuse for a lack of attention to the 21st Century needs of travellers. A little investment and imaginative foresight is needed by the National Park owners. The food was just OK - the service amateurish - the bar had potential. To add an automatic 15% service charge to restaurant and bar bills though is an unjustifiable liberty but I doubt people would tip for poor/slow service given the choice. I know it's in Death Valley and that there are a lot of one night stays but that is still no excuse for indifference.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear AZMaverick,

We appreciate your stay with us, and thank you for your feedback. Please know that I have shared this review with our property managers and our goal is to continually improve upon our guest service and experience while visiting Death Valley National Park. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience with our hotel and restaurant. Please feel free to contact me at 760-786-2387.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grange Over Sands
Level Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

After lots of research, it seemed all the places to stay in the area had mixed reviews. Decided to just go for it. Really pleased with our choice. Yes,parts look a bit run down. The main things were really good. Our room was big,clean. We switched air con off when we went to bed as thought it might keep us awake and it wasn't too hot. Did hear someone at breakfast say it had kept them awake so glad we did.Good sized fridge. Busy when we checked in but guess everyone gets there late afternoon. Pleasant staff at check in. Pool open until midnight. Saloon food was great , their desert nachos fantastic,cooked fresh when ordered. Lady serving was really nice. We had breakfast in the the dining room, again great, as was the lady. Choice of full or continental,we had continental, never fancy too much first thing. I would certainly recommend staying here.Also store across the road.

Room Tip: Would think they would all be very similar. We where in 49'rs .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Pauline W,

Thank you so much for your recent stay and wonderful review of our property. I am happy to see that you enjoyed our restaurant, pleasant staff and your overall stay! We are honored to provide lodging accommodations in Death Valley National Park. Recently, we have had the opportunity to do several property upgrades, such as; add a brand new patio floor outside of our patio rooms, paint some of the buildings, and refinish our kitchen floor. We are excited for all of our guests to see some of the little projects we continue to do to our property and hope you will see them as an improvement. We hope you will come back and stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Five of us, two couples and a young adult, spent a night in a double queen deluxe room, they were able to provide us with a roll away bed for a reasonable fee. The room was very nice and the AC worked great!

Racheal at the front desk made sure that we had everything we needed including extra towels. The pool was clean and open late enough for a swim after dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The dune view was OK, but you have to look over the cars in the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing