We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An average stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
fremont, ca
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“An average stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed for a night over the recent Thanksgiving break at Stove pipe wells village in death valley. We were greatly impressed with what death valley itself had to offer. The desert scenery was great and my wife being an avid photographer, found a number of spots and location to take some memorable shots. Death valley itself has a number of spots such the badwater basin, the rhyloite ghost town, the zabrinski point, among others which kept us busy visiting the whole day.

Stove pipe wells otoh was a huge disappointment. The only saving grace were the sand dunes. We did go on an early morning hike on the sand dunes and took some wonderful shots of the rising sun.
Other than that, most other visitor points of interest are way closer to furnace creek than here. The stove pipe wells village itself has a Saloon, a restaurant and a general store to go with the hotel accommodations. Those are the only good points I can score for them.
For the Bad: The hotels rooms were like ordinary motels and nothing much better than what you would find at a Motel 6 or something like that. But you may find yourself paying 3-4 times more! Also, everything here like in the general store or gas station or even the restaurant was way more expensive than what we could find at furnace creek village area.
Now for the Worse: The bed in our room had springs that poked our backs. They seriously need to replace those beds as we found sleeping on it almost impossible. Also the water available there in their taps (water fountains) has an odd taste and can easily upset ones tummy. I would stay away from that water. They claim it is from a nearby spring and they purify it with some reverse osmosis process. I would stick to bottled water. Surprisingly, we found the water at furnace creek village area did not taste like this at all. Maybe they had a better purification process. Incidentally we found that the furnace creek was run by Xanterra who run most of the other national park lodges we had been to.
So in summary, I would visit stove pipe wells village for the Sand dunes but stay at furnace creek the next time around.

Room Tip: They charged extra for a deluxe room with a view to the sand dunes. The view was only outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    733
    406
    141
    51
See reviews for
418
826
80
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

My boyfriend made the reservation to this spot.
Conveniently located to the sand dunes and mosaic canyon.

Pluses:
great breakfast buffet
Service is great, customer service at front desk friendly
Dog friendly
No radio, no telephones or televisions

Minuses:
No wifi in the rooms, must go to the small common area or the saloon
Glasses in room were not clean
Room smelled musty and old
You can hear through the walls
Not double paned windows
No microwave
Beds not that comfortable
Rooms are well heated
Walking distance to a few sites

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 007freespirit512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Very rustic with a very friendly staff and good food. We came to photograph and this was the perfect place to stay for that pioneer feeling. The last time we were there was in January 2010. The drop down below did not go back that far.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands of Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We called in for coffee and found the staff so helpful that we came back for a great lunch after visiting nearby Mozaic Canyon. they were setting up for a film night (see review below) but as we were staying down the road never got back for it. sound great fun! we were also able to get limited wifi, thank you so much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ostaigperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Ostaigperson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Badwater Saloon! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff, lunch and location near Mosaic Canyon. We are honored to be able to provide services in Death Valley National Park. We hope to see you again in the future and maybe next time you’ll catch our Movie Night. Please don’t hesitate to contact me to assist with future reservations.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had the "deluxe" room so I would be interested to see (or perhaps not) what the standard room looked like. Could have used a thorough cleaning as well. The restaurant was downright awful and service was terrible. We ate the 2nd night in the bar and if you stick to the burger and fries you'll get by. Poor bartender was trying to do it all and he did his best.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momsal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Momsal1,

Thank you for your review of Stovepipe Wells Village, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park. I am sorry to hear about your experience in our hotel and restaurant. One of our goals is to continually improve upon our service in this extreme and beautiful environment in the Park. I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further about your stay and hopefully use your feedback to improve going forward. Please feel free to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We really liked the dining options here, they have some vegetarian options. They have a nice saloon on-site. We went on a ranger led star gazing that was nice, amazing view of the Milky Way. The pool here is wonderful, nice and refreshing. Front desk staff was very helpful and pleasant. One con was there is no wi-fi in the rooms and even in the lounge it's spotty. This is a good location to visit Mosaic Canyon and the sand dunes. Overall, we really liked our stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Birdnerd2,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Stovepipe Wells Village! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our saloon, pool and location in the heart of Death Valley National Park. We agree, star gazing is spectacular from Death Valley and can be a highlight of vacation. We are glad you were able to enjoy our Park, and hope you’ll come back and stay again in the future!

Kind regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights in a dune view room and had a fantastic time. Our room was spacious, really comfortable with a full fridge, bath/shower and tv. The whole property is very well laid out with a bar/restaurant, general store, gift shop and helpful reception staff who will give advice on places to visit, upcoming ranger talks etc. Everything is very clean. There is a gas station here which is very convenient (and surprisingly, reasonably priced!). The food in the bar was simple and tasty and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We were there during one of the movie nights (which I think are every week or two) and they showed The Good, The Bad and The Ugly on a big screen with free popcorn - lots of fun! Mosaic Canyon and the dunes are both a 2 minute drive away. I highly recommend both, especially the dunes at sunrise. Really magical. Furnace Creek is around a 20min drive. The property is large so it's easy to find a quiet spot for a sundowner..the skies at night are spectacular. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, by far the best hotel of our 2 week road trip through California. Go for a dune view room and you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Dune view rooms are the best, very large and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FoxHay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear FoxHay,

Thank you so much for writing such a wonderful review of your recent stay at Stovepipe Wells Village! We appreciate your detailed review, and are thrilled to be a part of your road trip through California. We are happy you enjoyed movie night in the Badwater Saloon and our location in the heart of Death Valley National Park. We are honored to be able to provide lodging in one of nature’s most beautiful and rugged environments. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again next time!

Kind Regards,

Bekah Hiestand
Front Desk Manager
Stovepipe Wells Village
760-786-2387
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
18.7 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing