We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location in Death Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Boston
Level Contributor
346 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A great location in Death Valley”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We stayed here on our trip to Death Valley. The location is a great starting point to see all of the sites in Death Valley. They have on site a General Store, A Saloon, Restaurant and the Motel.

Our room was very clean and comfortable. The AC unit can be a bit noisy but not that bad. You will definitely need it. The only problem with our room was the parking space had a bunch of sheet metal screws n the parking spaces that looked like they were dropped there when a repair was made of some kind. I took the time to pick up everyone that I came across and also told the front desk about it.

The property is located about a mile from the Sad Dunes. You can see them from the property. This is a great place to go out to at night and see the stars.

I found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. If I am in Death Valley again, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 63impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    755
    425
    146
    52
See reviews for
428
861
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A good location within the Death Valley National Park. The location is expensive, however less expensive than other lodging in the park. The patio room that we stayed in was small as there were two small queen beds put into it. I can imagine that a room with a king size bed feels bigger. The location has a nice restaurant and a bar with reasonable prices. Staff could have been a little bit more friendly, but was not disturbingly unfriendly. Wifi did not work all the time and when it did it was slooooooow, so therefore I would consider WiFi as not working. The rooms were clean and the patio rooms came with a nice seating area in front of the room. Parking is close to the room.

Room Tip: If you consider a patio room, consider a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaakBaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We heartily endorse the review given by Aaron R (April 2013) - this is the principal place to stay in/adjacent to Death Valley National Park so there is almost no choice if you want to visit the area. Our room was spacious but we felt it was quite dirty in places and there was no safe. The toilet was definitely dirty with a tidemark.

However, it served a purpose, and met our expectations. Our dinner and breakfast were adequate for one of us, unpleasant for the other.

Free mineral water in the room was welcome.

The general store over the road was well stocked and reasonably priced.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Two nights spent here on our workshop. Ideal location. The rooms were comfortable although the bathroom needs a makeover.
The bar and restaurant good value relatively simple food. The shrimp in pasta was heavy on the pasta and light on the shrimp though.
Better than I expected and new owners are upgrading.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

You stay at stovepipe for the location only, right by the dunes and a central base for Death Valley.

Rooms are basic and clean with the exception of the sand that blows past he door, it is the dessert after all. We used bottled water for teeth brushing, not that we were told to do so we just thought the water had a bit of a 'well' smell to it and coming from FL we are always told not to use that, this might not be the case just our thoughts.
General store was basic, I have to say we did most of our supply shopping at Furnace creek 30 min down the road. If you need to get gas defiantly get this at stovepipe its cheaper here.
Breakfast was good we choose the continental at $7.50 each and could not have been happier.
Lunch was a disappointment, we were seated given menus and then basically ignored, even people that came after us were seated and there orders taken, so after 15 minutes we got up and left.
Be aware no cell service and the internet is defiantly a no go.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uptonsjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The good:

Dog friendly - Nicest place to stay since Furnace Creek Inn does not allow pets.
Location - right at the sand dunes - well situated to do the main park highlights
Clean - spacious rooms - single story - park outside your door
Saloon is great and has a surprisingly good selection on tap including Mammoth Brewing beers. Since we have a dog, we were able to order our dinner "to-go".
Restaurant is good also and the breakfast biscuits are killer
General store across the street

The bad:
No internet except for a slow connection in the lobby
Air conditioning was loud...but did serve as white noise in case of exterior sounds. At least it worked since it was 100 degrees in April.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPH85268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stovepipe Wells Village may not have all the fancy trimmings that Furnace Creek Inn does but it's a great place to stay. It's super clean, friendly and offers everything you need after a long hot day of hiking - a nice pool, cold beer, comfortable beds and quiet. We will definitely be back! Oh, and did I mention that it's about 1/3 the price of Furnace Creek?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altadenabirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,438 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing