We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

You really only have two choices if you wish to stay in Death Valley - here or Furnace Creek. Furnace Creek is a seriously expensive affair that insulates you from your environment. In Stovepipe Wells you have comfortable accommodations and you feel you are really in the desert.
Our room would best be described as an upmarket motel room. Clean with all the necessary facilities. In particular a fridge to decant the contents of your cooler into! We skipped breakfast as we wanted to be on the road to see the sights before the worst of the heat (no hiking...even serious strolling...in the summer after 10am). So we bought drinks and fruit from the store (just opposite) the night before. A nice touch is they give you a voucher for a pack of ice to replenish your cooler for the day ahead.
We loved the pool, a real blessing in such heat. We chose to dine in the bar rather than the restaurant. They share a kitchen, but the atmosphere was less stuffy with a child in tow. We ordered a bunch of starters and had a great sharing feast for a reasonable cost. We also enjoyed playing on the pool table.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MestaChios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear MestaChios,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience in the heart of Death Valley National Park! Glad you were able to cool down from a day in the desert! We are happy to say we recently added refrigerators in all our guest rooms, and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you back in the desert at Stovepipe Wells again!

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    762
    434
    147
    53
See reviews for
438
872
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Let's be honest, there is little choice if you want to see the sunset and/or sunrise in Death Valley.
Very good service, clean, cool rooms of a good size, the pool was just what was needed and the price was OK. We managed to leave a tablet in our room at checkout. We returned a few hours to fund that Vicente had found it, wrapped it carefully and was ready to send it on.
On the other hand the service in the restaurant was "with attitude" possibly because the 15% service charge is automatically added!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryR328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear BarryR328,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us in the Park! Vicente really prides himself on cleanliness and works hard to be the best on property. Very happy he had your item ready upon return. I'll pass this on to him and let him know he made someones day! I would like to hear more about your restaurant experience and would like to communicate to everyone that upon request we will happily remove the service charge. I want every guest to have a great dining experience, please email or call me to discuss more details, mhiestand@deathvalleylodgingco.com (760) 786-2203.

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I cannot recommend Stovepipe Wells highly enough. I had read a lot of the reviews on here before we went and was a little concerned about what we would get but we were greeted warmly at a little oasis of old fashioned service in the desert.

We had missed lunch and our room wasn’t yet ready when we arrived but we were directed to the bar where the “snacks” menu was big enough to satisfy any hungry traveller. We were also offered passes to the swimming pool to cool off before our rooms were ready but at 115°f it was air-con and shade we wanted!

The valley that the hotel sits in is breathtakingly beautiful and quiet. Our room was clean, large, well equipped and comfortable. It was useful to be able to park directly outside our room and the hotel have made real efforts to reduce their impact on the Valley – recycling is strongly encouraged throughout. The food was hearty American fare, the service a little shaky for dinner but it turns out that our waiter had just started and was being trained.

For those people who have criticised the food/drink/wifi/cost – I think you are forgetting that you drove for probably a few hours without seeing a town before you got to Stovepipe, given they are in the middle of Death Valley the services they offer at the price they offer are really good value for money. Yes, the gas is more expensive than in LA, but it is still less than half the price we pay in the UK.

Death Valley was the highlight of our honeymoon for me and Stovepipe was a great spot to spend the night. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again.

If you do visit, take time at night to drive 2 miles down to the little car park at the sand dunes, you can park safely off the road here and turn your lights off to experience the sky as we are truly supposed to see it – breath-taking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Cake Talks,

Congratulations to you and your Husband! You have highlighted our goal for guest interaction, this is how we want everyone's experience to be. Thank you for a wonderful review and I am very touched Stovepipe Wells Village is a highlight and part of your honeymoon.

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The location is perfect for a dip in the pool after hiking the sand dunes, plus it's pretty much in the middle of the park. The pool is perfect, with a lounging area partially covered from the desert sun. The place has a nice quaint, simple feel to it, appropriate for a recreational getaway.The price isn't bad at all considering the outrageous prices for other options inside the park. You aren't getting luxury but go to Vegas if you really want a hotel experience. The gas station across the street was by far the cheapest option for gas in, or just outside the park. Restaurant was just OK, but you can't really expect much so deep in the desert. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talktobrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear talktobrent,

Thank you for visiting and sharing your experience. The pool is a favorite spot for many guests, especially when the thermometer reads above 110 degrees! We hope to see you back at Stovepipe Wells Village enjoying the desert and all the beauty it offers.

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My cousin and I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed ourselves beyond words. We had a view of the dunes, and the pool was heaven. It reached 108 the first day there and that was so refreshing to hop into. The rooms were spacious, had coffee and tea and the air worked perfectly. The restaurant was great and offered a buffet breakfast and the bar has light fare that is very good. Morning coffee is served in the lobby and it's pleasant to sit outside the room and enjoy the morning cool and watch the desert wake up. The store across the road from the hotel is a plus too if you need anything. All in all , a great place in Death Valley.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the dunes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear nizhoni57,

Thank you for taking time reviewing Stovepipe Wells Village in Death Valley National Park. I agree that drinking a cup of coffee watching the sunrise and desert wake up is a memorable moment and one I try to enjoy as often as possible. I would like to invite you back to Stovepipe Wells Village for another cup of coffee and desert morning.

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed here for one night to get the full Death Valley experience, I have never been anywhere on earth like Death Valley before and when we arrived at this oasis it was a bit of a relief from the blistering heat of the day (49 degrees during our visit). This place is a must if you want to get the full experience, including the sunset. Our experience of the hotel was a clean and comfortable with very welcoming A/C, room fridges and TV. There is a bar, restaurant, and swimming pool on site so once you arrive you don't really need to move. Across the road there is also a gas station (24hr), a shop (opens till 10pm). There is a park ranger station a little way out of Stovepipe Wells also. Ok probably a bit pricy for the accommodation (breakfast not included) but remember that everything there has to be brought in! So price did not put me off and the experience was well worth the cost probably above average cost for this type of accommodation. Limited Wi-Fi service.

However, please take care when visiting Death Valley, please note:

Keep an eye on your car temp especially if you are coming in from HWY190 direction (we came from Mammoth Lakes) it’s a bit of a climb on the road into DV and it is recommended that you keep your A/C off for a certain section of the road (about 10 miles, this advisory is signposted). Also make sure you have plenty of water with you, a couple of litres per person as a minimum. And my main recommendation is might be a good idea to let people know where you are and where you’re expected to be, not all roads are well travelled nor does the cell phone system work when you are out and about. Might think this is a little over the top but treat this place with reverence and enjoy, truly there is nowhere on Earth like it!.

Room Tip: Ask for Desert View (might cost more)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Chris W,

I'm glad you had a wonderful experience with both Stovepipe Wells Village and Death Valley National Park. Thank you for enjoying our hospitality, amenities, and all that our hotel offers. The desert is an incredible place, and thank you for sharing safety tips for traveling the area. I welcome you to stay with us again in the future!

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
mhiestand@deathvalleylodgingco.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

So you have very limited options when you are looking for somewhere to stay in Death Valley, probably because it's a park and well it's a somewhat isolated desert. So forget about finding reasonably priced yet comfortable accommodations. Despite it's usually hefty price this is one of the cheaper options.

When you arrive, you are surrounded by nothingness just a great expanse of desert with a view of the nearby dunes. There's a few rows of rooms motel style, a basic store, restaurant/bar and a couple amenities like a pool which like a lot of things was out of service during my visit. This isolated desolate feel was actually part of the charm.

The rooms themselves were very basic with their eccentricities, we had an alarm clock that kept flashing on and off like it was possessed, the tiny bathroom had a shower head that would hit you in the chest etc.

Prepare to be completely disconnected from the rest of the world their wifi which was available in the restaurant wasn't really available at all, maybe sneak a quick email out in an hour if you're lucky. Again this kinda worked in their favour for the location.

You really can't be too picky in the middle of Death Valley and things like non-working wifi, a bizarre shower head, closed pools, a possessed alarm clock etc. would drive me crazy everywhere else, but here it kinda worked. Embrace the insanity, and besides look at those dunes and let's all destroy our smartphones together.

I'd rank it higher but let's face it, it's a very pricey motel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stovepipe_Wells, General Manager at Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Chris C,

Thank you for staying with us in the heart of Death Valley National Park, and for taking the time to give us feedback on our property. I'm glad you enjoyed an isolated experience and views of the sand dunes. In the coming fall/winter we have a some property upgrades, which include improving our bathrooms and raising the height of shower heads. Our goal is to continuously improve our property, I would love to hear more from you and make sure we have fixed the amenities that were not working during your stay. Please feel free to contact me at mhiestand@deathvalleylodgingco.com at your convenience.

Regards,

Matt Hiestand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
9.3 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel

Property: Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stovepipe Wells Village hotels, located in the heart of Death Valley National Park, is the ultimate destination for adventure traveler and families searching to explore all that Death Valley has to offer. Authentically western, rustic yet comfortable, Stovepipe Wells Village is a unique, full-service hotel featuring the Badwater Saloon and Tollhouse Restaurant. Our hotel is a full-service destination offering a variety of amenities including a gas station and a full-stocked General Store. After hiking around the badlands, sand dunes and canyons, Stovepipe Wells Village is more than a welcome sight with our friendly, knowledgeable staff, great food and cold drinks. It's a place where history is made and legends born. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel Death Valley National Park
Stovepipe Wells Village Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing