We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the place to be in a heat wave!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Not the place to be in a heat wave!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2007

Death Valley is truly an experience. Furnace Creek Ranch was a great place to stay, offering restaurant, bar, gift shop and swimming pool. It was too hot to go in the pool in the sun, so a swim in the dark was a fantastic experience, particularly combined with a bit of star watching. The restaurant was good and reasonably priced. The bar was a little on the quiet side, but I suspect most people were in bed early to make the most of the early morning 'cooler' temperatures - it was still 96F at 7am! Afternoon temperatures were 120F. The accommodation was pretty basic (I've stayed in better national park cabins). The house keeping could have been better - don't look under the beds...you'll realise they don't bother cleaning there.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa_J_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,151
    2,386
    1,178
    381
    194
See reviews for
1,394
2,810
117
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England & France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2007

An oasis in the desert indeed. The swimming pool was particularly welcome in the evening heat. Bar and restaurant, and small but nice enough cabin with quietish air-conditionning. Staff were fine, and we picked a quiet time which was good too. Would probably stay again, but maybe not in June as the heat made us feel dizzy!

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Heat!
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank MichaelArchangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2007

We arrived and stayed for 2 days which was enough because the heat was unbearable at 110 nighttime! The rooms were average and the service was good, as was the food available, but the food was very expensive because lets face it, you have no other option! The pool was good, but the water was not refreshing as it was heated to 98 degrees and sunbathing was impossible due to the immense heat. The grounds are nicely set with a rustic look to the area with palm trees and grass areas. We are glad we went, for the experience, but we would not return.

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasianie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adirondack, New York
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2007

In the end of March we spent another five glorious day at the Inn. The Inn is expensive as compared to the ranch but once a while we like to splurge. Two years ago we fell in love with Death Valley and promised to return often. Once again we loved our room, free coffee early in the morning, balcony, fresh breeze coming through open windows, palm trees blowing in a wind, pool, gardens, flowers, hiking, plethora of blooming wildflowers, golf course, date bread, rangers, birds, pup fish, geology, sunsets, sunrises, hiking trails and more. I don't think there is even one single thing about Death Valley we didn't enjoy and already want to return. Our only dinner at the inn was very disappointing. I returned my dish, it wasn't even edible. Still, this didn't make me like Death Valley any less. We both love Death Valley, it is such fascinating and unique place, so much history, fascinating geology and views. We already made reservation for 2008. March is a fabulous time not only for wildflowers but for hiking and we are hikers. We took a newly available tour of the Scotty's ranch and cabin with a ranger and enjoyed it tremendously. This tour is available, I think ,only twice a month and probably not during a summer. We took the first tour ever offered.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
247 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2007

Spent a night here having driven from Vegas. No problem checking in and loved the cabin. It was clean and cool. Outside the temperature was 118 degrees so trekking was out. We drove to Badwaters and Dante's Peak, well worth the trip. As we were still getting over our jet lag, we woke just before 6am and decided to take a trip to the Ghost Town - what a thrilling experience. Watching the sun rise as we drove and the hills changing colours as the rays of the sun hit them - just fantastic. Would definately recommend this as a great place to stay.

  • Liked — It's location and charm
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tappy Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woking surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

they say only the mad europeans visit death valley in summer how right they are ! We had a long drive down from Yosemite National Park what a contrast the road in went straight for miles then we descended into the valley totally amazing our 4 x 4 read 120 degrees not to bad in a air conditioned car but boy do you know it when you get out.
we arrived to find the small cramped reception full but they had enough staff to make it less than a 10 minute wait. Our. room was on the top floor of block 8 overlooking the golf course who are they kidding . It had all the mod cons 2 double beds , t v and a handy fridge decent size bathroom it was clean and tidy .
we were only there for a night on our way to las vegas I like the sun and heat but this was too much we went straight to the lovely fresh water pool that was like a warm bath not a lot of shade there and what there was was full of hot people trying to keep out of the sun. they had a couple of eating places we ate in the cafe nice food and decent drinks.
all in all its a stunning place but the distances to visit places there are vast scottys castle is about 60 miles from the ranch a brilliant experience but toooooo hot.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank WokingSurreyScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2007

I stayed here with my 10 year old son. We booked the ranch, as opposed to the inn, due to the inn being closed for the season at the time we stayed. We had a great time here, the room was small but had all the ammenities we needed; air-conditioning, shower, TV. The bathroom only had a shower and not a tub, however it really wasn't a problem. The room was very clean and we could park right next to it. There are 2 restaurants, however we only tried one, the 49er cafe. The food was very good and reasonably priced. We spent about $25-$30 a meal for two. There is a store that has a very good selection of food/drinks and also a very good gift shop. There is also a bat called the Corkscrew. The ranch is situated very close to the visitor center where rangers can give you plenty of advise about the area. There is also a gas station next to the ranch, we found it to be the cheapest of the ones in Death Valley, even thought when we were there it was still $3.75 a gallon. The gas station at Panamint Srpings was $4.30 at the same time. The pool was great, very warm due to the temp but very refreshing. It is a very deep pool so bear this in mind if you have kids. The deep end is 8ft and the shallow end is 4ft. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would go back again if visiting the area again.

  • Liked — Quiet, relaxed atmosphere. All ammenities in the middle of the desert
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dragonjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
24.8 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#2 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Hotelopia so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing