We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe by default”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Deluxe by default”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

It is what it is, nothing fancy, clean. I stayed in a fairly spacious twin queen room while on a solo photo expedition-visit of the park. The air conditioning struggled to cool down the room, and it probably never got below 75, but it never was uncomfortable enough to deprive two ok nights' sleep. The balky key card scanner and cards for my room was more annoying than the A/C. The two story unit I stayed in had inside hallway access to the rooms. They were the farthest from the desk, restaurants and general store. Furnace Creek Ranch is very mediocre and clean, which for where it is located, makes it deluxe.

Room Tip: Don't let your room card get near your smart phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,183
    2,469
    1,241
    401
    209
See reviews for
1,464
2,909
121
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (787)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chester
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Rooms are a little dated but really fit in with the Wild West ambience of the ranch resort. Very atmospheric, store and saloon on site together with small local museum and swimming pool.
The food available in 3 locations-cafe, saloon and steakhouse- is more than adequate, breakfast buffet is excellent.
Most people stayed for only one night, which I think , is a mistake. The Ranch is well situated for Badwater, Zabriskie Point and Rhyolyte ghost town along with Dante's View. Free Wi-Fi and frig in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for the block overlooking the golf course and mountains- they have a small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnevsChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed one night in September as part of a road trip. Bearing in mind where you are we didn't have particularly high expectations but were really suprised. Our room was simple but very clean and comfortable with satellite TV, a fridge (and much needed ice maker downstairs). The air con was loud but considering the temperatures outside it was hardly suprising! There was plenty of information about the resort, Death Valley and the 49ers in the room. There is a spring fed pool, restaurant, bar, cafe and post office on site. The shop was well stocked with groceries and souvenirs which were reasonably priced. The staff were all very friendly and the buffet breakfast had plenty of choice. The tiny museum on site is a must. It details the history of borax mining but also the story of the 49ers and has moving excerpts from their diaries. We would have liked a bit more time in Death Valley as there is plenty to see and do (even more so in the winter when they also do horseback riding, jeep trips, hiking etc). Considering where you are, this place is great and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Actuallys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Location at centre of Death Valley National Park (& close proximity to Badwater Basin (lowest point) & Dante’s View (best view of DV) make Furnace Creek and this hotel the ideal place for short stay visitors (2-4 days).

Review covers the Ranch Resort (Inn is further along the road). Rooms are laid out in 2 storey blocks (most/all with balconies) over a large site, which also houses a well stocked store/souvenir shop, bar, café and restaurant. (They struggle to cope when the hotel is busy and fare is average, but competition limited!). Bathrooms are small but clean and towels regularly replenished. Beware, running cold water is warm & air con/fan still struggle to keep the heat down unless permanently on full blast, which is somewhat noisy for any light sleepers – but the heat (& related scenery) is most likely why you came here (!) so persevere and enjoy the spectacular scenery.
+ Swimming pool (80 degree plus fed by warm spring) is great but beware too much exposure to the sun/heat…
+ Dante’s View (c. 30 miles – 1 hr, most along well maintained road at reasonable gradients & no scary drops! – to breathtaking view over DV from c.5,500 ft) and Zabriskie Point (c.5 miles), view over eroded foothills, both down H.190
+ Badwater Basin (c.20 miles – 40 mins down H.178, with turn off for one-way loop Artist Drive, which includes Artist’s Pallette, colourful rock formations) along valley floor to low point at -284 ft and dried salt basin.
+ Borax workings – old buildings and equipment, approx 0.5 mile north along H190, however
+ On site (next to swimming pool) Borax museum and other equipment with a much more extensive display.
+ Petrol – pricey (for the U.S. !) at $5-6 a gallon. Top up before or after DV if you can at nearer $4 a gallon at Trona if on the H 178 or Bishop on the US 195.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sotongirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We found this one of the few places to stay while visiting Death Valley. Our room was adequate, though a little dated. The things we found wrong with our room were minor and we did notify staff when we left. Those things included a light bulb out over the sink, stains in front of the mini frig, the toilet leaned forward when you sat on it, and the a/c was noisy when the compressor kicked on and off. We had a problem with the hairdryer and when I called the front desk, help arrived immediately and fixed the problem. The pool opens at 7:00 am and 1 morning when my husband went to swim, a staff member met him at the gate and told him it would be an hour, that they were filling the pool - the gentleman was very hateful and rude; my husband reported him to the front desk and an hour later when my husband returned to the pool, the may could not have been nicer.

The things we liked about this place were the spring fed pool and location. The pool is a nice 86 degrees is huge (which is nice when you need to swim laps for therapy). The front desk and restaurant staff was very friendly (especially Matt from Texas and Craig from California).

We ate at the 49er restaurant both nights we were there and enjoyed our first meal more than the second (just personal preference). Matt did an outstanding job as our waiter both nights.

We ate the breakfast buffet both mornings - about $12.50 each. The buffet had everything on it you could want and allowed us to skip lunch both days. I've never seen someone work as hard as Craig did the first morning we were there (he wasn't there the second morning).

The gift shops are a little pricy. Gas was $5.68 per gallon (regular) and $5.90 per gallon (premium) - the station is owned by Furnace Creek - you really don't have much choice but to pay, other gas stations are not very close.

Overall we would stay here again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

My Dad booked this as a surprise for our last 2 nights in California, we had no idea where we were going to be going but when we arrived it really did feel like stepping back into a Wild West movie.

Rooms:
~ Clean and comfy, the aircon was very good and very mcuh needed.
~ Rooms were spacious with free internet and a TV with a good range of channels, a nice surpirse considering we were in the middle of nowhere.
~ There is also a good sized fridge.
However, extractor fan in the bathroom is very noisy.

Food:
~ Dinner was very very good. We all had the beef sate and it was cooked perfectly.
~ We had take away pizza from the bar on our last night and it was amazing. It wasn't greasy at all and all the ingreedients seemed fresh.
~ Breakfast was a disappointment. It was quite expensive for food that wasn't great.

Amenities:
~ The pool is lovely and a very good size. It is spring fed and so is still very warm.
~ Sports facilities look very good but more for the 'winter' as it is too hot during the day to do more than walk during the summer.
~ General Store is very well stocked with souvenirs and lots of food and drinks, towards the back of the store is more like a mini supermarket-very handy though.
~ The museum is really interesting. There are lots of artefacts from the era of borax mining in Death Valley.

The atmosphere at this place is so cool and is close to a lot of the viewpoints. Had a great stay here and was a lovely end to our holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

After reading some reviews I was a bit concerned about what to expect but we both enjoyed our brief stay here.

The room was perfectly adequate and clean and we had use of the pool which was great.

Shops and restaurants on site can be a little pricey but it is the middle of the desert!

Exceeded our expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Learner99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
15 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,756 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing