We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome relief from a hot ride in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Welcome relief from a hot ride in.”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We came in to Death Valley from Lone Pine, an extremely hot ride, 42c, and lots of road works. We were over heated and a little distressed, and looking forward to a cold drink and a lie down.
The office was unbearably hot, and unfortunately, the staff incompetant. The que was long, and the progress tedious. Once outside however, everything was super. A really nice place to stay, with fabulous facilities. The surrounds were positively breathtaking. We would love to return for a week or so.
We were there Sept 2013.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    2,436
    1,220
    394
    203
See reviews for
1,434
2,882
120
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (786)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

OK, after a long drive into Death Valley from California in 104 F heat this ranch was a great escape from the heat! our room was in the 700 building facing the golf course with grassy area behind our balcony on the first floor so our kids were able to run around despite the heat after the long drive... the pool was a short walk away and pretty big and allowed for an international crowd of old and young to congregate and enjoy swimming or wading water in the heat. we were only here for a night so can't comment on the restaurants. The inn was closed but close by enough for a quick drive up in case you plan to go in the winter spring months.
If we go again we will definitely go in winter but still stay at the ranch!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ShomiS69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have stayed in a few NP properties and most are slightly overpriced and basic.

We stayed for 1 night - room 829 - in a standard 2 Queen room at The Ranch at Furnace Creek.
On arrival the AC was on ready for us which was a pleasant surprise as this being Death Valley, it was a little warm outside!

The room was a decent size with ceiling fan, good AC, flat screen TV, mini refridgerator and WiFi.

The main disappointment was the bathroom and the shower, which did not seem to work properly and water was very sparse at times - however, we managed.

We enjoyed the fact that it was right in the thick of things in Death Valley and had plenty to offer if you were staying a while. Food options were limited and breakfast was not included.
We ate at the 49ers restaurant for dinner - and thankfully had our own cereals/pastries for breakfast as the store was extremely expensive.

Happy we stayed here - but felt it was expensive for what you received.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
174 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

A western theme ranch in the middle of DeathValley: different. We found it enjoyable.

Liked the duplex cottages. Compact but did the job. And the air conditioning worked: essential in those temperatures.

Water from the cold tap was warm. Found the swimming pool to be too hot, which makes a change. Water comes from a warm spring apparently.

An interesting place to stay. We stayed at the Ranch. Don't understand why the Ranch and Inn are lumped together here as they are two different hotels a mile apart.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TowerTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
merseyside
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

There certainly isn't much choice to stay in Death Valley! The room was a decent size and had 2 queen sized beds in it, shower was pretty good too!
AC was noisy and at 100 degrees+ it is defiantly needed!!!
Pool is nice and is the only place to cool down!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank claireb1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First off, the location of the Furnace Creek Ranch is superb. It's located close to many of the attractions of Death Valley. It's sister facility, Furnace Creek Inn is right up the road. There's a gas station right next door, and the official visitor center is between the hotel and gas station. There's a small store on the property as well as a couple of restaurants. And last but not least, a large pool and a golf course. Pretty much everything one would need in one central location.

After a quick check in, we found our accommodations to be a clean, large room with two queen beds. Lack of electrical outlets dates it to a time before handheld electronics. But we managed to find a couple of outlets for our stuff. The room had a refrigerator, coffee maker, iron, hair dryer, plenty of pillows, and shampoo/conditioner/body wash in a nice shower. Bonus points for a shower drain that actually drained the way it should! A small patio contained two rockers and table with a view of a fairway. And the wifi was faster than that of many places I've stayed. All in all, it wasn’t fancy but offered everything we needed.

The restaurants were a bit pricey for what you get, but there's nothing wrong with the food. The staff was friendly and competent.

The pool is large and heated via hot springs. The grounds are very nicely maintained. You can pretty much walk the entire property if you have no mobility issues. We were in the furthest building, and still found it to be an easy walk to the entrance where the restaurants and small store are located. There is also a small Borax museum on the grounds.

We hit great weather, with the temperature being in the upper eighties/lower nineties during the day. I don't think I'd want to stay there much past May, until late fall hits. It gets pretty toasty over the summer. We'll be back.

Room Tip: If you're a senior, check the online senior discounts. You can save a few bucks, especially if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillK1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I guess the Inn is much nicer, the ranch is wll... Very basic. Rooms are fairly clean, though look quite outdated, AC is so noisy it makes sleeping through it a challenge and, unless you have an unit on the ground level, there really isn't any space for you to sit outside (except for a very, very small balcony).
The location cant't be beat though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank frankandsofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,690 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing