We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis in the Desert!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

FCI doesn't seem expensive for where you are and the accommodation is definitely upscale. The restaurant is very good. We stayed there for five days as it was our base for a photography trip.

If you want the best available, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    2,400
    1,196
    384
    197
See reviews for
1,403
2,837
119
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (772)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the ranch on our California Roadtrip for two nights...when we should have really stayed for just one.

The drive down into Death Valley from Sequoia was stunning...around and up the mohave desert..and into the valley. 120 degrees!

The ranch was a relief to see as it was very hot. Very efficient check in and luckily we had a ground floor room so we didn't have to lug cases up the stairs. The room was clean enough...if a little dated.

We tried the pool but there was very little shade and we left after 10 minutes. We ate in the saloon bar one night and the "cheaper" restaurant the next...they were both fine..basic American fare and not too expensive given you've little choice of elsewhere. The staff were very pleasant and friendly.

The following day we went to Dante's Peak ( WOW!!) and back down to Badwater basin ( Meh!)....all told it's a half day . We should have done these on the way out rather than staying an extra day for them.

NIce stay...a little pricey for the quality...but understandable given the location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weleasewobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Furnace Creek for 1 night. It is a beautiful hotel set right in the heart of Death Valley with stunning views. The rooms were of excellent quality: they were simple but extremely clean, well maintained and decorated tastefully with lovely pictures of the national park. The pool is beautiful and is like swimming in a bath, with those same stunning views. There is a restaurant on site or you can drive 2 minutes to the Ranch Resort which has a number of places to eat: the 49'er Cafe has great food and is very reasonably priced with a great atmosphere.

The location of the resort is really good as it's near to some of the attractions in the park such as Badwater Basin and Zabrinske's Point. I loved that it was in the heart of the park and even relished being woken in the middle of the night by the coyotes! Wish we'd stayed for longer than 1 night as there is quite a lot to do in Death Valley.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed at this property for 2 nights and wow what an experience to stay in the desert. Our room was a fair way from reception which is fine in the car but can be difficult on foot, it is difficult to describe what the heat is like it was 120 F when we were there and it just reminded me of opening the oven door and getting that blast of hot air in your face. The room was very nice with a most welcome fridge, it is virtually impossible to get cold water out of the tap so you need cold water in that fridge!! We ate our meals in the cafe 49 which we thought was of excellent quality , the waitresses were very attentive especially Megan, to be honest the price structure was similar to the UK but better quality. Yes you have a bit of a wait but hey you can't go out to eat anywhere else so you just have to be patient! There is a small museum on site which is an interesting little place to visit, the history of this area is interesting withe mining etc. the grocery store sells everything that you might need, we purchased our breakfast from the store every morning , there are some lovely souvenirs in there so it's a nice place to browse after your evening meal. The swimming pool is large but it was busy obviously due to the heat, it does cool you down but quite honestly the water is fairly warm. I hope one day to return to this little gem in the desert.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tengies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for two nights with my husband and two teenage daughters on our way from Yosemite to Las Vegas. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable and just a few yards from the pool area. The pool is fed from a natural spring and this was great to use in the morning when the air was a bit cooler and there is a pool side takeaway that opens to sell breakfast items, a good way to avoid the crowds at the restaurants or if you want to get an early start. Furnace creek was extremely hot in August (116oF) so while the aircon in the room was essential it was noisy and kept us awake. Our keys stopped working after one night but when we called reception about this they came straight to us with new keys. There are several options for dining at the ranch although the menu is limited and the bar was very busy when we were there with people waiting for tables later in the evening. The food was okay but not great value although this may be expected so far from any competition. On our second evening we went to the Furnace Creek Inn a little way up the hill and had the BBQ buffet dinner. The food was very good although the service was poor but its a good place to take in some desert atmosphere. We were glad we had two nights and a whole day in Death valley as there is a lot to see including the visitors centre, Bad water and Zabrinskie point at sun set.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the corridor facing the play ground and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan66UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed here 1 night with our teenage sons in between Las Vegas and Yosemite. Views were absolutely stunning en route. Make sure you go up to Dante's view if nothing else. Ranch was fairly basic but clean and comfy. Pretty good for literally the middle of nowhere. Nice little balcony with a couple of rocking chairs. Pool was a welcome relief in the heat and was lovely to have a dip in til late at night and to see the night sky. Restaurant pretty reasonable serving what I'd say was "home cooking". Nothing gourmet but never the less tasty. Breakfast Buffet good value. Food available in the quaint shop if you wanted to cater basically for yourself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Once upon a time the Furnace Creek Inn might have had a certain verve and charm but now it might as well be a motel for travelers passing through. It is summer and it is so hot you can cut the air - I am definitely passing through but I wonder if there are actually people who come and spend time here in the winter? The place is drastically understaffed - don't think anybody will help you with luggage or anything else for that matter. A snooty boy charges you up front for a buffet dinner that one should actually refuse, the only lady at the reception was the only lady at check-in during the afternoon and remained the only lady during dinner and when I asked her how to turn off the air-conditioning in the room she looked at me in amazement. I understand - it's hot out here - but the noise is unbearable. Forget about the buffet-dinner, go to the ranch. Actually, stay at the ranch because the Inn won't serve you any breakfast and you'll have to drive to the ranch anyway. And then travel on.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
45.1 mi away
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
Longstreet Hotel & Casino
#1 of 1 in Amargosa Valley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
9.3 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort

Property: Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnace Creek Resort, situated in a lush oasis surrounded by the vast and arid desert of Death Valley National Park, California is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. This property hosts two hotels - the historic, 4-diamond, 66 room Inn at Furnace Creek and the more family oriented 224 room Ranch at Furnace Creek. The Inn at Furnace Creek offers guests elegant accommodations in the heart of Death Valley. This 4-diamond resort has operated for more than 86 years, and still pampers every guest. The Ranch at Furnace Creek has been welcoming guests since 1933 and offers a casual, family-like setting - the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Furnace Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing