We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Ranch at Death Valley
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were on the first floor in a room (915) with 2 queens and a patio door to the outside golfing area. Originally we were on the second floor, but happily were able to switch to the first floor. The room was spacious and attractive.
The night sky is incredible as there are no lights to interfere with the viewing. Dream like to see the milky way.
The Ranch, which sold out, was expensive, but suited our needs well.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,960)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More languages

1,970 - 1,976 of 5,960 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

This ranch is really the main place to stay whilst travelling through Death Valley. Check in was efficient and the staff welcoming.
Our room had two comfy large beds, reasonable bathroom and pretty good air con and ceiling fan which was a huge relief as it was 114 Fahrenheit when we were there. Wifi was free and good.
There is a small balcony with 2 rocking chairs for each room.
The shop sells basic foods as well as the usual tourist gifts/ t shirts etc. We did not eat in the restaurants so I can't comment on food quality and service, however, prices seemed quite high because you are a captive audience and they capitalise on this.
It may seem like stating the obvious, but in summer Death Valley is incredibly hot. We took lots of small bottles of water with us and put them in the mini fridge in our room.
The modern visitor centre is adjacent to the hotel and is very good.

Room Tip: If you are mobile, ask for a room on 2nd floor so you are not disturbed by people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishiwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

If you are looking for a 5-star resort with over-the-top food, don’t stay here. If, however, you are staying because you want to visit the hottest place on earth then this is your place. I just got back from my 5th visit, each in the dead heat of summer. Rooms (two-story buildings) are adequate. I’ve always had two queens; the room had a small fridge, balcony, and ceiling fan. Yes, in the summer heat (124 degrees was my hottest) the A/C labors to get the room “cold” in the late afternoon but it was adequate at night. Nothing fancy, just a clean room to crash in.

The pool is nice; spring fed and no chemicals used. Not a lot of shade, so take sunscreen. Sunsets from the pool are great; the mountains to the east are orange with the setting sun. I got to see the Super Moon this year and the cool meteor shower last summer.

The food at Furnace Creek Ranch is average at best. A burger was $14.95. The lunch buffet was the same price. There really isn’t a choice for food so you get what you get. After all, you don’t drive to Death Valley for fancy meals!

Small “general store” with shirts, gifts, souvenirs, limited groceries, water and ice.

The Ranch is 18 miles from Badwater Basin (282 feet below sea level) and about 10 miles from Artist Drive; both “must see” places.

I love the intrigue of telling people I am visiting Death Valley in the summer. I love the place and will go back for more visits.

Between work and pleasure, I am in hotels 140 nights a year. I’ve stayed in dumps and classy joints. Furnace Creek is neither. It’s the only real option for a place to stay if you want to experience Death Valley. I know what to expect when I visit the Ranch and I am never disappointed. I like the place and will be back again next July or August.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DavidTally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We decided to visit Death Valley on a recent trip to Las Vegas, Furnace creek seemed like a good place to stay, especially since it was pretty much the only option inside death valley.
The hotel is very basic, several two story structures with pretty much all the stuff you need, nothing too fancy, but certainly adequate.
The restaurants are ok, but prices seemed a bit high,I could not help but notice that the steak in the restaurant was priced at $60 bucks, that's more expensive that the signature Delmonico steak at Delmonico's in Manhattan,I stuck to the family restaurant instead and settled on a burger with fries.
The one thing that made staying here memorable (other than being in Death Valley of course) was the fresh spring pool, when we arrived it was around 107, we went in the pool around 10 o'clock at night, the air temperature was around 103, the pool temperature was around 86 and as a result felt very refreshing.
The staff was friendly and I would recommend staying here if you want to experience death valley up close and personal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank tcdehaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

FCI doesn't seem expensive for where you are and the accommodation is definitely upscale. The restaurant is very good. We stayed there for five days as it was our base for a photography trip.

If you want the best available, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank HighTimbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the ranch on our California Roadtrip for two nights...when we should have really stayed for just one.

The drive down into Death Valley from Sequoia was stunning...around and up the mohave desert..and into the valley. 120 degrees!

The ranch was a relief to see as it was very hot. Very efficient check in and luckily we had a ground floor room so we didn't have to lug cases up the stairs. The room was clean enough...if a little dated.

We tried the pool but there was very little shade and we left after 10 minutes. We ate in the saloon bar one night and the "cheaper" restaurant the next...they were both fine..basic American fare and not too expensive given you've little choice of elsewhere. The staff were very pleasant and friendly.

The following day we went to Dante's Peak ( WOW!!) and back down to Badwater basin ( Meh!)....all told it's a half day . We should have done these on the way out rather than staying an extra day for them.

NIce stay...a little pricey for the quality...but understandable given the location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weleasewobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at the Inn at Furnace Creek for 1 night. It is a beautiful hotel set right in the heart of Death Valley with stunning views. The rooms were of excellent quality: they were simple but extremely clean, well maintained and decorated tastefully with lovely pictures of the national park. The pool is beautiful and is like swimming in a bath, with those same stunning views. There is a restaurant on site or you can drive 2 minutes to the Ranch Resort which has a number of places to eat: the 49'er Cafe has great food and is very reasonably priced with a great atmosphere.

The location of the resort is really good as it's near to some of the attractions in the park such as Badwater Basin and Zabrinske's Point. I loved that it was in the heart of the park and even relished being woken in the middle of the night by the coyotes! Wish we'd stayed for longer than 1 night as there is quite a lot to do in Death Valley.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Ranch at Death Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranch at Death Valley

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Death Valley National Park
Price Range: £145 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ranch at Death Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranch at Death Valley, situated in Death Valley National Park, is just 120 miles northwest of Las Vegas, Nevada and 275 miles northeast of Los Angeles, California. The Ranch at Death Valley offers accommodations in a casual, family-like setting — the perfect complement to the classic elegance of the Inn at Death Valley. As you wander around the expansive grounds, you’ll feel like you’ve been transported back to when this site was established as a working ranch. Yet, you’ll enjoy the amenities of modern civilization, like quiet, clean rooms, a spring-fed swimming pool, large grass lawns, sports courts, a children’s playground and the National Park Service Visitor’s Center – which is just a stone’s throw away. So is the 18-hole golf course – the lowest elevation course in the world – and Golf Pro Shop. The Ranch at Death Valley is the ideal place to stay when visiting Death Valley National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranch at Death Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Inn And Ranch Hotel Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Resort
Furnace Creek Hotel
Furnace Creek Ranch
Furnace Creek Inn Death Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing