We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunrise spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dante's View

Dante's View
Book In Advance
More Info
US$218.99*
and up
Small-Group Death Valley National Park Day Trip from Las Vegas
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Sunrise spectacular”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It is half hour drive from the DV resort centre up and up the switchback road to a large car park. From there you can take footpaths to get a little higher, and the view across the valley is amazing. The sun comes up behind you and we watched the peaks changing colour as the sky got lighter and the colours appeared. Well worth the effort and we came away with great photographs, though how those guys did it on bikes..... Wow, they must be fit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,316
    248
    34
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“One of our favourite parts of our DV trip”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Heading out of Death Valley, this was one of our final stops on our 2 day adventure and boy did we save the best til last. Amazing views and a lovely drop in temperature after the scorching heat of DV.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay-and-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Sunset vistas are beautiful”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

While visiting Death Valley, Dante's View is a great place to see some beautiful vistas of Badwater Basin at sunset.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank maloney1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The 13 mile drive leads to a 1/2 mile hike to the vista, an early morning trek is just breathtaking!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geneva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth to Drive up - Great View!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Beautiful view for photos! This road is not challenging at all, but it is a little bit narrow (drive with caution!). It is worth to drive up to Dante's View for photos.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Christy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dante's View also viewed

Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 
Death Valley National Park, CA
Death Valley National Park, CA
 

Been to Dante's View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing