We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average National Park accomodations”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fiddlers' Campground
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Not what I was expecting as far as "camping" goes. We had a tent camp reserved, but unfortunately it was right off the main little road in the campgrounds, accross from the dumpsters, not much privacy, and it was literally just a firepit, metal bench and gravel. Luckily we pitched the tent in some trees for some privacy and put up our hammock to make it more appealing. No other options out there for lodging/camping, so I can't complain, he gave us what we need for a few days.
Got to see a wild coyote and some sort of fox hanging out, which was neat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jb2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2014

Campground gets 4 stars but the store and restaurant get only 1. The food is expensive, so-so and the service was terrible. The female server was constantly talking to her friend and the minority staff member had to do all the work. Only the basics for sale in the store with anything else a hundred miles away. Make sure to have all your meat, veggies purchased ahead of time. Buffet is also very expensive.

Campground has a good long sink for washing dishes. Sites are flat with some paved and short, others very long for any sized RV. Was $18 for two nights dry camping with ACCESS PASS. More if you get full hookups that you will need to run AC in summer. Still a good deal. Dump station and water included.

The Furnace Creek Inn costs almost $400/night so be prepared for sticker shock. They say the price so calmly. Glad we had the RV.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
5  Thank E Pierce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We are tent campers that have stayed several times at this campground. It is a highly developed and compact campground as could be expected in a National Park (think Yosemite).

Death Valley NP is a breathtaking park. This campground is centrally located to many areas you will want to visit in the park-- Badwater, Dante's View, Atrist's Palette, Devil's Golf Course, Golden Canyon, Devil's Cornfield, the Sand Dunes, Mosaic Canyon, etc . It is walking distance to the visitor's center and the Xanterra resort within the park, which includes access to a spring fed swimming pool for $5/day. The nearby pool and shower are a great asset for campers. Your purchase a day pass at the ranch motel check-in desk. They provide you with a key card that opens the pool gate. Once in, you have access to the pool and a hot shower. The resort has a small, overpriced market, a cafe, buffet, and steak house if you feel like eating out. There is also a golf course.

Tent campers do best with the walk-in sites (120's-130's) or low 100's, the latter provides natural shade from an trees along the west side of these sites. There are no generators allowed in the walk-in loop. Please check the reservation site for actual pictures of the sites/trees. This campground can be a dream or a drag depending on who else is there. The grounds are heavily used by motor homes, some quite responsible with generator use, and a small few ignorant to the effect their generator use has on the tent campers. The best tent camping sites have motor home sites across the street the entire length of the 100 sites. (It really would be nice if NPS would create a drive-in tent only loop.)

Our last visit proved how ignorant generator users can be to tent campers. While there is a campground host, this person does not proactively deal with the generator issue so you are at the mercy of the users. Someone used their generator in the middle of the night for an hour or so-- come on!

Texas Springs is a nearby option that does not allow generators. It is smaller and does not accept reservations but the crowd is more tent camping oriented. The facilities are outdated but offers some shaded sites. It is not within walking distance to the swimming pool.

Regardless of where you stay, be prepared for playa dust storms that can rip you tent right out of the ground and intense heat. After losing a tent to a dust storm, we now always lock in with long, steel stakes. An easy-up (long steel staked) is a benefit if you can't find a site with natural shade.

Tent camping in Death Valley is a special experience. We will continue to visit regularly but plan carefully depending on when we visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank UNR91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

After several trips to Death Valley over many years we tried Furnace Creek Campground. The Park Service has done a great job of providing full hookup sites that are not crowded together and have great bathrooms available. Restaurants are within walking distance if you want to over pay for less than average food. We showed up w/out reservations and were lucky enough to get a site w/hookups. The employee was very helpful and courteous. We have always stayed at Stove Pipe Wells in the past but Furnace Creek Campground will be are choice from now on.

Important! The road from Ridgecrest to Death Valley is closed indefinitely due to a washout. From California you have to come in from Olancha or Baker. The part that is closed is a county road and does not show up on the Caltrans website. Call the campground directly to check it's status

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
6  Thank demozeleski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Basic functional room, decor was tired, shower unappealing the whole room had a general feeling of grubbiness. Food was expensive. Surroundings were interesting & pleasant. Shop was good but expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Mr_MrsB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The campground is in a great place, close to everything you need. The new wash stations for dish washing was very nice. The restrooms were clean and maintained very well. We tent camped in site 107, which was very cozy and was quiet, a short walk to the visitor's center and a date palm grove, great for bird watching early in the morning. The sites are small and close together, but it is so beautiful to look out of the tent and see the mountains.

Room Tip: Site 107 and surrounding are the best for seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hikergirlAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I went to Death Valley on the weekend and absolutely loved every second! I would have liked to spend more time there and am looking forward to an eventual return already.
There on a photography workshop with Sea to Summit Workshops, we covered many beautiful and stunning areas that I never see in my rainforested home in the Pacific Northwest.

I camped at the Furnace Creek Campground and it was perfect! I wish they had showers but the Furnace Creek lodge has a drop in pass available for the pool and showers which worked out perfectly.

The weather was lovely, especially with bone chilling temperatures at home. It was a welcome break, and I look forward to another visit to the desert soon.

1  Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Death Valley National Park hotels
8.9 mi away
The Oasis at Death Valley
The Oasis at Death Valley
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
5,584 reviews
18.8 mi away
The Ranch at Death Valley
The Ranch at Death Valley
#6 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
365 reviews
24.9 mi away
Panamint Springs Resort
Panamint Springs Resort
#3 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
1,880 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Fiddlers' Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiddlers' Campground

Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328 (Formerly Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground)
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Death Valley National Park
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Campground Hotel Death Valley National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing