We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Death Valley National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A fabulous find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

Loved this place, Death Valley was a real surprise to us as there is so much to see here. The campground is right in the centre, so very hot, but you can go out early morning or early evening and see salt flats, sand dunes, marble lined canyons, wildflowers etc. There's lots of wildlife, particularly around the sand dunes, with fascinating snake trails on the sand. We had regular visits from a roadrunner to our pitch who seemed to have fallen in love with his reflection in our car's rear window. Also desert rodents, owls and rabbits. The campsite is great for star gazing. If you are tent camping, pick a tent only site as you will get some much needed shade. Also, bring a tarpaulin or gazebo so you can create your own shade as it is very hot here in the day. No showers on the camp, though running water in the toilet block - drive to Stovepipe Wells and ask at the lodge for a day ticket for the pool and showers (about $4) and you'll get a decent hot shower and a nice cool swim with some shade too. Try and arrive with enough petrol/gas to get you out the park again as fuel is VERY expensive (over $4 per gallon) Reasonable priced fuel in Pahrump (70 miles out towards Vegas) Wifi available at the Visitor Centre next door to campground, but quite weak signal - don't rely on it.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank LondonKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    73
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
85
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Our family enjoyed four wonderful nights camping at the NPS Furnace Creek campground. This is the only campground that accepts reservations in Death Valley, and is the nicest by far. Lots of pretty trees and shrubs, and spectacular views of the surrounding mountains. The toilets are clean and well maintained, but there are no showers. You can pay for showers at the resort next door if you wish. The Visitor Center is a two minute walk away, and they offer a lot of excellent programs to enjoy. Wonderful hiking and views to be enjoyed throughout the park. We were there in Spring and so enjoyed all the magnificent wildflowers and the pupfish in Salt Water Creek as well. I would definately recommmend Death Valley as a family camping destination.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank momof2boys_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

Nice, clean, quiet campground with ample space. Lots of wildlife. Near the visitors center. Very nice staff.

Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank TheOrganicSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

We arrived 5 days before the season and did not require reservations for the campsite. We had a tent and normal accompaniment of camping equipment. When we pulled in on a Saturday afternoon. We pretty much had the run of choice sites and selected #29. This site has cover to the west with Tamarisk trees and therefore blocks most of the afternoon sun. Temps are still in the mid 90˚s in October....
Their is a flush toilet and water within close walking distance and the F.C. General store was about a 5 minute drive in case we needed supplies. The Campground host, Joe, was real nice seen frequently on his bike (can't miss the Dreads) and let us pay for a 3rd day after we had already paid for 2. (time restrictions for check-in) You can pay at the machine or at the Visitors center - also right around the corner. It is centrally located for visiting sites in DV (as central as you can get -haha) and we also made a trip to Beatty, Nevada for supplies, a hot breakfast, cheap gas and even won $19.00 on a Wheel of Fortune slot machine! Turn Left on US95 from the intersection and go up about a mile past the space station market to Fast Eddies gas. The Casino is is also right there.
If you can swing it, at least plan a trip there to gas up and visit Rhyolite Ghost town on the way back. Being that these places are 30 miles out of the way it paid for it self in the gasoline savings alone - $3.96/gal at the Chevron in Furnace creek VS $2.89/gal in Beatty. The campground was very accommodating and the stars at night were amazing.
Suggested tent sites are 41, 40, 42, 34, 24, 23, 22, 28. 29, 75, 76, 89, 90, 91. I would suspect that in the winter months that you can choose just about anywhere as the sun is not that much of a factor. You can also get a shower/pool pass at the Furnace Creek lodge place for $5. The 49er cafe and saloon also had good food and beverages for reasonable prices. There is also Wi-Fi nearby. Check at the Visitors center.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Mccaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2008

My mate and I from Australia went on a road trip across the states last year and this was one of our stops. The campsite was mainly deserted with the temp pushing 48deg c. we had a small cooking fire during the night and to our surprise it lured in a couple of hungry rabbits. We tried shooing them away but they kept coming back, i think they must have been feeling the heat too and wanted some food. Very strange rabbit behavior though. We managed to take a shower by using the boiling cold water tap to fill our drink bottles and pour over ourselves to keep cool. During the night we abandoned the tent and instead slept on the aluminum tables and slept under the stars, magic.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The heat
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank mdcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

The campground is well-maintained and accomodates both RVs and tents. Some sites are only for tents, and if you plan on tent camping, you definitely want to get one of these tent-only sites because most of them have small trees under which to pitch your tent. This provides a decent amount of shade. Tent campers should be aware that the ground is extremely dry and hard and rather rocky, so they may wish to pack some padding to put under their bedroll. There are quite a few sites geared toward RVs that are just in the middle of barren soil, so there is not much relief from the sun in them. There is an appropriate number of outhouses (divided into male and female) around the campground; they all have sinks, but there are no showers due to the lack of water. Fires are permitted, but on the first night that we were there, staff instructed us to put our fire out due to high winds. If you plan on having a fire, be sure to bring wood, though, as there is none for sale anywhere close by. The campground is in an excellent location in an oasis of sorts, right in the middle of Death Valley National Park. The park headquarters is nearby, as is a small restaurant and saloon. We visited in the spring and enjoyed beautiful weather, but be aware that the temperatures are dangerously high in the summer months.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
22 Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2006

Spent night here two weeks ago - was very basic but very close to good Death Valley visitors centre and we were able to use the pool/ showers for $3. It was pretty spectacular as someone living in London looking at all the stars whilst on my back swimming away at 11pm. At dawn the mad birds woke me up but was lovely seeing sunrise and looking over the hills.

Helpful?
26 Thank Gargykath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Death Valley National Park
8.5 mi away
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Resort
Furnace Creek Inn and Ranch Reso...
#2 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Bud Lodge
Red Bud Lodge
#1 of 3 in El Portal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
Stovepipe Wells Village Hotel
#1 of 3 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
The Ranch at Furnace Creek
#2 of 7 in Death Valley National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground

Property: Furnace Creek Resort & Fiddler's Campground
Address: Highway 190, Death Valley National Park, CA 92328
Region: United States > California > Death Valley National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Death Valley National Park
Number of rooms: 129
Also Known As:
Furnace Creek Campground Hotel Death Valley National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing