We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“husky homestead”
Review of Husky Homestead

Husky Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Enjoy a warm welcome and experience a true Alaskan lifestyle at Husky Homestead—home of Iditarod Champion, Jeff King. Husky Homestead is widely heralded as an authentic look into rural lifestyles based on 40 years of Alaskan adventures: from freight hauling on Denali to crossing the finish line in Nome, Alaska with a champion Iditarod team. Cuddle puppies upon arrival and share an intimate view of the Alaskan Husky as the team explodes from the dog yard and runs on our treadmill before hitting the trail for a training run. Get a behind-the-scenes look at what goes into creating a championship team and carving a life in Alaska's Interior. Hear compelling stories from the trail and see actual racing sleds, arctic survival gear and equipment used to traverse 1100 miles of Alaska's most rugged terrain. Our 2017 tour season begins May 10th and ends on September 21st. Special Note(s): Dress in warm layers. Wear comfortable walking shoes. Bring a jacket, gloves and a hat. Children under the age of 16 must be accompanied by parent or guardian. Outside portion of this tour is approximately 45 minutes, inside portion is approximately 45 minutes. We look forward to meeting you!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Ft Worth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“husky homestead”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Bus driver that took us to location was very informative and friendly. Puppies and dogs are wonderful. Very well kept site and dogs are very friendly. Staff was very informative and knowledgeable. Jeff was very passionate about his dogs. However several of us felt at times we being lectured at and that we were unable to understand his devotion to his dogs. The building that he was giving the lecture at was very hot to the point that about 5 of us walked out of the building due to the heat. Mosquitoes were terrible. Would highly recommend wearing bug repellant before going to site.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank cprestidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    105
    20
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Adorable puppies”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This tour was awesome and I got to hold a two-week old puppy as our bus was the first to arrive. After the other two buses arrived and people got to hold puppies we were then given a talk by Melanie as to how the dogs were trained and what they were fed. We then went inside and Jeff King, a four time Iditarod champion, gave us an insight on what is involved in this iconic and mentally challenged race. This is something one should not miss if you are in Alaska.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeymommy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great insight into the reality of the Iditarod”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We went on this excursion with limited expectations, feeling it would be ridiculously commercial. It was not. It was wonderfully organized to impress and delight and it did bit disappoint. The host is unbelievably passionate about his puppies, his young dogs, his compound, and most of all the iconic race. After being appropriately sucked in by darling puppies, we received so much information from Jeff King about his life as a musher, and how much work, money and devotion go into caring for and training those dogs. Don't want to give it all away. It was an awesome attraction, and I'm so glad we didn't miss it!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Bay, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The husky homestead was great, much more than I expected.puppies, adventure and comedy, it was something I will never forget.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaser4efer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The puppies are adorable!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had wanted to do this tour from the moment I booked our cruise/land journey back in October. Since Alaska is known for the Iditarod, I wanted to understand what they go through. Our bus driver who drove us from Seward after our cruise to Denali gave us a surprise stop at the Iditarod Headquarters in Wasilla and this intrigued me to learn more about the race.

After holding the most adorable puppy, we sat outside with blankets on our laps listening about the raising of the dogs for the race. I most enjoyed hearing how they name the litters (after Friends characters & cheeses). Then they hooked up a team to an ATV and they rode around the complex. Three dogs were brought over to us to meet, one of which is on Jeff King's team.

Then we went inside to meet Jeff King. He was very interesting and answered all of our questions. They showed a short film clip and then pulled up the screen to reveal pictures with our "puppies". This was quite an enjoyable attraction. I would highly recommend dog lovers to put this on their "excursions" if you're in Denali.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betsy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Husky Homestead also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Husky Homestead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing