We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the two-hour canyon tour with this locally-owned company”

Denali Outdoor Center
Book In Advance
More Info
US$92.00*
and up
Canyon Run Whitewater Rafting in Denali National Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Denali Outdoor Center (D.O.C.) is a full-service outfitter offering whitewater rafting, mild-water float trips, kayaking, canoeing and mountain biking adventures on the boundary of Denali National Park, Alaska. We also offer lakeside nightly cabin rentals and camping at our premier location in Healy, Alaska on the shore of Otto Lake.For convenience, we have 2 office locations, one at Denali Park and the other in Healy, just 10 minutes north of the park entrance. We also provide free shuttle service to and from all local lodging, AKRR Depot, Denali Park Visitor Center and the Wilderness Access Center.Our operating season is from mid-May to mid-September and we are open 7 days from 7:00am to 10:00pm. Our winter hours are M-F 9:00am to 5:00pm Alaska Time.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Take the two-hour canyon tour with this locally-owned company”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This was one of the best things we did while visiting Denali National Park. Many of us on our boat (paddling is the way to go!) were first-time rafters, and our guide Country put us at ease and ensured that we were safe and had a great time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MadTownAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Country is the best of the best when it comes to raft guides. Thanks for writing a great review for Denali Outdoor Center and we're really glad to hear that your rafting trip was a highlight of your visit to Denali National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    42
    12
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Awesome trip!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a great run with this family owned company in Denali. We were visiting Denali with our two teenagers; it was 45 degrees and raining the day of our trip but with the dry suits and the fun we were having we didn't notice a bit. The water was up due to a lot of rain so it made for an excellent trip. Tim was a great guide and made the trip a lot of fun - he has pretty good singing skills to go along with his rafting expertise! We would certainly recommend this company to others. Many thanks for a great time!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Right on! Tim does an excellent job of both guiding and entertaining, that's for sure!! It really is amazing how the drysuits make whitewater rafting on a glacial river in Alaska an enjoyable experience. Honestly, we couldn't do it without them. Thank you for writing a great review for Denali Outdoor Center!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

this place is nice and the workers are very helpfull. They have info of other things you can do while you are there

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank greg d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Denali Outdoor Center believes in providing the best possible customer service for visitors to the Denali area. We are always more than happy to help inquiries about the area or the state of Alaska. We are glad to hear that you had a positive experience with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacktown, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic rafting experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As a first time rafter I was a bit nervous about going out but these guys are great. Outfitted in dry suits you get a good safety brief before the guide does an amazing job getting you wet but keeping you safe. Had a ball.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jochoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
We appreciate your review and it's always nice to know we introduced another "river rat" to the joys of whitewater rafting. We probably spoiled you with a "drysuit" since most rafting companies don't use anything for thermal protection, maybe a wetsuit, but only if it's really cold.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
474 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great rafting experience”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

In Alaska it is possible to go rafting at 9.30 pm in broad daylight, which we did. The Denali Outdoor Centre kitted us out in dry-suits over our warm clothing, as the water was glacial. Will, our guide, was excellent with his boat skills as well as his witty comments. The 2 hour trip was great. I would thoroughly recommend this for all outdoor enthusiasts.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tenorman41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill O, Owner at Denali Outdoor Center, responded to this review, 12 November 2014
Thank you for your great review. 2014 was the first season for Will with Denali Outdoor Center and he did an excellent job. It's always good to hear positive feedback about our guides. It really is amazing how the "midnight sun" allows us the opportunity to go rafting, kayaking and mountain biking into the wee hours of the Alaska night-time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denali Outdoor Center also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing