We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon again?”
Review of Nenana View Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Nenana View Bar & Grille
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Salmon again?”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Yes, I had salmon two nights in a row. The salmon here was served on barley and it was delicious. We had a big group with all our family and it could not have been more intimate and relaxing. We all enjoyed our meals and we shared some of their great desserts.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Views, Great Food”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We were staying at the McKinley Chalet Resort as part of a Cruise/Land Tour with Holland America. The first night we ate in this restaurant. I ordered Salmon on a McKinley Salad and it was good but I felt the salmon was slightly overcooked for my taste. In the days ahead, I sat at the bar with my husband and friends and enjoyed the experience. The bartender was friendly and although they were out of the wine I wanted (was told it was the end of the season and so they were out of a lot of wines ), I ordered my favorite cocktail and was not disappointed. After a day on the Tundra Wilderness tour, a group of us sat in the bar area and ordered Pizzas. They were cooked perfectly. Mine was a Margarita with a thin crispy crust and plenty of tomatoes ,mozzarella and basil. I ate the whole thing by myself. Everyone at the table raved about their individual pizza as well. After our flight with Denali Air the next day, my husband and I went back to have lunch. We both ordered the Kobe burgers. It was the best burger I ever ate. It was cooked rare as we like it and it was juicy and flavorful. The fries were hot and crispy. We preferred our meals in the casual bar area instead of the dining room. The "bar food" was more to our liking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in a very remote place”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We dined at the Nenana View Bar & Grille restaurant the last evening they were open this season. Although they were out of a few items the food was better than we expected and the service exceptional. A bit pricey - but then again given the location it should be expected. Also nice selection of beers.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
836 reviews
416 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
“Quality does not reach level of pricing”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Went there for dinner after a day on the McKinnly Explorer. Food gave us sticker shock but the prices in Denali are always high. The prices would have been ok if the food had been top drawer. Unfortunately, the food was ho-hum. Appleby's level. Not a bad thing at Appleby's prices, terrible at Ruth's Chris prices. Server was good. View was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts England
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good food.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We ate here twice, both of our servers were friendly and efficient. The pizzas were very good, so were the salads. We were staying at the McKinley chalet resort and were not particularly impressed with the other on-site restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nenana View Bar & Grille also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing