We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D or M? Who cares?”
Review of Denali

Denali
Book In Advance
More Info
US$87.50*
and up
Denali Wilderness ATV Adventure Tour
More Info
US$375.00*
and up
Denali North Face Flight Expedition
More Info
US$530.00*
and up
Mt McKinley Flightseeing Tour from Anchorage with Glacier Landing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: America's tallest peak, this 20,320-foot mountain is the most famous part of this national park.
springfield vt
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“D or M? Who cares?”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Wow what a big controversy. I just couldn't take the arguments anymore. We got to see about 50% of the mountain by taking the bus to Toklat. Nice tour, saw some caribou and a gold eagle. The bus was comfortable and you were able to view well. Our driver K was exceptional, considering we had people speaking about 4 languages and bad English.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sprung51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,628
    235
    63
    12
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beyond words!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We spent 5 days in the park camping, hoping to get a glimpse of this majestic mountain. Finally on day 4, as we road the shuttle to Eielson, we got a glimpse and realized we were in luck! The view from the center were amazing! We hike the ridge trail there with complete views of McKinley the entire hike. I've hiked in many countries, and this hike was one of the most amazing ridge trail hikes I've ever done with the view of this mountain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winterville, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saw Mount Mckinley”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had the chance to spend a couple of days in Denali NP. One our last day the weather cleared enough for us to see both peaks of Mount Mckinley. A beautiful sight.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaverKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular mountain”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Breathing view. Got to see the top which most days is shrowded in clouds. Got to see for 3 days. Snow covered.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank L P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Recommend the 8 hr bus trip into the park”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Only seemed like 5 ;) Seriously, it's the only way to see lots of animals including grizzlies, caribou (lots) and moose. Wish I'd taken a better camera with a good zoom. A snack was provided but I recommend you bring your own.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LindaAZ2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denali also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing