We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The end of the road...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kantishna Roadhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kantishna Roadhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The end of the road...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

...IS the end of the road, well almost! As part of a 3 week active vacation in Alaska my husband and I booked 3 nights at the Roadhouse and I'm glad we did, because this place is REMOTE. Having 2 full days there off set the very lengthy bus ride( 7hours?) through the park, so I would not advise taking the ( uncomfortable ) bus in, spending a few hours, then turning around and going out. The setting is lovely and the staff welcoming and enthusiastic, but the accommodations and food, as mentioned in other reviews, were average at best. We enjoyed terrific weather on our entire visit and the "national bird" the mosquito wasn't as pesky and prevalent as we had been told would be the case. The Roadhouse does offer guests netted mosquito hats to use for hikes as well as walking sticks so you can be ready for anything. Seeing the massive, beautiful interior of the national park is the call of the Kantishna Roadhouse so go on, head on in to the end of the road, because a few days cut off from all your toys turns out to be very relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KateLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    46
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
43
81
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

You are 92 miles inside Denali National park . On your way in you see abundant wildlife . Bears, moose, caribou, sheep and views that last forever. When you et to the roadhouse, you are greeted with a meal and a friendly staff. All meals are included along with fly fishing panning for gold, guided hikes and watching the dog sled in action. The food was good The rooms were clean & the beds were comfortable.t was a very nice 2 days

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abbiesmom9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
351 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This was the first stop on a one-week tour. Since it was part of a tour package, I cannot comment on value. We stayed for two nights in the available duplex cabin lodging. Accommodations were fine -- clean and adequate. Walls seemed to be paper-thin; even low conversational tones could be heard next door. Guides were enthusiastic and personable. An afternoon presentation by Emmit Peters Jr. on sled dogs and the Iditarod was outstanding! Wild blueberries were ripe, tasty and plentiful (found on the hikes). Meals in the dining room were spotty (all meals family style). Prime rib on the first night was very good, so long as you didn't want yours rare or well done. Breakfast the next day was decent, lunch not so much (BLTs on which the bread had dried out). Dinner the second night was either good or bad, depending on your table; the entrée was Cornish Game Hen, and the people served at the end got a literal "raw deal" in that their hens were not adequately cooked. Even after sending them back, those diners left most of the hen on their plates. The majority, those served first, seemed satisfied that their hens were done well enough. Service was fine. Frankly, I did not come on the tour for food. I wanted to see the interior of Denali National Park, and this was one of the few opportunities available for that experience. On our way out from the Roadhouse, back toward the Denali train station, the clear sky early morning view of mighty Denali itself was worth whatever trials we might have gone through. Overall, gourmets can plan on being disappointed. Otherwise not a bad place to visit. The usual light rain, but no mosquitos to speak of in early August.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WYbirdwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great way to experience the great outdoors with some of the creature comforts. The roadhouse offers many opportunities for hiking, biking, scenic and animal viewing, but if you just want to relax, you can do that too. The staff is wonderful and helpful and very knowledgeable; those of you lucky to have Kristy as one of your drivers know what I mean. The food was ok at best and is the only thing I would say they need to improve. Were there mosquitos? Yes, plenty, but it's part of the experience so bring your repellent and a net and practice your Alaska wave! All in all, I'm glad I had the experience. Seeing moose, grizzlies, eagles, caribou, ptarmigan, Dall sheep in their natural environments was amazing!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mfisher85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at the Kantishna Roadhouse in mid-July 2013. The cabin accommodations were basic, clean and comfortable. We weren't impressed by the food or the meal service. (We're not picky eaters either.) The place just seemed a bit impersonal and unorganized compared to the other lodges we stayed at during our trip to Alaska. Not much for choice of activities unless you want to hike. We did find the dog sled presentation interesting. Yes, there are mosquitoes, so be prepared! On a positive note, we saw an abundance of wildlife on the trip to/from the Roadhouse much due to the spotting skills of our excellent bus driver (Kirsty). I'd definitely class this place as a "stopover" in and out of the park and wouldn't recommend it as a lengthy stay as a base camp for activities. We strongly agree with another reviewer that "The trip to the hotel "is" the experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kkknud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The roadhouse gives you the ability to relax if you want although there are many opportunities for hiking, biking, scenic and animal viewing. The staff is wonderful and helpful but the hiking is not for the weak. We booked here so we could be in the lap of luxury, considering the price, they should have put me on their backs and hiked in, so I was expecting much more. There were some older folks and if you weren't in the best of shape, you stayed near the lodge. Anything that was a little more than strenuous, was not made accessible unless you were in tip top condition. For the price of a small mortgage I expected more. The cabins were lovely, clean and easy to get to and from. As for the food, it was well presented, but the portion size was tiny, and the lunch was totally unacceptable. Filled with mayonnaise, and not much of an alternative except mystery meat. The staff had some nice presentation regarding outdoors and how they felt about "into the wild". No night activities were set up. They did get us into the van to take us to a lake where a moose was sighted and I was able to get my best photographs so it was not in vain.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kashasmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

After a wonderful small boat cruise in the Inner Passage with Un-cruise Adventures, we headed inland to Denali for a stay at this hotel. Located in a small valley, the hotel did not have good views and was heavily infested with mosquitoes. The only repellants that worked contained a minimum of 40% Deet. The food was mediocre. On one day, a tour bus arrived to stay for lunch and a lecture. When the overnight guests asked about dessert with our lunches, we were told that cookies would be served to the bus guests only. As one of our fellow guests said, "this place is like a poorly run summer camp". It was very expensive -- a terrible value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
133.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Fairbanks
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Chena River Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantishna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantishna Roadhouse

Property: Kantishna Roadhouse
Address: 1 Doyon Pl # 300, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99701-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kantishna Roadhouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantishna Roadhouse is a backcountry lodge resort in the heart of Denali National Park. Comfortable well-appointed cabin lodging, all-inclusive experience. Enjoy abundant activities including daily guided hikes, gold panning with expert guides, free mountain bike rental/usage, and fly-fishing for Arctic Grayling in Moose Creek. For those that choose to stay in camp for the day, our comfortable natural history library, cozy lobby, or outdoor screened-in porch -- offer pleasant alternatives. This is a true Alaskan adventure in one of the most beautiful national parks in the world. The transportation to and from the resort is half the fun. Our red and white bus, marked "Kantishna Roadhouse," gives you the opportunity to see abundant wildlife in its natural setting, including grizzly bears, wolves, moose, caribou, dall sheep, among other critters. Kantishna Roadhouse is the only resort in the backcountry with a bar/saloon. Sip wine on the banks of the Moose River while you take in a beautiful sunset by the fire. Enjoy activities and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kantishna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantishna Roadhouse Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Kantishna Roadhouse Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing