We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Camp Denali
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Park Village(Denali National Park and Preserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
McKinley Chalet Resort(McKinley Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Denali Bluffs Hotel(McKinley Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crows Nest Cabins(McKinley Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grande Denali Lodge(McKinley Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Perch Resort(McKinley Village)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
185
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
6
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswood stovedining hallno electricityother gueststhe bushot platedall sheeprain gearsmall groupunbelievable experiencenorth face lodgeflora and faunaeach guestlearning experiencehandmade quiltsunbeatable locationstrenuous hike
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

it is almost impossible to shower too many superlatives on the Camp Denali experience. This is one of the world's first eco-lodges, spectacularly situated on a high ridge overlooking the Alaska Range and Denali National Park. As other reviewers have said, the food is wonderful, the hikes are a delight, the staff well-educated and personable. We've been lucky enough to go several times and, as Alaskans ourselves, recommend Camp to all our friends from "Outside" who are contemplating a trip to Alaska. Only one warning: book ahead, book far ahead! The cabins fill up long advance. And yes, the price is high, but the experience is quantum leaps above any other and worth each and every penny. A perfect place to bring kids.

Room Tip: All the cabins are terrific. Not a bad room to be had!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juneauite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a return trip for us, and we arranged an Alaska vacation around Camp Denali as the focal point this time. That should tell you our opinion. The staff is outstanding. The food is outstanding. The quantity, quality, and thought that has gone into the equipment available for loan is amazing. I'd not expected to find poles, packs, gators, bikes, and on and on available to use.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We spent three nights here as part of our small tour group. This place is heaven if you are an outdoors person. Bear in mind that Camp Denali is not a glitzy city hotel with a lounge, music, swimming pools, etc. It is 90 miles into the park. The setting has to be one of the best in North America. We have stayed in a lot of lodges in the U.S. and Canada and if the weather cooperates, it is simply spectacular. We were fortunate to have perfect weather while at Camp Denali. The owners, Simon and Jenna, make you feel so welcome from the time you arrive. The staff is wonderful, especially those guides who lead daily walks/hikes in Denali National Park. The food is very well prepared and they provide specific seating, which moves at each meal, allowing you to meet new folks at every meal. You stay in your own small cabin with an immaculate outhouse. Showers are in a separate building. The cabins have running water and propane lights. This was a fantastic experience !!!

Room Tip: Try to get a cabin on the upper part of the hill, closer to the dining room and showers.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The entire experience was first class. The rustic cabins, the luxury lodge, the wonderful food, the exceptional personnel, the top-notch equipment and of course the stunning park. The options were many and the disappointments were zero. We would definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank doc_ducttape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Camp Denali May not be for everyone but for those who love the outdoors and want to experience in rustic luxury Camp Denali is heaven on earth. The cabins are situated on bluffs that, when the skies are clear, look out directly on Wonder Lake and Mt Denali. The cabins themselves are cute, clean, and have wonderful beds and bedding. The space is limited but well thought out. The wood stove, for heat, works very well and the kerosene lamps are excellent though rarely needed in the summer since it's light all the time. The outhouses are pristine and right outside.

The activities are excellent allowing for all levels of hiking and accommodating all interests with superb naturalists. And the independent activities such as mountain biking, canoeing, and fishing are well supported.

And the food is to die for. It's superb--better than in any restaurants we visited in Alaska and on par with those in our home in San Francisco. Poached eggs on polenta with fresh fruit and croissant for one breakfast. All breakfasts include fresh orange juice and great coffee along with a self service area of home made granola and oatmeal. Dinner included a home made ravioli stuffed with prawns and scallops one night and an outstanding black cod with book choy (grown in their own green house) no another.

The staff were fabulous. All ages and backgrounds. But all loved the outdoors and many had advanced degrees.

Lastly, Jenna and Simon who own and operate Camp Denali are ever present and always warm and fun to talk to.

GO.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews