We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible Experience in Denali Park” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camp Denali

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camp Denali
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Incredible Experience in Denali Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2010

My wife and I had an incredible experience with Camp Denali in June. Everything about the experience was outstanding. The bus rides into Denali Park and back to the Park entrance at the end of the trip were filled with great opportunities to stop and observe grizzlies, moose, dall sheep, fox, eagles and other forms of wildlife. Our drivers/naturalists were incredibly knowledgable about the Park, its history, geology and wildlife and shared their knowledge with us along the way.

During our stay at Camp Denali, we enjoyed wonderful day trips/hikes with a guest ornithologist and staff naturalists. We were happy to see spectacular snow covered Denali itself on a number of occasions when the clouds cleared. Our private cabin was charming and, like all of the Camp's facilities, beautifully maintained. Dinners and breakfasts were consistently exceptional...creative and delicious...and we enjoyed the conversations with other guests around the table. Each day we packed our own delicious choice of lunch for the trail.

All the staff members were consistently friendly, enthusiastic and professional. An experience like this doesn't just happen. Close collaboration between the owners and the staff in planning and executing is what makes this an experience of a lifetime. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JungleTrailJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
89
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

We stayed at Camp Denali for our 25th Anniversary and loved it. Yeah it's expensive, but it is a once in a lifetime experience. The food is great, the staff is even better. They truly enjoy their job and are good at it. The naturalists are all very well educated in their field and we learned something on every hike. The only draw back if any was the outhouse. Yes it does have a beautiful view of Denali but it still is an outhouse. We were one of the rare few who saw the mountain everyday that we were at Denali, what a treat!!!!

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OTsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2009

okay totally my fault, i did not read the advertisment as well as i should have and in doing so when i got home i saw that this place is just as it represents itself. heres how it went for my husband and i, you have probalbe read about the long bus ride ithat is bummpy and uncomforatable, not the lodges fault and if we had seen wildlife probalbe would have made it seem better, again nothing can be done about that these are wild animals afterall. Anyway we get to the cabins, my husband and i were assined the 2nd to last cabin, down a steep hill about 500 yards from the shared shower (2 showers, 16 women) the cabin was beautiful, cozy, wonderful veiw, luckly it was still light all night during our stay because the private outhouse for our cabin was another 25 yards down a rocky hill. but in all honesty this is what is adversised, outside water fauct, wood stove to heat water, shared showers, not sure what i was thinking, after the long hot sweaty bus ride we walked down to our cabin then my husband walked back up to take a shower and had to wait in line behind three other men, he asked if we might move and they had a truck at our doorstep within minutes, we were so lucky there was room at north face, where i will admit the veiw was just not the same and the view we had straingt from our bed of the mountain up at the cabin but we had indoor private showers! so i have nothing bad to say about this place is that your kind of vacation!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mp5676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

We recently had the absolute pleasure of spending 4 days at Camp Denali, and it was incredible. From the very start of the trip at the train depot we were greeted warmly by our bus drivers, Fiona and Brian, who also were naturalist guides at the camp.
We took an incredible ride into the park viewing scenery that we have never had the pleasure of seeing before. After numerous animal sightings and mountain views, the buses pulled over near a stream and we were treated to a picnic lunch of smoked salmon, smoked halibut, homemade breads, homemade spreads, desserts,.....As we pulled over for our picnic there were three Caribou grazing on the other side of the stream, incredible.
Once we arrived at the Camp we were treated to dessert and were shown to our cabin by our very own welcome person. The cabins are not elaborate but they are perfect for the environment. We had privacy, yet we were not far from the main lodge or other guests. The surrounding area is absolutely beautiful and was easily viewed from our cabin. We were fortunate enough to see Mt. McKinley from our from porch. WOW!
The food served at the camp is phenomenal. The chefs are all trained and do a fantastic job. Jenna and all her staff do a outstanding job. Another thing that is great is that you are seated with different people at almost every meal, so that you get a chance to meet and talk to everyone. I don't know if we just got lucky, but eveyone was friendly and it was a pleasure meeting them all.
The hikes were awesome. We went out on pathless hikes into some of the most beautiful areas you every want to see. Thanks to our guides Fiona and Esther, we had the greatest time.
It is a once in lifetime experience, and we are very glad we got to experience it.
Thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danville ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

Camp Denali is a destination of its own. From the moment you are picked up in their comfortable bus to the second you are left to leave the park by train, car or motor coach, everything is taken care of. The staff is incredible. They are friendly, smart, and full of enthusiasm. Although there is little doubt they have answered the same question hundreds of times they are patient and extremely kind. Where have you ever been encouraged NOT to make a trail but to walk side by side? The views from any cabin are incredible and the food is so fresh and delicious you are glad you walked that long hill to the dining lodge. Meeting people from all over the world is an added highlight to this adventure. If you prefer crowds do not stay here. It is often so quiet the only sound you hear is the beautiful sound of a magpie singing outside your cabin door or the gentle water of moose creek. Everything is spotless! Each little "house out back" is completely private and even has its own view! We didn't like the mosquitos but the staff had that covered too and would lend us nets that prevented those pesky insects from devouring us!

Lunch at Camp Denali is on your own and reminded us of summer camp packing a picnic. Think homemade brownies and chocolate chip cookies but with an eco edge, paper bags and resuable lunch bags and water bottles. The camp does not have a liquor license but refrigerated our white wine so we could enjoy it with dinner. We saw others enjoy their mixed drinks in the lower lodge which served as a gathering place before and after meals. In the morning before a gourmet breakfast of quiche or souffle, there was opportunity for coffee and conversation about the day ahead.

If you can do only one activity in Alaska this should be it. Save the cruising for when you can no longer hike.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit MI
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

This August was our second stay at Camp Denali, and it confirmed our first experience: outstanding staff, outstanding place. The mission of Camp Denali, to provide opportunity to experience wildlife and appreciation for the natural world, is accomplished in a fun and friendly atmosphere. Unhesitating recommendation.

  • Liked — the staff, the food, the purpose of the place
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2008

Camp Denali was such a great experience- I don't know where to start!
I was traveling alone with my 11 year old son. It was a heck of a trip to get there- that's for sure. A seven hour train ride to Denali from Anchorage and then another 7 hour bus ride into the park. But it was worth it.
Camp Denali is expensive- but it's also the only place to really experience this incredible piece of Alaska. The cabins are rustic- but in a nice way. There is no electricity or running water. But they make it really easy because there is running water just outside the door and there are propane lights and a wood stove for heat.
You use your own outhouse for the bathroom- or there are nice bathrooms located up the hill a bit in the shower house. The outhouse is not bad- it's really dug deep and doesn't smell much.
We were fortunate to see Mt. McKinley on our first night and to say the view from the cabins is spectacular would be a huge understatement. We stayed up until 1 in the morning just because we couldn't take our eyes off of it . And it's a good thing we did- because it disappeared behind clouds and we never saw it again.
It was quite cold for summer during out stay- upper 40's to low 50s and really rainy. There were a few times I felt the cabin was chilly- to say the least. But when I got the stove going for a while- it warmed up and the lights made it warm, too. And I loved the rustic feel that the lack of electricity gave us- we thought it was so cozy.
The beds are incredible. I mean- I don't think I've ever slept that well! My little trick was to set up the fire in the stove before bed and then jump out and light it super fast in the morning and jump back under the covers until it warmed up.
I read a review that expressed concern over their treatment of children. That seems really odd to me- there about 15 children of all ages in the group and they were all treated really well. Of course, they were all really well behaved- but I never heard a harsh word from the staff. In fact, there was one group that had an infant with them and the staff went out of the way to put that whole family together on it's own hike so that the baby and Mom could go along.
My son and I skipped the guided hike the first day and canoed on Wonder Lake. This involved walking a few miles with paddles and life vests. They offered us rides from the lodge- located about a mile down the hill- but we didn't take them up on it- preferring to walk. It was fabulous. Despite the rain and the cold- we bundled up and really enjoyed ourselves out in the canoe.
The second day we hiked with a guide. They offer three levels of hikes ranging from easy, to moderate, to strenuous. The guides are great - especially Ann- she is awesome and so nice to the kids.
We had a blast the whole time and did NOT want to leave. It's a great experience I would definitely recommend for anyone. Just make sure to bring some warm clothes, hiking boots, and rain gear!

  • Liked — location, views of Mt. McKinley
  • Disliked — the bus trip to get there
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Elizabeth1187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denali National Park and Preserve
65.1 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.8 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
8.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
12.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Denali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Denali

Property: Camp Denali
Address: Mile 89 Denali Park Road, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Denali, with sweeping views of Mt. McKinley, is located deep inside Denali National Park. Offering active learning vacations since 1952. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camp Denali Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Camp Denali Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing