We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place for some good beer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse

Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoying hand tossed, wood stone fired pizza surrounded by our extensive collection of historical photographs, maps and furs makes for an unforgettable experience in Denali. At Prospectors Pizzeria & Ale House our selection includes traditional favorites such as our McKinley Margarita or step outside of the pizza box and try some of our Alaskan specialties like the Lower 48 It Ain't, Kodiak Bear, or the Deadliest Catch with Alaskan King Crab. For the beer enthusiast, we offer over 49 beers on tap showcasing craft brews from Alaska and hand selected renowned beers from around the world.
Level Contributor
160 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fun place for some good beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

I'd recommend this place for the beer more than the food or pizza. The atmosphere is fun and very "Alaskan" and the waiters are usually pretty good. Definitely check it out with the family for some good food, not great, and some yummy beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    379
    82
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun and yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great food and fun atmosphere. Went there twice and had pizza and salad both times - the pizza was really good, nice crust, and the salads were fresh and flavorful, especially liked the Organic Growers salad, with local mixed greens which were fresh and delicious. Also an extensive local draught beer menu. Dining room was a little crowded with tables but a fun atmosphere and ambiance, definitely recommend! A bonus is that they are locally owned, in a town that is run practically entirely by the Princess cruise line.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I must find a way to get back !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Literally the best pizza I have ever had. I have had pizza in dozens of states and a few foreign countries BUT none bested Prospector's. If I was 21 again, I would work a few summers here just be in the place. What an enormous selection of pies and beer. GREAT decor of old time Alaskan photos. We walked around the place to view them. Took a lot of photos and the obligatory t shirt as we have it on our bucket list to return to both Denali and then to Prospectors. I still remember that pie 3 months later. Well done gentlemen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TNVOLUNTEER17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heppenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
329 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“The walk is worth”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

Well - it did not like a pizza like in Italy but compared to the pizza you get at the Princess Lodge it's worth to walk over the street. The pizzas were made freshly. Some variations too strange for a true pizza lover but fits wonderful to Alaska. It was a nice atmosphere and they had nice and attentive staff members who were interested to serve you. My burger was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinBloed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“YES - New York Pizza in Alaska?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Land tour part of our cruise included Denali Nat'l. Park. On the bus ride from Seward to Denali the bus driver suggested we try the pizza at Prospectors. Yeah, sure, why would you try pizza in Alaska? How good could it be? Well, we are originally from PA and NJ and we know good New York pizza but we thought we'd try it. This place has it nailed. They offer any combination you can think of. Sauce was a touch sweet but still good. You also won't be disappointed with the minestrone soup. Typical Alaska décor. Fun servers but they are busy so expect a wait. We were glad we got there at about 11:45 for lunch. It filled up in a hurry. So when the ice melts next Spring and you can get to Denali, give it a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank luckeyedie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing