We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches”

Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoying hand tossed, wood stone fired pizza surrounded by our extensive collection of historical photographs, maps and furs makes for an unforgettable experience in Denali. At Prospectors Pizzeria & Ale House our selection includes traditional favorites such as our McKinley Margarita or step outside of the pizza box and try some of our Alaskan specialties like the Lower 48 It Ain't, Kodiak Bear, or the Deadliest Catch with Alaskan King Crab. For the beer enthusiast, we offer over 49 beers on tap showcasing craft brews from Alaska and hand selected renowned beers from around the world.
Taylorsville, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Try the Big John it is great !!! Love the Root Beer!!!! Love the crew!!! If you are coming in Denali area stop here!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krusejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Prospectors. We hope to see you again soon! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    419
    95
    21
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fun place for some good beer”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I'd recommend this place for the beer more than the food or pizza. The atmosphere is fun and very "Alaskan" and the waiters are usually pretty good. Definitely check it out with the family for some good food, not great, and some yummy beer.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jafarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun and yummy”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Great food and fun atmosphere. Went there twice and had pizza and salad both times - the pizza was really good, nice crust, and the salads were fresh and flavorful, especially liked the Organic Growers salad, with local mixed greens which were fresh and delicious. Also an extensive local draught beer menu. Dining room was a little crowded with tables but a fun atmosphere and ambiance, definitely recommend! A bonus is that they are locally owned, in a town that is run practically entirely by the Princess cruise line.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I must find a way to get back !”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Literally the best pizza I have ever had. I have had pizza in dozens of states and a few foreign countries BUT none bested Prospector's. If I was 21 again, I would work a few summers here just be in the place. What an enormous selection of pies and beer. GREAT decor of old time Alaskan photos. We walked around the place to view them. Took a lot of photos and the obligatory t shirt as we have it on our bucket list to return to both Denali and then to Prospectors. I still remember that pie 3 months later. Well done gentlemen.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TNVOLUNTEER17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenfels, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
364 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“The walk is worth”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Well - it did not like a pizza like in Italy but compared to the pizza you get at the Princess Lodge it's worth to walk over the street. The pizzas were made freshly. Some variations too strange for a true pizza lover but fits wonderful to Alaska. It was a nice atmosphere and they had nice and attentive staff members who were interested to serve you. My burger was fine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinBloed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
McKinley Village, Denali National Park and Preserve
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Prospectors Pizzeria & Alehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing