We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience and pub food to go with it”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Base Camp Bistro

Base Camp Bistro
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
california
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great ambience and pub food to go with it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Busy, energetic pub with beautiful interior, great views, and surprisingly good food for the number of people served. A highlight of our trip, with super friendly and accommodating staff. Loved the burger and fish and chips.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CathyOfCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    23
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
342 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Base Camp Bar & Grill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

We had Prime Rib au Jus and a Crab BLT Salad and 2 pints of beer for $43.98. Both servings were enormous and very good! The place was packed but has a nice atmosphere. It is right beside King Salmon, another great restaurant. This is part of the Princess chain so there are certain standards to maintain. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Love2travelGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayward, WI
Level Contributor
177 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Almost skipped it, glad we didn't!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

On a Princess cruise tour, trying not to splurge too much on food on land, so we almost skipped Base Camp ... But Tripadvisor review of the seafood nachos changed our plan. Upscale restaurants usually have smaller portions,so we decided to share the $19.95 nachos and supplement with a bowl of salmon chowder for spouse. I was hungry for salad. There were no side salads on the menu, but asked waitress, who said either Caesar or garden starter salads were available. The nachos arrived, a steaming mountain of food, plenty for four to share! Ample shrimp, occasional tidbits of crab, yum. The chowder was also excellent, ditto for the huge Caesar salad. There was an error on one of our cocktails, receiving a Crown sour, rather than the Crown water ordered. Informed the waitress,who offered to replace it with the correct version, but I couldn't bear the thought of pouring Crown down the drain,so I said I would accept it. There should have at least been an OFFER to reduce the price of the drink, but there wasn't. The views of the foothills were great, a relaxed place for a meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VSRubato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Some good items, others fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Your best bet is the nacho plate for $20.The salmon chowder is also good. The fish and chips was a winner, but the prime rib sandwich was dry and a bad choice. The salmon filet was fair. The service was good and attentive. With the limited choices around here, it was a good decision, but some food entrees were not up to par. Given the ambiance and the inconsistent food quality, I can only give it an average rating. Average price per person was about $30-$35 plus alcohol costs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
228 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“first glimpses and feel of Alaska - need sunglasses if on outdoor patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

good food with fairly reasonable prices considering it's on Princess Denali lodge location - great beer. and sandwiches

seafood mac/cheese light sauce but filling without the guilt and fat - the chocolate mousse to to die for

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Base Camp Bistro also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Base Camp Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing