We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strenuous w/ spectacular views”

Mt. Healy Overlook Trail
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 2.5-mile hiking trail up Mt. Healy ascends 1,700 feet offering magnificent views of the Nenana Valley.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Strenuous w/ spectacular views”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

I hiked this trail with my 8 year old daughter. The park ranger tried to talk us out of it because of the steepness of the trail. We went anyway and were very glad we did. We even glimpsed the summit of Mt. McKinley from the top.

Helpful?
2 Thank Kylewag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    32
    8
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We hiked up this mountain with our little dog and enjoyed the views. This mountain is located at Mile 30 of Denali Park Road.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TriciaAnnMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hike near the park entrance”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Do this hike! You will be rewarded with fantastic 360 degree views! And I was lucky enough to see Denali (Mt McKinley) as well! Strenous but doable. Take lots of water. Hiking poles were most helpful for this 57 y.o. woman!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jody D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cerritos
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food for the soul and spirit”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you can handle hikes with medium difficulty, you should try this while visiting Denali.
Hiking pole will help since at some locations you need it with no hand rails and lose soil. Make sure to spent 15 minutes at the summit before your descent. It is spectacular view!
Check with the visitor center for any closures before you start as we saw some closures and have to take alternate route. One of the few places you won't see the crowd! Allow 2-3 Hrs. Have pepper spray or bear repellent handy and a bell.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank elixirpost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The rain finally stopped and we began our ascent up the mountain. It is a strenuous hike, no strollers and no one that can't climb over some rocks. It took us about 1.5 hours to reach the top and it was worth it. Beautiful views all along the way and at the top. Saw a moose and her twin calves about 30 minutes in to the hike. Carried bear mace, but didn't see any. Check in at visitor center to see if there are any trail issues that day. There was a large hole that they note, but easy to maneuver around.

There are lots of comments about where to go in Denali and the lack of trails. This is a good one to get away from the crowds. It's well marked and offered views along the way. We only had a day so chose this and the hike to the sled dogs. We really didn't want to climb on the bus and travel through the park, so it was a great choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vblakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mt. Healy Overlook Trail also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Mt. Healy Overlook Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing