We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excitement depends on the river”

Denali Raft Adventures
Harbor Bluffs, Fl
Level Contributor
113 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Excitement depends on the river”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We had a very good and active experience on this tour with the level of the river being fairly high. However, the purpose of this review is not to rate the river as the tour operator has no control over it. I give the operator a very good rating because I think they are capable of making the best of the river. They are knowledgeable, experienced, and safety oriented. Their efficiency in organizing the customers and suiting them is commendable. You will not lose a minute of time with boredom and the river is beautiful. Worth the fee for sure.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    48
    16
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
buffalo, ny
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 10 days in Alaska and enjoyed a variety of great activities-this was not one of them. Maybe the water was low (Canyon trip) but it was a very ordinary raft trip. We have encountered more waves fishing on a Lake Erie. Guide was knowledgeable and personable. Would not recommend if you are looking for exciting rafting.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My boyfriend and I went up to Denali on a whim to spend the weekend. He had never been rafting so i booked us a trip. Everything was so well organized from the check in, transportation, the actual rafting and finally to the check out. The guides all went out of their way to ensure that we all had an amazing time during every step of the process. Our guide was Double D and he was very genuine and knowledgeable, he took care of everyone in the group including a patron who was very weary of the rapids. This was truly the highlight of our weekend, we talked about it the whole ride home and have already made plans to come back with a bigger group next year. I would highly recommend this excursion to anyone looking for a great experience in Denali.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess9072014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A fun outing but not a wild ride”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My wife and I and our 3 children 18, 17 and 13 had a really nice outing with Denali Raft Adventures. We went on the 2 hour paddle trip and it was just the right amount of time for us. The company said to be at their office one hour before the trip and they mean, be there one hour before the trip. We were just a couple of minutes late and felt a little rushed as the rest of the trip participants were already getting fitted for their dry-suites, helmets and other gear. The staff was very helpful in getting us outfitted and caught up to everyone else and ready to board the bus to the drop off point a few minutes down the street.
They recommend dressing warm and you certainly want to dress in layers. Even though it was a relatively nice day, we did not regret having our long-underwear and several layers on top.
Our guide Sophie, from New Zealand was great. She was super friendly and informative and kept us feeling safe throughout the trip. Now, I realize that conditions change based on the flow of water and while the rapids were fun and perfect for a family outing, this was not white knuckle rafting where you fear falling in the water and are holding on for dear life. So, if you want a fairly tame, with a little excitement, this is the trip for you. If you are expecting big water rafting, you will be disappointed. For my kids first rafting experience it was perfect, but I would have liked some more excitement myself.
When the rafting was over, the buses met us down river. We helped load the rafts on the trailer and were off for the 20 minute back.
All in all, if you want a fun, scenic and enjoyable river raft ride, I would highly recommend using Denali Raft Adventures.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank davidweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow Is Good”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Chose the slower, less adventurous raft excursion. Everyone in our group of four was pleased. A dry suit is provided and it was needed. The day was cloudy with periods of light rain. We were not uncomfortably cold but were certain we would have been if we had gotten more wet. Freshly melted glacier ice is VERY cold.

Sites were beautiful and our guide was engaging.

Highly recommend a raft trip when in Denali.

Helpful?
Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Denali Raft Adventures also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Denali Raft Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing