We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, mediocre food”

Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: After a day of enjoying the great outdoors, there is nothing more satisfying than treating yourself to one of Alpenglow's fresh, wild-caught Alaskan seafood selections, featuring creatively prepared salmon, halibut or king-crab legs. If your taste leans in a different direction, our tender, all-natural steaks, pasta, chicken, soups, salads and sandwiches are certain to satisfy. The Alpenglow Restaurant is open early in the morning to help get your day started with our plentiful breakfast table and offers a wide variety of satisfying lunch menu options during the middle of the day. Whenever you decide to dine, our offerings are prepared to please the most discriminating palate and every table at the Alpenglow Restaurant offers a majestic view of the Denali National Park area.
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The view is indeed - stunning. The food is so-so, which can easily be explained by the lack of any real competition in the upscale segment in that region.

Thank DO3OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear DO3OP, I am sorry that you found our food mediocre - we try very hard to offer unique and very flavorful cuisine. We had our first wine dinner on Friday, September 13th and our attendees were wowed by our food. Hopefully you will come back again and let us redeem ourselves! Dee Dee Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 151 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

We happened to be in Denali on our anniversary so decided to have a nice meal. Alpenglow did not disappoint. Best meal we had in Alaska and great view as well. Sablefish was perfect. When the found out about our anniversary, the chef made a three part dessert for our party which was great. Also check out the bar for their after dinner drink specialties. We took the shuttle back just for them the next night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Dear Russ W, thanks for sharing your anniversary with us. I am so pleased that our team exceeded your expectations by making your anniversary dessert very special. Thanks for your review and we hope you will spend your anniversary with us again sometime soon! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I made it a point to find out what restaurant sat high above the main road in Denali Park. It was obvious that the view would be spectacular and it was! Not renting a car, it was wonderful to have a shuttle pick us up across the street from our hotel and deliver us back there after dinner.

All of that was a prelude to a wonderful dinner. We were offered a very wide selection of appetizers and entrees. The food was fantastic in taste and appearance. Our server was attentive and friendly. If I were to go to Denali again, eating at the Alpenglow would be an absolute must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear kleighKansascity, thanks so much for dining with us. Our Chef Jacob and his team are very creative and our food is wonderful. We are so pleased that you asked about the restaurant up on the hill and enjoyed your dining experience. Even without a car, our shuttle makes it very easy to join us for dinner. Please come back again! Dee Dee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I stayed in Grande Denali the night before a 2-day trip to Denali (Kantishna). The best experience was the restaurant, the AlpenGlow. It was surprising to discover in the middle of Alaska a restaurant with a very refined cuisine. They are able to invent very good recipes with local food, presenting them in a nice way too.
Coming back from the 2-day trip, I did not hesitate a moment to choose again Alpenglow for another lunch before going back to Anchorage.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dado1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Dado1070, thanks so much for staying with us and for dining with us TWICE. It says a lot about the quality of service and food when you come back in a few short days! I will make sure that I pass your compliments on to Chef Jacob and his staff. Dee Dee Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This place has wonderful views, but you have to take a shuttle up there if you don't have a car. Ok, but when the shuttle broke down, the staff left diners to sit outside waiting to be picked up and didn't even bother to come out to tell us. Someone had to go in and ask why it hadn't come. Also, one of our party made the trip up there to make a reservation because the phone wasn't answered. Then they lost our reservation despite a $10 tip. So, we got a table fixed up for our party, but the food was mixed in quality. Entrees were ok for some, not for others. Brownie dessert was burnt. I'm not saying this couldn't be a good experience, but it was a mess up for us. No one seemed particularly sorry about any of it - young and untrained staff, I think.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnneDeA41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Dear AnneDEA41, thank you for your review. We are quite concerned about the service you received in our dining room. We do have a dining room manager on at all times and I am concerned that you were not able to connect with them and explain your situation. We take pride in our food quality and service and we do apologize for your dining experience. We are looking into the situation. Dee Dee Kay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing