We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining with a Fine View”

Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, View, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
343 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Fine Dining with a Fine View”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Perched high above Denali village and reached by a steep road with a few hairpin bends is the swish Grande Denali Lodge, with a large restaurant, bar and lounge open to non-residents, enjoying a magnificent view towards the National Park. It is a fine dining restaurant and the service, menu and wines match this aspiration. It is also quite pricey, as you might expect. We had cod cheeks and salmon cakes for starters and then delicious sablefish for mains and a berry crisp as dessert. enjoy the quirky "road signs" on the way up to the restaurant - but drive carefully!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jules8Perkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    62
    34
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal w/a Great View”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at the Grande Denali Lodge, so eating at the Alpenglow was just the easiest thing to do....but we were glad we did. We ended up having dinner there twice. My husband & I both loved our meals. We originally thought the food was overpriced, but after eating at other Alaskan restaurants, we decided that you get what you pay for. It's expensive, but so much better than some of the other meals we had. Our dinner for two averaged around $80.
We also ate breakfast there 3 times. Again, expensive, esp for breakfast, but it was a breakfast bar with eggs, reindeer sausage, & other hot foods. It was delicious & better than other places we ate, though you might be able to find a better breakfast deal. Overall, I'd say it's worth the money compared to the competition (everything's expensive in Alaska) & the view is lovely.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AR
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“only giving 3 stars due to the view”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The view is the only reason for dining here, and the majority of tables are not near the windows. Food was below average and overpriced. Service was incredibly slow. In defense of the wait staff, only one guy was working the lunch shift for the entire restaurant, and he was the waiter as well as the bartender. Don't waste your time and money. I would recommend Subway over this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gumwrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent scallops in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We recently had dinner in the Alpenglow Restaurant at the Grande Denali Lodge. I had a very elegant scallop dish of Pacific scallops, served on a sauce of pureed potatoes and balsamic vinegar, I think. The dining room is in a beautiful setting up on the mountain side overlooking the Denali National Park and Preserve entrance. This was one of the best meals of a two week trip to Alaska.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lwkempka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Iwkempka, thanks so very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at the Alpenglow Restaurant. Our scallops are amazing. Thanks for taking the time to share your review! Dee Dee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seatt
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great view, mediocre food”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The view is indeed - stunning. The food is so-so, which can easily be explained by the lack of any real competition in the upscale segment in that region.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank DO3OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ddkalaska, Director of Sales at Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear DO3OP, I am sorry that you found our food mediocre - we try very hard to offer unique and very flavorful cuisine. We had our first wine dinner on Friday, September 13th and our attendees were wowed by our food. Hopefully you will come back again and let us redeem ourselves! Dee Dee Kay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge also viewed

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to Alpenglow Restaurant- Grande Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing