We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Denali Park Village
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were here as part of a celebrity Cruise Tour. They were great at getting our luggage into rooms asap. We stayed in the 700 building which I think was the newest so very nice. The view of the river was great! They have laundry facilities in this building so that was a big plus. The downtown restaurants offer a shuttle for $1 per person, which I suggest taking for food. We ate at the Roadhouse on property and it was very expensive, the service was bad and so was the food. The atmosphere was great! They have some very cute onsite shops. We took the shuttle to eat at Prospectors Pizza which should not be missed food is amazing. Not just Pizza there. It was air-conditioned in our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view in the 700 building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwithsam2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

The Roadhouse restaurant is a new outlet and we have been working to improve the service and menus. I am disappointed to hear about your experience. I think if you came today it would be much improved.

Thanks again for the review and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

506 - 512 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Here as part of Trafalgar tour and stayed two nights. We were the first group of the season and got rooms that were in one of two newly-renovated buildings. Being so early in the season, we got to help "train" the newly-hired staff. Enjoyed the stay and the views of the river and mountains. Room was nice, clean and in good working order. Restaurant food was tasty, but a bit pricey (although not out of line with other meals in Alaska). On our last morning, we got to see one of the moose on the property. Not a Hilton, but we didn't come to Alaska for the hotel rooms!

Only real drawback was distance to the park entrance -- about 5 miles. If you're on your own, it might be better to stay "in town". On the other hand, they DO run shuttle busses.

Room Tip: Can't comment on some of the items above. We were in building 700 on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgl1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We did renovate all of our rooms over the winter and made many additions to the property. We are glad that you enjoyed the food and got to see the moose and calf on property.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This place was amazing. Each of the rooms in the new section have a deck and ours was right on the water. Salmon in the restaurant was delicious. The new facilitiy is gorgeous, has a nice large lodge area to meet your group in. We were part of Royal Caribbean cruise tour and this place really was nice to stay at. Food is a little pricey but dinner and breakfast buffet was very good.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank lonigrunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thank you very much for the review. We are glad that you had a terrific time at the Village and hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of a Celebrity Cruise tour. Enjoyed the stay as was a nice, clean room with a great view of the river and mountains. Restaurant food was good, but a bit pricey, understandable as the tourist season is only 5 months long.

Room Tip: Request a room on the backside of the hotel by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Larry D,

Thank you for writing a review for your lodge and I am glad that you enjoyed your experience. Your tip to upgrade to the riverside room is a good one, especially if you are staying multiple nights at the Village. We have about 40% of our rooms on the river. Even if you aren't in a river, we have 10 outdoor seating decks on the river where you can enjoy the nature.

Thank you again,

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I will start by saying I spent a solid 5-10 minutes just now clicking between 2 and 3 circles, so my official review would be 2.5 if that is possible....there are DEFINITELY worse places you could stay. That being said, we were with a cruise tour, so if you are making your own plans, just pick another place.

The bell services staff was good and got our bags to our room in an extremely efficient manner (mind you, 4-6 tour buses are rolling in). Service overall was pleasant, the people are nice.

The rooms fall way short. Our room's heating element was broken in multiple places, and our only A/C was a small fan they placed in the room. Let me "vent" here (pun intended). I get that it's "Alaska" and "our people don't need or use air conditioning". First and foremost, you are a hotel. I don't care if your temperature never gets above freezing, guest comfort should be your priority. Next, the shower. If trip advisor gave out awards for dumbest design ever, this would win. It was a tub-sized shower (but not a shower in a tub), they decided to use a curved rod that was installed about 2 or 3 inches off the shower base, and then they threw on a curtain that left a gaping 6 or so inch gap from the end of the curtain to the base of the shower. Needless to say, you couldn't turn the water on without effectively flooding the bathroom.

Food is what you expect from a college dining hall. Literally-the company that manages this property is Aramark, the same company that manages most collegiate dining halls around the US. Have you put worse food in your mouth? Probably, but this sure does come close. Food was also criminally prices at the property. I can't stand anything more than a hotel that abuses their monopolistic identity.

Moral of this place: just go somewhere else. You'll be much better off.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CMHTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear CMHT Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We will look at the items in the rooms you mentioned and look to make some improvements.

I am glad that you enjoyed the service and the hotel staff.

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The rooms were small, the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom area was tiny. Maybe there are better rooms than the one we stayed in. We expected a king bed but got two doubles. Too much of a hassle to switch.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed in the cabins for two nights. Luckily we had a cabin with a view of the water, but glad we didn't have one without a view. The room was newly renovated, and it was clear that it was because we had to call the front desk for them to actually install the shower head. Seems a little odd that there were boxes of things yet to be installed sitting outside of the cabins. Wouldn't you want your lodge to be ready to go when tourist season starts? We did however enjoy the newness of the cabin with new bedding and furniture as well as coffee and tea availability. The room was a little small...not much room for your luggage, and could have used a lamp by the chair and an alarm clock of some sort. Inside the lodge looked nice, the food was decent, but overpriced as is everything else in the park. The overall layout of the village seemed a little disorganized. We did enjoy the hike that you can do if you walk across the highway to the trailhead, and just sitting by the water at night.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff B, Operations Manager at Denali Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed the newly remodeled rooms and the hikes in the area. The best part of staying at the Village lodge is the nature and sun decks on the river.

I want to apologize for the shower head not being on. We bought the cabins over the winter and had 2 months to do our renovations and we worked around the clock to get it done. Everything in the cabins was completely redone, including the beds, vanity, furniture and even the toilets.

Hopefully you will choose to stay with us on your next visit to Denali.

Jeff - Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
0.2 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
65.7 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#1 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
368 reviews
12.7 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
6.8 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Village

Address: Milepost 231, George Parks Hwy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755 (Formerly McKinley Village Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range: £263 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Park Village 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denali Park Village offers a first-class lodge set at the entrance of the Park and serves as your gateway to experiencing the best of Denali National Park & Preserve. Both the lodge rooms and the cozy cabins offer all the comforts and amenities to make your stay memorable and relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Denali Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mckinley Village Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
Mckinley Village Lodge
Denali Park Village Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing