We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deluxe Wilderness Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of North Face Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Denali National Park and Preserve
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Face Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Torrance
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Deluxe Wilderness Lodge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This lodge provides for comfortable access to wilderness hiking and other outdoor activities near the boundary between old and new park areas. The staff at the lodge are friendly, courteous, intelligent and knowledgeable. By locating in a remote area, there are necessary restrictions on alcohol, communications, and trash handling. The rooms are clean, well maintained, functional, and small. The lodge provides all inclusive food, baggage handling, transportation and guided hiking services for its guests.

Outdoor benefits include access to staff naturalists, and use of hiking equipment, rain coats, rain pants, mosquito nets, canoes, fishing gear, and mountain bikes.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
68
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a wonderful 3 day stay here. The bus trip in was very educational as the driver had a microphone and could explain what we were seeing. Stops were made whenever wildlife was spotted. We had a nice picnic lunch on route to the lodge. We were met with dessert and beverages at the lodge and met John, our host. John was the perfect host, always friendly and helpful. He made you feel like you were family. The food was excellent as were the daily hikes. The rooms are on the small side, but the views are fantastic (especially the sunny day with Mt. Mckinley soaring nearby) and the living room is very inviting. There was always fruit available (but alas no cookies except at lunch). They have a great baker.

Room Tip: The room on the far end has the best view and the best outdoor seating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean6564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Staying at North Face Lodge was a unique experience. Located deep in the park past Wonder Lake, there are more animals than people. Looks out at the north face of Mt. McKinley, the limited number of comfortable rooms (15) are spartan. What makes the experience unique is the outstanding service of the staff and guides. They are committed to the pristine wilderness of Denali and to assuring that you have a rich and rewarding stay. The guides are very knowledgeable and adjust their talks and their walking pace to your needs. The stay is also unique because the staff builds a sense of camaraderie among the guests; we eat together family style and share our adventures. Anyone who loves the wilderness but doesn't want to backpack/camp will love their stay at North Face Lodge because it puts you in the wild without the danger, hard work, and difficulty. It is the gold standard for a stay in Denali.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

I traveled to North face Lodge with very high expectations. They were exceeded. The things that make North Face Lodge special are the location, the staff, the food and the activities that are offered. After an exciting and eventful ride into the park, I was struck by the beauty and remoteness of the lodge. The meals were excellent. This is not your typical hotel food. It is far superior. Once the activities started we were kept as busy as we wanted to be. The group visiting the lodge during our stay was a very active group and everyone kept pretty busy doing either the planned activities or the independent ones. The staff was excellent. Always upbeat and helpful. Very knowledgeable about animals and flora.
I only gave the rooms an average because they were small with few amenities. I spent little time in the room and most of that was sleeping. I slept very well on the comfortable beds.
If you have the opportunity, do not miss North Face Lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelinherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

On our second trip to Denali we decided we needed to stay in the park for a few days. North Face was the perfect place to stay! We had an awesome bus ride in with sightings of caribou, moose, bear, and dahl sheep. When we got to the lodge there were clouds covering the mountain but around midnight it cleared up and we had a beautiful view. It was heard to sleep! The next morning, it was still clear! We were very lucky! The staff here is awesome and the guided hikes are a perfect way to see and explore Denali! Will be back someday to check out the park with the fall colors!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dcverbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

After my "once in a lifetime" stay here in 1998, I got the chance to return to North Face Lodge again this year. Yes, it is expensive, but considering the price includes all your meals, including all you can eat trail lunches, experienced and knowledgable guides armed with binoculars and spotting scope to see wildlife, hikes at 3 different levels of intensity every day, access to bicycles with helmets and to boats for Wonder Lake, en suite bathrooms, mosquito gear, hiking poles, transportation deep into the park, a great chance of seeing "THE mountain", and a staff who go out of their way to make your trip the experience of a lifetime, it is well worth the price. Given the chance, I would go to North Face Lodge again tomorrow. Can I give a "better than excellent" score for service?

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCHARAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

North Face was the best experience out of our entire 3 week stay

Excellent staff, beautuful accommodations and gorgeous view

North Face is a must do for anyone wsnting to really get to know and love Denali.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank havemapswilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denali National Park and Preserve hotels
0.0 mi away
Denali Backcountry Lodge
Denali Backcountry Lodge
#2 of 7 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
0.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 7 in McKinley Village
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kantishna Roadhouse
Kantishna Roadhouse
#7 of 26 in Denali National Park and Preserve
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Face Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Face Lodge

Property: North Face Lodge
Address: Post Office Box 67, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99755-0067
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Denali National Park and Preserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near the end of the unpaved, mountainous 90-mile road into Denali National Park, North Face Lodge is one of only two in-park lodgings in view of Mt. McKinley. It specializes in learning adventures for active travelers, featuring naturalist-led hikes and field trips for visitors who wish to explore Denali in-depth. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
North Face Hotel Denali National Park And Preserve
North Face Lodge Alaska/Denali National Park And Preserve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing